Review: Fake ID by Lamar Giles

12787708 Genre: YA Mystery
Published: January 21, 2014 by HarperCollins
Length: 320 pages
Source: HarperCollins (ARC)

Nick Pearson is hiding in plain sight…

My name isn’t really Nick Pearson.

I shouldn’t tell you where I’m from or why my family moved to Stepton, Virginia.

I shouldn’t tell you who I really am, or my hair, eye, and skin color.

And I definitely shouldn’t tell you about my friend Eli Cruz and the major conspiracy he was about to uncover when he died—right after I moved to town. About how I had to choose between solving his murder with his hot sister, Reya, and “staying low-key” like the Program has taught me. About how moving to Stepon changed my life forever.

But I’m going to.

review

Fake ID was a very interesting and shocking read. The first 60 pages was a bit confusing, but after that, the action and mystery begins. The pacing picked up and I was left flipping the pages and telling myself ‘one more chapter’ even tough I had to sleep. It’s told from 1st person point of view of our male protagonist who is Nick. Nick isn’t really his name. Why? You’ll have to find out when you read the book! I really like that this book doesn’t only focus on mystery, but it also explores the concept of a father & son relationship, a little bit of romance, and friendship. There were also some plot twists here and there which I didn’t see coming.

Giles had a wonderful writing style although I’m still unclear about certain things. I quite understand the story, but it’s still a bit foggy. It’s like I could see the road, but not really because of some fog blocking the view.

Overall it was a great read, but I did have a few minor problems. I still recommend it if you like reading mystery books.

3.5 of 5

17 Responses to “Review: Fake ID by Lamar Giles”


  1. 1 Holly @ Novel Bliss January 6, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    I haven’t heard of this one, but it definitely sounds interesting. I love mystery stories, especially ones that make me page flip! I’m going to have to check this out when it gets released! Great review, Leigh :)

  2. 3 Pamela D January 6, 2014 at 9:23 AM

    This sounds interesting, but a mystery book that leaves you a bit confused doesn’t sound like my cup of tea. Lovely review.

  3. 5 Megan R January 6, 2014 at 9:26 AM

    This one sounds really interesting, although it’s too bad things weren’t a little clearer.

  4. 7 kezia1098 January 6, 2014 at 4:51 PM

    Mystery is one of my favorite genres and I LOVE unpredictable mystery. Plus, I also like how it touches other subjects like familial relationship. But I’m still hesitant about it cause I don’t want to read a confusing book again ._.

  5. 8 Nova Lee @ Out of Time January 6, 2014 at 5:43 PM

    To be honest, I don’t really like that cover and in a bookstore, it wouldn’t attract me but whatever. LOL. You did a great job with the review. Maybe give a bit more info, but it was good overall <33

    I don't know if I'll be picking it up, but I will definitely Goodreads it for later ;D

    • 9 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 6, 2014 at 7:31 PM

      Lmao I thought the same thing. That cover isn’t the most attractive. Also, I try to be vague on my reviews because I’m scared I would spoil you guys. It’s really hard to give more info on this book b/c almost everything in this book is a plot twist D: And yeah, def. check it out on Goodreads. :)

  6. 10 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) January 6, 2014 at 7:33 PM

    You are a tease ;) This isn’t one I would ordinarily pick up but I am glad that you enjoyed it!

  7. 11 Ariella January 6, 2014 at 10:18 PM

    I’ve heard about Fake ID and I was considering whether I should read it or not. I think I might just because it has a male protagonist! Great review, Leigh :)

  8. 12 IrisjeXx January 7, 2014 at 3:24 AM

    I’m glad you liked it… though I do hate it when things are unclear. I hadn’t heard about it yet, I’ll probably give it a try when I get the chance.
    Great review!

  9. 13 cfiel25 January 7, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    This is the second review that I’ve read for this book and so far, all are positive. Now I am really itching whether to buy it and see for myself. What a pity because the download link on EW is already expired. hahaha.

    And I really love books that probe familial relationships. A lot of YA books always forget to include that in their story. What a shame that things were quite ambiguous.

    Thanks for this unspoilery review, Leigh.

  10. 15 Stephanie (Hopeless Romantics) January 7, 2014 at 7:31 PM

    I’m not that into mysteries but it sounds like a good book and the pacing is good. I’m glad you enjoyed it even if you did have some issues with it. Thanks for the review!

  11. 16 Francoise January 7, 2014 at 10:50 PM

    This sounds like a cool book. I’m not very fond of male protagonists though for some reason…sometimes the author’s don’t get the voice right.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
NO GIVEAWAYS ATM.

Join 1,009 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

  • 17,948 hits
free counters
NONE AT THE MOMENT.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,009 other followers

