Review: Pearl Lover by Kea Noli

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Published: July 4, 2012 by Createspace
Length: 220 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

A spoilt debutante. A manipulating mother. And a love triangle with a twist.
In this thrilling romance, Nixie Veidt is forced to choose between money and love. She must stay faithful to the bureaucrat she married to save her inheritance, but her love belongs to a Russian dancer. When she hires him for her company, she risks everything. Will she lose the money, or gain the man she loves? Is it moral to love two men? Be prepared for an unconventional ending. French heiress coming-of-age
Although Nixie Veidt loves a danseur, she marries a bureaucrat to save her inheritance from a domineering mother. If she is unfaithful, her mother, a wealthy socialite, who hires a private detective and spies on her daughter, will become guardian. Meanwhile, Nixie hires the danseur for her ballet company. A debutante’s conflicting love for two men, and the struggling rebirth of Ballets Russes, a ballet company” – Goodreads

review
First of all, this is the first review request that I got, 2 days after I made my blog! I was really happy that an author contacted me as I had NO idea about blog tours, review requests, and all that shananigins book bloggers do. Because of Kea Noli and her book Pearl Lover, I have decided to take book blogging seriously and boy it’s fun! If she hadn’t contacted me, I would’ve probably just stayed on Goodreads and do my reviews there. So glad you found my blog Kea! Basically she inspired me to continue this blog so I just wanna thank her 🙂

Okay, Pearl Lover, let me just tell you my first impression of this book. UNIQUE. The title, the characters’ names, the plot, they are all unique, well the whole book is! I’ve never read anything like it. It’s really a page-turner and did not bore me at all. The first chapter kind of confused me though, but you will understand what’s happening, just keep on reading. If you are into dancing, ballet to be specific, or if you like love triangles, then you should give this book a try!

Now, for the things that I disliked.  I didn’t like the fact that the word ‘spat’ was used over and over. There were also one or two misspelled words in there, it didn’t bother me that much, but I thought I’d let you guys know because some readers are sensitive to that case. Also, I felt like after a page, it would go to a new topic, then after a page, a new topic would begin again. Basically page after page there’s a new thing going on. So for me, the story was great but it was choppy. As it said in the summary, the wicked witch in this book, is no other than Nixie’s (the protagonist) mother, Maria. I didn’t feel like she was that cruel. I felt like she was being overly over-protective. I thought the author could’ve put more examples or scenes of how harsh Maria was.

Overall I would read this book again and would recommend it to anyone! It’s something new and the idea is very original. A ‘very good’ rate for Pearl Lover.

4 Responses to “Review: Pearl Lover by Kea Noli”


  1. 1 L.J August 8, 2012 at 10:19 PM

    Great review! Book sounds promising, I’ll have to check it out.

  2. 2 Rachael Madison @ Moosubi! August 10, 2012 at 2:48 AM

    Hmmm… I’m not sure if I would enjoy this book. I’m definitely considering it though. Would you say this is historical fiction? That’s the feel that I get from the cover.

    Anyways, thanks for the review!

  3. 4 Sarah August 10, 2012 at 6:06 PM

    Hi,

    First off, thanks for visiting my site and congratulations on recieving your first review request; I was so excited when I recieved my first review copy! I agree, I did find it a very unique read and I can’t say I’ve read anything quite like it, but I definitley agree it is a good book.

    -Sarah


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,523 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

