Interview with Derrolyn Anderson (author of The Athena Effect)

theauthor

Derrolyn AndersonDerrolyn Anderson is a visual artist and writer of fiction. The creator of the four part “Marina’s Tales” series and the YA romance, “The Athena Effect”, she’s currently hard at work on her next book, “The Mackenzie Legacy”.

interview

Q: Welcome to Little Book Star! Could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m the mother of three brilliant and beautiful daughters, a painter, sculptor and gardener. I’m married to my best friend, and together we’ve created a small business that manufactures cat collars and cat toys.
Q: I’ve never read anything like The Athena Effect, how did you come up with the story?
I saw a “Nova Science Now” about the brain that mentioned synesthesia. I looked into it a little bit more and started wondering… what if?
Q: How long did it take you to write it?
I started collecting notes and ideas in a shoebox last fall while I was finishing the fourth and final book in my last series, and I got down to seriously writing in the spring of 2012. The beauty of self-pubbing e-books is that the same day you decide you’re finished is the same day you upload to the major distributers and… viola… you are officially up and running! (Plus you can go back in to fix errors immediately, which I’ve already done onceSmile with tongue out). There are no more gatekeepers, and you have years to find your audience : it’s the ultimate meritocracy.
The hardest part is the self promotion, and that’s where the awesome book blogging community comes in (take a bow). I choose to spend my limited time querying bloggers instead of publishing houses Smile.
Q: Before writing The Athena Effect, you wrote a series called Marina’s Tales. How are they different?
Between The Land And The Sea (Marina’s Tales #1)was the first book I wrote, inspired by an old shipwreck at my former seaside home. It has a bit more of a supernatural element (mermaids), and it’s written in the first person. I’m working hard to improve my storytelling skills as I continue writing, and I’m very excited for future projects.
Q: What’s the best thing about being an author?
For me, it would have to be sudden flashes of inspiration from out of the blue. I’ll be stuck on a plot point and move on, only to have the perfect solution (to me) randomly present itself – Like when you’re doing a crossword and the word you were searching for suddenly pops into your mind hours later. The subconscious mind… gotta love it!
Q: Do you have any message for your readers and fans?
Just a big THANK YOU! Only a few short years ago I had no idea I’d ever be doing any of this, and now I can’t even imagine not doing it. Writing has been one of the hardest and most rewarding things I’ve ever attempted.
xxx
Thank you so much for your time Derrolyn! And I know that feeling (about the crossword puzzle) but it happens to me with my blog. Just a random idea pops in my head! Check out my review of The Athena Effect here
1 Response to “Interview with Derrolyn Anderson (author of The Athena Effect)”


  1. 1 segmation October 22, 2012 at 8:23 AM

    Beautiful synesthesia! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

