{Tour Stop} A Stiff Kiss by Avery Olive – Review + Interview + Excerpt + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository

Genre:YA Paranormal Romance
Published: February 12, 2012 by Crescent Moon Press
Length: 248 pages
Source: (author) review copy

“Who knew kissing a corpse would change everything?

Death always hits Xylia Morana too close to home, but she likes it that way. She hangs out with the terminally ill, attends random funerals, and every so often, when the weather is right, she sleeps in open graves.

But after Landon Phoenix, the high school hottie, dies in Xylia’s arms, she sneaks into the morgue to say goodbye. How could she know stealing a kiss from his corpse would wake him up?

With Landon returned to the living and suddenly interested in Xylia, life has new meaning. But what Xylia doesn’t realize is that by kissing Landon back to life, she’s thrown Life and Death off balance. The underworld demands a body, and it might just have to be Xylia’s this time.”

review

Wow, this book, just wow. A very enjoyable and fast read! Usually we see a prince charming bringing back a princess alive by a *wait for it* kiss, like Disney’s Sleeping Beauty let’s say. BUT in A Stiff Kiss, it’s the exact opposite and it’s modern. The “princess” is actually the one who wakes up the “prince charming”. I’ve never read a book with this kind of concept so it was really interesting and I actually stayed up till 2 in the morning because I was just addicted to this book! GAAH! Haha. When I read the synopsis, I was like “Oh I’m definitely signing up for this tour.” It’s just so interesting to read about a main character who’s fascinated with the dead. I mean, it’s so unique!

I enjoyed the characters! They both have something mysterious about their character and throughout the story, they try to help each other with their problems that they’ve kept inside for a long time. The story mainly revolves around Xylia Morana and her crush Landon Phoenix (btw make sure to read my interview with Avery Olive to know WHY she chose those names)! Our main protagonist here is not your typical ya heroine. She’s independent, not those girly girl types, and loves to wear a lot of black. She also shares a special relationship with her dad. They’re like best friends and we don’t usually see that kind of father-daughter relationship with other ya books. For Landon, we actually get to see the real him while he’s with Xylia, but I like how we get to know him at the end of the book if he’d never known her. Cool right?

The idea of the ending reminded me of this movie Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time in some way. More action took place and you can’t put your nose away from the book! Trust, understanding, and letting go is what I got from reading A Stiff Kiss. I’m pretty sure everyone will like this book especially because it’s a new and original concept. There was just a teeny tiny minor issue which is some of the words were misspelled and I still don’t get the reason why Landon went away with Xylia. I feel like that wasn’t the type of his character. Overall I recommend this!

interview

Avery OliveQ: I’ve never read anything like A Stiff Kiss! What inspired you to write it?

Quite frankly, a pivotal scene from the book was part of one of my dreams. I know, not the most original answer but it’s the truth. So, a girl, kissing a dead guy, in a morgue was what started everything.

Q: How did you think up the characters’ names?

Baby name books! Okay, it’s a little more than just that. Morana, the main characters last name means death. And Landon’s last name is Phoenix which often means re-birth. Xylia was simply a name that grabbed my attention from the baby name book, and well, Landon was always a favourite name of mine!

Q: Is there anything behind the story?

Sort of. I’ve been drawn towards the slightly darker side of things. All my books seem to center around death in some form or another and it’s in part because I, myself, am still out to understand death. It scares me, terribly. So I often think that if I write about it, learn about it, and make my characters work through those kinds of situations, I’ll be able to come to terms with my own uneasiness around the death subject.

Q: What is your favorite scene in A Stiff Kiss?

I’ve always had a soft spot for the morgue scene since that’s what started the entire book. However, I do like a lot of the interaction between Xylia and her father. They’ve both been through something terrible and even though Xylia doesn’t act like, she very much loves her father, and I tried to make that seem as real as possible.

Q: What is your favorite book?

Of the day? Of the week? Or of the year? LoL. I honestly can’t sit down and name an all time favourite. I read so much that it changes practically every day. Right now I’m in love with the Roswell High Series by Melinda Metz. I’ve been reading it for close to two months now (there’s ten books) so that’s my favourite, this moment.

Q: If you can have a magic power, what would it be and why?

Always a tough question. With great power, comes great responsibility as they say. And I actually just had a similar conversation with someone about powers and abilities, so I’d go with being able to walk into people’s dreams. I can sit on the sidelines and watch, or I can interact, maybe even make a scary dream good or if needed make a good dream turn scary!

Q: Do you have any message for your readers out there?

Thank You!! I’ve been blessed thus far in my journey of being a published author to have wonderful readers who have taken the time to give A Stiff Kiss great reviews. Knowing there are readers out there makes writing worthwhile and validating! Also, watch out, you’ll be seeing more from me in 2013!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
No way should I be in the morgue. If I’m caught, I’ll lose my job. My dad will probably get fired, too. He’s been warned to keep me out of here.

The walls are lined with thick, square doors, clearly marked with numbers. I stop in front of the one I want. In the middle of that wall, at waist height, is number twelve. Beyond the door, lying on a sliding metal table, is the body of Landon Phoenix.

I’ve always had a crush on Landon, ever since freshman year when his family moved to Silver Springs. I’ve watched him grow into his looks, no longer a gangly boy with braces. And I’ve longed to hear my name roll off his tongue in that deep voice of his. To press my lips against his as he holds me in a tight embrace. To share the same air as him.

Though now, all those things are impossible. Except one. I can pull open the door, slide the table out, and at least for a moment I can share the same air, even though his lungs can no longer pull in that air.

I hesitate, my hand on the handle. Besides my mother, this will be the only other person who’s died that I’ve really known. The others have just been people, random ones at that. The guy from the grocery store who jumped off Whibley Bridge into the icy waters below, the occasional patient of mine who’d succumbed to old age, and many, many others. But this is personal. This is someone I’d known. Or at least, someone I’d held secretly in my heart.

But I need to say goodbye.

giveaway

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY (RAFFLECOPTER)

1 Response to “{Tour Stop} A Stiff Kiss by Avery Olive – Review + Interview + Excerpt + Giveaway”


  1. 1 VanillaOrchids October 13, 2012 at 6:56 PM

    I totally agree that A Stiff Kiss was unique.

    I agree that Xylia’s interaction with her father was realistic; it was realistic enough to annoy me. LOL

    Pam


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,527 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

