Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Genre: Classics
Published: January 3, 2011 by Berkley Publishing Group
Length: 522 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)

” Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who’s always taken orders quietly, but lately she’s unable to hold her bitterness back. Her friend Minny has never held her tongue but now must somehow keep secrets about her employer that leave her speechless. White socialite Skeeter just graduated college. She’s full of ambition, but without a husband, she’s considered a failure. Together, these seemingly different women join together to write a tell-all book about work as a black maid in the South, that could forever alter their destinies and the life of a small town… “

review

This book is so beautiful! Honestly at first I was bothered by the language (how they talked) but I realized that it was necessary and has a purpose of why they spoke broken English. Despite the book being long, it never bored me and it left me with different emotions – sad, happy, laughing, and shocked to name a few. I have to admit, sometimes I was too lazy to pick it up and start reading the next chapter because of how long it is, but that was my problem.  So the book is told from a first person point of view,  each chapter(s) being told by the different characters in the story. The title of the chapters will have the name of who’s perspective it is.

Our protagonists are Ms. Skeeter, and the two maids Aibileen and Minny. They are such interesting and unique characters. Each characters symbolizes and represents something. All of them take risks in the book and cooperate just to accomplish Ms. Skeeter’s book The Help. Ms. Skeeter’s novel is composed of different stories told by the maids. Their stories just moved me and all of the sacrifice they do left me afraid and worried for them. Some stories were sad and some were very funny (hint hint [if you read it] The Terrible Awful! I cracked up on that one xD ).

The Help by Kathryn Stockett sends out a message not just about equality and unity but making the impossible possible and accept that what will come will come. This book reminds me of why I love the classics genre. This book is such a meaningful piece and I really recommend it! Just give it a try. It will definitely give you something to think about. I didn’t love the book, but I highly liked it and it’s a piece of awesomeness!

5 Responses to “Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett”


  1. 1 kimyunalesca October 11, 2012 at 12:40 AM

    Have you seen the movie?is it the same?or is it better than the movie? 😀

  2. 3 littlediva96 March 28, 2014 at 6:16 PM

    Loved your review. I haven’t read the book (because I haven’t found it in hardback at my local B&N) but my Mom and Nana dragged me to see it in theaters. It was a beautiful story. Kathryn Stockett has an amazing eye!

    -Jordan

    http://jordansjewels.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

