Review + Interview + Giveaway: The White Lilac by Christina Adams

Genre: YA Dystopian
Published: February 20, 2012
Length: 334 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

“Fifteen year old Caryn Tobin is willing to sacrifice her life to save the world, and to atone for her part in the death of a friend. Kai Garrett will risk everything to discover his past and why he was abandon. When their paths join, they form an unlikely friendship that could change everything. The fate of the world hangs in the balance.”

review

The summary really got me, and what interested me the most to read The White Lilac is how Caryn and Kai would find each other. I mean, they both have 2 different worlds and practically the opposite. Caryn is one of the chosen ones to save the world – Beta Earth – by gathering the eggs in an aquarium. She has a special ability, which is she can breathe longer than the others while in the water. What confused me though is how does the aquarium look like? I know it’s not a small tank, obviously, because a person’s swimming in it, but is the aquarium located in a closed place or open place? I couldn’t really picture it.

It basically says in the summary what Kai’s character is like. He was abandoned, and lived in the streets. Eventually T-Man’s gang found him, and the T-Man is his only lead to why his mother left him. I think Kai is the type of quiet guy, but if you mess with him, he won’t think twice messing with you back. I like both Kai & Caryn’s personality, but sometimes I couldn’t relate to them because it wasn’t in their perspective. The author was mostly telling the story, providing us the details and such. It switches from 1st person (Caryn) to 3rd person (Kai) per chapter and there wasn’t a whole lot of dialogues.

The book started out with a bam, and the ending had a lot of revelations which made me gasp. The middle part of the book was slow though, and sometimes I would forget what was going on because of how slow the pacing was. There were also some typos. Overall, the concept of the book, for me, was originally thought of.  There wasn’t any love story in the book, it was more like a “crush”thing.  Though the characters doesn’t admit it, you can sort of see it in their actions. With that, I can see this book as a middle grade book besides young adult. It was a new read for me, and if you are a dystopian fan or sci fi (because this book also fits the sci fi genre) then I would recommend it.

theauthor

Christina J. Adams finds inspiration in the green rolling hills and farmland surrounding her home in Maryland. She loves hanging out with young people, and gets more excited about a new book coming out, from one of many favorite authors, that it’s probably not good for her health. She didn’t think being a writer was a serious profession until after high school, but has since decided it is the best career ever.

To contact or for information about speaking engagements e-mail: adamschristinawriter (at) yahoo (dot) com.

interview

Q: Welcome to Little Book Star! Why did you choose to write a YA Dystopian novel?

Thanks! I’m really excited about this. 🙂 With The White Lilac I actually didn’t even know I was writing a Dystopian novel, it was just a storyline I loved and wanted to write. I knew it would be similar in genre to The Hunger Games, I just figured it was Sci-fi and it wasn’t until I started querying literary agents that I found out Dystopian was probably more apt. But I love the Dystopian genre. It has a way of cutting through the fog of everyday life and presenting sides where wrong is wrong and must be stopped. And I love that it often presents a situation where readers have to think about what they would do if they were in that world.

Q: How does it feel being an author?

Being an author is rather surreal. Part of me definitely feels like I am, but I’m often surprised when others see me that way. During my first few years of seriously writing I started thinking of myself as a writer. I even put the definition of ‘Author’ on my dresser mirror so I could remind myself that I was going to claim that identity. That card is still there. I have looked at it so often that I started to feel like an author years ago and now I am. But I don’t feel any different than I did before my book came out, I’m still me only now I have a product to show for it.

Q: When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I probably subconsciously wanted to be a writer much longer than the moment I realized I didn’t just like writing I wanted and could be a writer. I read my first book on how to write and publish when I was a teen and I even applied to get into a writing class, but my parents couldn’t afford it. At the time though it was just something I liked to do and I didn’t really think I could make it work. But I loved writing and slowly noticed that the moments I felt most alive were when I was working on some story. Fast forward a couple of years and when I was in my early twenties I realized that I couldn’t ignore my desire to write. I wanted to be a writer and I could make it happen. Once I decided that I could, I threw myself into learning the craft, reading and writing.

Q: What do you think makes a good story?

I love this question! And the funny thing is that right now I have so many possible answers flying around in my head that my mind almost feels blank. For me a good story has deep, yet relatable characters, a tight plot and most importantly of all it grabs my attention, whisking me into another world and keeping me from turning my light off. The thing about a good story is that it keeps me from noticing it’s a good story because I’m too busy living in it. And I love that when I find it!

Q: What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

As I am in the midst of writing Fadeout, my next book which I plan to release February 2013, my writing work schedule is fresh in my mind. I try to write six days a week, but sometimes it doesn’t always work out, like in the recent case with Hurricane Sandy when I didn’t have power for a day and couldn’t used my computer. I balance my writing schedule with work, family and a bit of a social life as well as marketing my first book and keeping up with the people I’ve met through that. It’s been busy, but great so far and I still manage to knock those chapters out.

Q: What’s your favorite snack while writing?
I have to go with Raisinets. Whenever I feel like celebrating or need to chew on something while I search for inspiration that is where I turn.

Q: Do you have any message to your readers?

It is one of the best feelings in the world to know there are readers out there who love a book I wrote. It’s a sensation I know I share with every author. I wish all readers could feel how much they encourage writers to be better and to write often. While writers have the pen, it is often the readers who have the power. Use it well.

This was fun! Thanks so much for having me on Little Book Star.

giveaway

I would like to thank the author for providing us 3 ecopies of her book (: Yay!
ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

8 Responses to “Review + Interview + Giveaway: The White Lilac by Christina Adams”


  1. 1 Miss. Lucinda Fountain November 16, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    I would like to thank you so much for a fantastic book giveaway, and a really wonderful blog post. This book sounds amazing and i was facinated to find out more about the author and the inspiration behind this tale. The interview was most insightful and now i want to read more! x

    Email: lfountain1(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk

  2. 3 specsandginger November 16, 2012 at 6:41 AM

    Has the giveaway ended? It’s not working when I click on the link.

  3. 6 specsandginger November 17, 2012 at 1:31 AM

    Thanks for checking, your right it was a fault my end, sorry. Working now 🙂 Looks like a great read!

  4. 8 Anne C December 4, 2012 at 11:20 AM

    Thank you so much Christina for giving us the chance to read your book.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,519 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

