Interview with Jody Gehrman (author of Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Jody Gehrman is the author of seven novels and numerous plays. Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft is her most recent Young Adult novel. Her other Young Adult novels include Babe in Boyland, Confessions of a Triple Shot Betty, and Triple Shot Bettys in Love, (Penguin’s Dial Books). Babe in Boyland won the International Reading Association Teen Choice Award and has recently been optioned by the Disney Channel. Her adult novels are Notes from the Backseat, Tart, and Summer in the Land of Skin (Red Dress Ink). Her plays have been produced in Ashland, New York, San Francisco, Chicago and L.A. She and her partner David Wolf won the New Generation Playwrights Award for their one-act, Jake Savage, Jungle P.I. She is a professor of English at Mendocino College.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Hello guys! Here I am with another author interview, this time with Jody Gehrman, author of the new YA Paranormal novel Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft. If you guys haven’t entered the giveaway, you should! You don’t want to miss out a great read. The giveaway can be found on the sidebar (if it’s not there it means that it had ended). With that said, let’s welcome Jody!

Q: What inspired you to become a writer?

I can’t really name one single experience or person who pushed me more than the others, though I’ve had many wonderful teachers and I have a lot of great friendships with other writers, which is what keeps me going when I get discouraged. Ever since I was little I’ve loved living inside imaginary worlds–other people’s and my own. It’s magical, in a way, having the power to touch someone’s imagination, to subtly shape their inner life. I can’t imagine my life without it.

Q: How is Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft different from your other books?

I’ve never written anything like it; this is my first time venturing into paranormal territory. Well, that’s not one hundred percent true. I did try writing about this enchanted island once plagued by brain-sucking sea monsters, but for obvious reasons that book still lives deep inside my sock drawer! I do like to push myself as a writer though; I never want to get into a comfortable rut.

Q: One of your books, Babe in Boyland was optioned by the Disney Channel! What was your reaction when you found out?

I was actually in class when I got the first email about it from my agent. My students were taking a quiz, so I thought, “I’ll just check my email quickly.” I opened the message and almost screamed! A book-to-film deal has been on my wish list forever, so I was kind of freaking out. One of my students came up to turn in her test and she’s like, “Are you okay? You’re white as a sheet!” I think my whole system went into shock.

Q: What inspired you to write a YA Paranormal book?

Witchcraft has always intrigued me. All my life I’ve been in love with the idea of nature-based magic, so this seemed like the best way to venture into paranormal fiction. I read a lot of witchcraft-oriented books while working on Audrey. I was especially inspired by the Hex Hall series. I’m a pagan at heart; even as a kid, I sensed a mysterious power running through the natural world. Witches have an ability to interact with that power, which I think is pretty amazing. Growing up here in Northern California, I was lucky enough to meet some people who practiced witchcraft, so it wasn’t that foreign to me. I wanted to explore what I knew about real witches but also create a world where their power could be even more remarkable.

Q: What was the most challenging part of writing Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft?

Okay, I’m almost ashamed to admit this, but this book took me seven years, off and on, to complete. I know that sounds horribly inefficient, but some stories just won’t be rushed. When I started it I had a completely different protagonist and wasn’t even written for a Young Adult audience. I had this epiphany one day out of the blue: I realized it could work really well with a teen heroine. Audrey, a seventeen-year-old girl, replaced Sarah, a divorcee in her late twenties, and Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft was born. I guess it took me that long to find the right protagonist to tell this particular story.

Q: Is there going to be a sequel?

Yes! It’s planned as a trilogy.

Q: Besides writing, what else do you like to do?

Yoga, swimming, thrift-shopping. I love seeing good theatre and movies too. I’m a big fan of travel in general. Japan is one of my favorite destinations–I love everything about the culture and the language. A friend of mine is going to graduate school in London, so I’m probably going to visit her there in the spring. Don’t you love the British? I can’t wait to hear someone actually call someone else a wanker!

 Q: Do you have any message for your fans out there?

Thanks for enabling my writing addiction by reading my books! I love hearing from readers, so don’t hesitate to email me: jodygehrman (at) gmail (dot) com.

Here are some of the places you can find me online:

http://www.jodygehrman.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/jody.gehrman
http://www.facebook.com/AudreysGuideToWitchcraft
https://twitter.com/jodygehrman
http://www.jodygehrman.com

Thanks for sharing with us Jody! Wow I didn’t expect that Audrey’s Guide was originally thought of as an adult paranormal book. Check out my review of Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft here

0 Responses to “Interview with Jody Gehrman (author of Audrey’s Guide to Witchcraft)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

