Review: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Genre: Classics
Published: September 30, 2004 by Scribner
Length: 180 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)
1st person p.o.v.

“In 1922, F. Scott Fitzgerald announced his decision to write “something new–something extraordinary and beautiful and simple and intricately patterned.” That extraordinary, beautiful, intricately patterned, and above all, simple novel became The Great Gatsby, arguably Fitzgerald’s finest work and certainly the book for which he is best known. A portrait of the Jazz Age in all of its decadence and excess, Gatsbycaptured the spirit of the author’s generation and earned itself a permanent place in American mythology. Self-made, self-invented millionaire Jay Gatsby embodies some of Fitzgerald’s–and his country’s–most abiding obsessions: money, ambition, greed, and the promise of new beginnings. “Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgiastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter–tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther…. And one fine morning–” Gatsby’s rise to glory and eventual fall from grace becomes a kind of cautionary tale about the American Dream.

It’s also a love story, of sorts, the narrative of Gatsby’s quixotic passion for Daisy Buchanan. The pair meet five years before the novel begins, when Daisy is a legendary young Louisville beauty and Gatsby an impoverished officer. They fall in love, but while Gatsby serves overseas, Daisy marries the brutal, bullying, but extremely rich Tom Buchanan. After the war, Gatsby devotes himself blindly to the pursuit of wealth by whatever means–and to the pursuit of Daisy, which amounts to the same thing. “Her voice is full of money,” Gatsby says admiringly, in one of the novel’s more famous descriptions. His millions made, Gatsby buys a mansion across Long Island Sound from Daisy’s patrician East Egg address, throws lavish parties, and waits for her to appear. When she does, events unfold with all the tragic inevitability of a Greek drama, with detached, cynical neighbor Nick Carraway acting as chorus throughout. Spare, elegantly plotted, and written in crystalline prose, The Great Gatsby is as perfectly satisfying as the best kind of poem.” – Goodreads

review
While reading this book, I just wanted to cry >_< it was sooooo boring 😥 ! As a junior, we were required to read this and The Catcher in the Rye. I’m surprised that it took me longer to finish this book compared to Catcher. At first I was really excited to read it, but after reading the first four chapters, I found it BORING, REALLY, BORING. I’m really disappointed! The whole concept was great but it was just way too slow.

For the writing style, I found it very weird and strange. It kept switching from present and past tense and there weren’t any warnings if it had switched to a different tense. Sometimes I didn’t know why a topic would be relevant in a certain page because first they (for example) would talk about ‘bananas’ next thing you know they were talking about ‘lizards’ -_- *facepalm*.  Most of the time I didn’t know what the characters were talking about, and there was this page with all the names who attended Gatsby’s party, I was just like I GET IT, ANYONE CAN COME UNLESS YOU’RE A NOBODY.

I was also close to not finishing it and just continue on reading it using Sparknotes. But what motivated me to continue is my friends. They spoiled the ending for me and I was curious so I read on :p So yeah, I’m very disappointed in this one.

3 Responses to “Review: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald”


  1. 1 Nobonita@Daydreaming Bookworm August 25, 2012 at 1:40 AM

    Found you on Goodreads.New follower please follow back @ Daydreaming Bookworm
    Thanks! 🙂

  2. 2 Karen September 9, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    Bummer. ): I have to read this book this year for my english class too (I’m a junior too, haha) . Hopefully I won’t dread it as much! (And at least it isn’t horribly long..)
    Anywhoo, Thanks for stopping by my blog and following ❤ I'm a new follower of yours as well. Your blog is sooo cute ! (:

    • 3 littlebookstar September 9, 2012 at 10:36 PM

      Woohoo a junior book blogger!
      Goodluck with Great Gatsby! I hated it more when my english teacher gave us a pop essay on it -_- who the heck gives a POP essay -_- a pop quiz is understandable but essays…I just felt like the story was progressing way too slow.
      Aw thanks! Yours is too!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,507 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

