Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: April 6, 2010 by Speak
Series: #1 (If I Stay)
Length: 234 Pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands.” – Goodreads

review
This is the first time that I read something like If I Stay. It is a shocking, heart breaking story that takes place in Oregon. Our female protagonist, Mia, was challenged to make a decision, whether she’ll stay or follow the rest of her family in heaven.

If I Stay is not only about making difficult choices, it’s also about Mia and her boyfriend’s passion for music. You’ll have to read it to know how wonderful music made them connect!

Although the plot was mostly taken in one place, it did not bore me and Gayle Forman did an amazing job switching back and forth to Mia’s present and past. It did not confuse me at all. The ending was obvious though, I knew it was coming. I wish Forman made it more suspenseful and exciting, or gave it a little twist. When I found out that there was a second book (Where She Went), I knew for sure that Mia was going to choose to stay.

Overall it is an easy read that will leave you asking questions, crying (maybe, but I didn’t), and wanting for more!

7 Responses to “Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman”


  1. 1 KateB July 31, 2012 at 3:01 AM

    This is a book that’s been on my to-read list for a while now. I’m glad you enjoyed it. IT sounds like one that you need to be in the right mood to properly appreciate.

  2. 3 kim cuasay August 1, 2012 at 12:11 AM

    Welcome to the book blogging community! ^_^
    the story was really sad I haven’t finished it yet
    thanks for sharing your thoughts keep up the good work!

  3. 6 Briana August 1, 2012 at 10:41 PM

    I agree that there was never REALLY a question (for the reader) of whether Mia would stay or not (you develop certain expectations if you read enough books), but I think it was more about the journey than having the final choice be a surprise, and Forman pulled it off well.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

