{Tour Stop} 6 Seconds of Life by Tony Fitzharris – Review + Excerpt + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 1, 2012
Length: 303 pages
Source: (author) review copy

Maura has just jumped.

Now she has precisely six seconds until she hits the water below her–just six more seconds until she is finally freed from her mundane and aimless existence. Freed of all of the regrets and disappointments that have haunted her throughout her nineteen years.

She just needs to be free.

But as she falls, the most pivotal points of her life start to replay like a movie in her head: her family falling apart, her first love, her first heartbreak, and her first betrayal. As she remembers these moments that brought her to this point, will she feel a sense of peace? Or will her death be her greatest regret?

“6 Seconds of Life” is a new adult novel that not only explores the ups and downs of college life, but the ups and downs of life as we know it.”

review

Wow this book is something! You guys have to read it. Just by looking at the cover, I know I had to read this book because I knew I would relate to the story somehow. And I wasn’t wrong. When Maura commits suicide by jumping off a bridge, during the 6 seconds she’s on air, she remembers all of the tragedies, hatred, and pain she felt which we get to read. This book is wonderfully written, and I swear you will relate to it. I guarantee you that you will feel what Maura’s feeling because the whole story is just so realistic. It was written in 1st person and the author did a fabulous job. I was sinked into the story right away and I even cried guys. I’m not a crying person with books, but I did in this novel.

I really like how per chapter, it stated how many seconds were left before Maura hit the water. Within those seconds, Maura has flashbacks of her miserable life and the real reason why she chose to commit suicide. Maura is a 19 year old (I think, or 18?) freshmen in college, but we also got to see her senior year and how she chose her college – which is the setting of the novel.

Maura has so much problems with her family, boyfriend, her emotions, but most of all fitting in. Her character isn’t the “popular” teenager with a bunch of friends blah blah blah. She’s the one who really really tries to fit in, and no matter how hard she tries, she only gets herself in one of the worst situations.

As the book progresses, we see how her life becomes worse and worse (especially when she joins the sorority) until she tells herself she has no choice but to escape her horrible life by killing herself. At first, the problem wasn’t really her fault, so I understood her situation there, but when it got halfway through the book, I was just like “okay, you’re the one putting yourself in those situations.” But again, she has all those pain kept inside her chest which just kept building up. Because she doesn’t have anyone to talk to about her situation, I understand why she’s acting so careless and “I don’t give a damn” kind of person.

The only thing I didn’t really like was that the book ended all of a sudden. I was like “WHAT!? WHY DOES IT ALREADY SAYS ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS?” There were a few typos as well, and just to warn you there are cuss words here and there. No kidding though, this book felt so real. I could even see some of my personality in Maura’s character. Struggling with fitting in is definitely one of the challenges I have faced, and still is facing once in a while, but like Maura, I remind myself to not give a __ and live life I want it to be. But sometimes, we can’t help but just break down when we feel so overwhelmed with what life is throwing at us.

I super duper ultra mega recommend this book especially if you’re in high school or in college. 6 Seconds of Life gives you something to think about, it isn’t just a story to tell you a story. It’s such a good book that I even jot down some quotes from the book. I also thought about being a psychologist which is a course I don’t even have interest in not until I read this book. It was mentioned in the book and a few details about it and it sounded really interesting to me. This book affected me in lots of ways and I hope you guys  will experience the same thing when you read 6 Seconds of Life.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
I think deep down, I’ve always known it was going to end this way. I was never meant to live a long life. I accepted this fate a long time ago. I was just waiting for the right moment.

I wanted to fall in love first.

I wanted to experience what it was like to have a real family first.

I wanted to know what it was like to be sincerely happy, even if it was short-lived.

I got all of those firsts.

And now I’m ready to move forward.

I inch my feet closer to the open sky. And closer. Until my naked toes are peeking over the edge. The water cracks violently below me, begging for me to join in on all of the fun.

Just a few more seconds before it’s all over.

Until I’m free.

I’m totally relaxed. This moment, it’s all mine. No one can take it away from me.

I close my eyes. The sounds of high heels clicking on the walkway and cameras snapping and preserving memories and street musicians begging for spare change surround me. I breathe in their music and let it be the soundtrack to the closing credits of my life.

I raise my arms up to my side, reaching for the skies that surround me.

And I step into the air.
I’m flying now.

giveaway
CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY (RAFFLECOPTER)

2 Responses to “{Tour Stop} 6 Seconds of Life by Tony Fitzharris – Review + Excerpt + Giveaway”


  1. 1 Jan Bethel Sevillo Alson November 15, 2012 at 2:34 AM

    Interesting! I’ll be checking this book out. Thanks!

  2. 2 Aesamedayloans.Co.Uk January 14, 2013 at 11:04 AM

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate
    it.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
NO GIVEAWAYS ATM.

Join 1,008 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

  • 18,168 hits
free counters
NONE AT THE MOMENT.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,008 other followers

