Review: The Tower (Deck of Lies #2) by Jade Varden

Genre: YA Mystery
Published: April 05, 2012
Series: #2 (Deck of Lies)
Length: 160 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

“Death brings some families closer, but it’s ripped mine apart. I wanted to convince the police that they had the wrong suspect…but I never expected them to start suspecting me. Now, I have no choice but to keep searching for the truth, even if all my relationships fall to pieces around me.

Someone is trying to make me look guilty. I never thought my mission to prove my own innocence would lead me to more family secrets. I thought I had already discovered the truth about myself. But every answer raises more questions, and everything I think I know is about to change…again.

I have to find the truth, no matter how much it hurts — before I get charged with murder.” – Goodreads

review
I wanna cry you guys. It was so good! Since this is a series, usually the first book and the last are the best, and the books in the middle are like ‘so-so’. Well for The Tower, I think it’s better than the first one. Don’t get me wrong here, Justice was good, but The Tower had more mystery and suspense! If you read my review about Justice, I said that it was predictable, but for this book, I couldn’t even predict anymore! I was left surprised, shocked, and blown away!

For the first few chapters, we were introduced again and information from the first book was being re-told. So I was like ‘okay, cool..’ and then when it was getting towards the middle my stomach started hurting (OH YEAH, DON’T EAT WHILE READING THIS BOOK). I say that because of the SUSPENSE taking place! I got all nervous and I could totally feel the main character’s situation. So many things were happening and it was just incredible xD. If I could describe this book in one word, it would be EXCITING.

The main point of this book is about Rain, our protagonist here, finding out who she really is and who her real parents are, but then one of her schoolmates were murdered and people close to her had ‘maybe’ something to do with it. The cops were pointing at her friend River, then they started pointing at Rain!

The only thing that got me confused though is keeping up which kid was who’s parents and who cheated on who. I remember I had to re-think of which character was Rain talking about. Like, if she was talking about ‘Bob’ (there’s not really a Bob in the story, it’s just an example), I had to think ‘who was Bob again?’. Also there were a little bit of typos.
Overall I would recommend this to people who love mysteries and suspense. By the way, it’s not a detective Nancy Drew thing! It’s more like a normal girl living her life then BOOM she finds out her whole life was a lie. Poor Rain. A very good rate for The Tower.

PS. I actually like the book cover! It’s relevant to the whole story, and the Tarot concept thing is just spooky and cool (I like it)!

2 Responses to “Review: The Tower (Deck of Lies #2) by Jade Varden”


  1. 1 specsandginger August 31, 2012 at 1:20 AM

    Can’t wait to read this sequel. Recently read Justice and thought it was good!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,519 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

