Review: Justice (Deck of Lies #1) by Jade Varden

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery
Published: December 24, 2011
Series: #1 (Deck of Lies)
Length: 152 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

“A House of Cards…

When you build an entire life on a foundation of lies, it only takes one truth for the whole thing to come crashing down. I never invited the truth in. I never went searching for it. I never had any reason to suspect that the two people I loved most were dishonest with me every second of every day.

I made one bad decision, and in a single day my entire world changed. If I’m ever going to discover the truth about myself and my parents, I have to trace all the lies back to their source. I have to try to find the truth that they’re hiding.

The more I discover about myself, and my past, the more I realize that lies really are better than the truth. But now that I know the lies are all around me, I can’t stop until I’ve discovered them all. I’ll pull each lie away, one by one, and examine it to see what’s underneath…until this house of cards crumbles into dust at my feet.

I just hope I can survive the crash.” – Goodreads

review
Justice was really an easy book to read. The first couple of chapters were really predictable though; I knew what would happen next. Since the summary does not reveal much, let me tell you the basic parts. Our protagonist, Rain, is a sixteen year old girl who received a scholarship at a high school called Sloane Academy. Her life was going swell until she found out something after her first day at her new school, something that would remain unanswered unless she finds clues and answers herself (with the help of a guy friend of course).

I really didn’t like Rain. I thought she had a weird personality. My first impression of her was that she’s a ‘wanna-be’. She would just go somewhere with people who she barely knew! She even dated guys who she hardly knew at all, trust me!!! Next, she’s a follower. If she’s a wanna-be then of course she’s going to become a follower so that explains that. And then, she tells us that she’s shy but then as the story goes on something snaps out of her and becomes the opposite of shy. Her whole self just bothered me.  For the other characters, some showed resemblance of people in Disney’s High School Musical. There would be the cool guy, the wicked witch with her girlfriends, the new girl, and the nerds. It was just expected, nothing new.

But as I got towards the middle of the book, that’s where I couldn’t put the book down. There were twists and you would just catch yourself saying WHAT THE HECK :O ! I’m definitely going to read the whole series as the first book can’t be a standalone and I guess it’s the introduction of what the rest of the story is going to be about. I can sense that more events will make me shock and I can’t wait to know what the ending would be.

2 Responses to “Review: Justice (Deck of Lies #1) by Jade Varden”


  1. 1 ocdreader August 16, 2012 at 8:03 AM

    I am excited to read this book! I actually won a copy recently too – yay! Very nice review and interview 🙂


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

