Review + Interview: Scarlette by Davonna Juroe

Scarlette Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: October 12, 2012 by BumbleB Media, Inc.
Length: 326 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

“Find the Beast ~ Find the Cure

Scarlette, an 18-year-old peasant, lives under a dark threat. A nightmarish creature lurks in the surrounding forest, killing the villagers one by one. When Scarlette’s grandmother survives an attack, Scarlette learns that her grandmother hasn’t suffered the bite of just any normal animal.

Now desperate, Scarlette searches throughout her province to find a cure. But there are those who want to keep their pasts hidden. As she begins to uncover the dark secrets of her village, Scarlette is befriended by a local nobleman and a woodcutter who share a gruesome history with the beast. To save her grandmother, Scarlette must unravel their mystery and solve an age-old crime. But as she pieces together the clues, Scarlette finds herself torn between the two men, both of whom want to be more than friends and hold the key to the cure.

What if Little Red Riding Hood was Real?

Based on both the Grimm and Perrault versions of Little Red Riding Hood and set against the terrifying, historic Beast of Gévaudan attacks, this dark YA retelling blends two epic legends, giving the fabled girl-in-the-red-cloak a new, shockingly real existence.”

review

Scarlette is such a great retelling of the Grimm and Perrault’s Little Red Riding Hood. It is a fun book to read especially during the time of winter. The story is set in France, and it starts out with a spooky and creepy (in a good way) scene with Scarlette and her grandmother in the woods. The summary basically says what you’re going to expect from the book, but between those are a bunch of twists, mysteries, and events you wouldn’t expect. The most unexpected of all is the ending. The idea of the ending might’ve crossed your mind, but you wouldn’t believe it would happen.

Like it says on the summary, Scarlette is 18 years old, though for me, she acts like someone who’s a 15 year old. She’s innocent, not really a kick-ass heroine, but how she is fits the story. I think it’s funny and ironic how she tells us that she does not trust the other characters in the book, but she ends up going with them 24/7. She often blames herself for the death of her loved ones and I feel sympathy for her because no matter how much she wants to prevent them from getting hurt, she couldn’t do anything about it. There is a sort of love triangle in this book, but it isn’t the main focus of the story which is good because it would throw off the whole idea of the book which is Scarlette looking for her grandmother. What I also liked about Davonna’s book is that Scarlette has an evil mother, but her evilness actually contributes something in the book. Her character wasn’t just thrown in there to make Scarlette’s life miserable.

Scarlette was beautifully written with lots of descriptions which I would like to give a 2 thumbs up to the author. But sometimes, the pacing of the story would go slow. Also, I feel like the ending was a sudden because there was a lot of stuff happening in the climax that all of a sudden the story ended. I like how there’s an epilogue though. I always love knowing what happens after the whole story. Since there’s that, the book is perfect either being a standalone or being a series. If it does become a series, wow, I’m excited to see what would happen next! Overall I recommend Scarlette to you guys especially those who are a big fan of re-tellings, werewolves, and paranormal stuff. (:

theauthor

Welcome to the BlogDavonna Juroe stays up way too late, has a severe garlic food allergy, and loves all things 80’s. She wonders if all this could actually mean she’s a vampire.

In high school, she wore way too much glitter eye make-up. And in between many Disneyland visits and reading R.L. Stine’s Fear Street Series, she joined the high school drama department and may have developed crushes of the serious kind on many a theater boy. After many a broken heart, (*sigh*) Davonna moved to the quaint, wooded village of Kalispell, Montana.

When she’s not writing, she shops @ thrift stores for hot-pink-Jem-and-the-Holograms-inspired-outfits, eats gluten free desserts, drinks tea out of antique teacups, and spends too much time on deviantArt, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Scarlette is Davonna’s debut novel of epic-historical-fairytale-proportions, which she knows the Brothers Grimm would say is wicked cool.
Currently, she’s represented by fabulous independent agent Roxanne McHenry who is waving wands to make all of Davonna’s dreams come true.

interview

Q: Welcome to Little Book Star! Why did you choose to write a re-telling story of Little Red Riding Hood?

Hi, Leigh! Thanks for having me and greetings to all of your followers! *waves*

First off, I love fairy tales and history, and the idea for Scarlette literally almost pricked me. I was working on a Japanese cross-stitch pattern that happened to be a scene from Little Red Riding Hood.

While I was stitching, some questions wove their way through my mind: What if LRRH had really lived? And wouldn’t it be cool to retell the tale but make the wolf in the story a werewolf?

220px-Black_and_White_Wolves.jpgLittle did I know that those questions were about to take me on an epic journey. One where I’d discover the rich history surrounding the Little Red Riding Hood story and stumble upon one of the most famous alleged werewolves of all time.

I began researching the fairy tale right away and was surprised to find many different versions. One of them was a French rendition entitled The Grandmother where the wolf in the tale was really a werewolf! I then hoped to find a historical event to use as a backdrop to make the fairy tale seem like it could’ve really happened in time.

After pawing around a bit more, I discovered something truly horrifying. Some sixty years after French author and aristocrat Charles Perrault penned his version of Little Red Riding Hood in 1697, nearly one hundred people were ferociously mauled by an unidentified wolf-like creature in the Gévaudan province of France.

Rumors blended with superstition, and the terrified peasantry blamed the attacks on a werewolf. This creature was then named: The Beast of Gévaudan. I knew right there that I had my werewolf. And it made further sense to set the YA in France based on the rich background there surrounding LRRH.

The rest as they say is YA storytelling history. 😉

Q: When did you discover your talent for writing?

I realized I was on to something when I started receiving personal rejections back from editors and agents. They said that my writing was good, but that the subject matter didn’t fit their tastes at that time.

Q: What scene(s) in the book was the hardest for you to write?

This is kinda funny, but I actually creeped myself out writing the first scene where Scarlette encounters “the Beast.” It’s based on an actual eyewitness account of a person seeing the Beast of Gévaudan stand up on its hind legs and wade through a river. I found myself not able to write that scene before bedtime. My imagination just went too wild.

I think it’s fun to be scared, and I like to write about eerie subjects, but I’m such a wimp sometimes. 🙂 I can’t even make it past the first episode of The Walking Dead. I loved it, but I was too freaked out. Legless lady in the park sent me over the edge. Gah!

Q: Since Scarlette takes place in France, in what place in France would you like to visit?

The Beast terrorized the Gévaudan province, which is now the modern day department of Lozère and part of Haute-Loire. In Lozère, there happens to be a wolf preserve, and I have to visit it no matter what! But I’ll be carrying wolfsbane on my person all times. Can’t take any chances, you know? 😉

Q: If Scarlette were to become a movie, (I HOPE SO :D) which celebrity would Scarlette’s character be and why?

That is very awesome of you to say! 😀

Definitely British actress Gemma Arterton who played Tamina in Prince of Persia: Sands of Time. Arterton also played thePrince_of_Persia_poster.jpg character of Tess in a BBC miniseries adaption of Tess of the d’urbervilles. Tess is a bit naïve, stubborn, and vulnerable, yet there’s a deep strength in her character. This is exactly how I imagined Scarlette and modeled her after Gemma’s role. Even better, Tamina in Prince of Persia can kick some butt if she has to, just like Scarlette. 😀

Thanks again for having me, Leigh, and a big thanks to all of your blogtastic readers. Stay beastly! *waves*

xxx

Super thank you Davonna for the opportunity and time! I enjoyed reading Scarlette and I look forward into reading your future books (:

3 Responses to “Review + Interview: Scarlette by Davonna Juroe”


  1. 1 Davonna Juroe November 16, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    Hey, Leigh, thanks again for reading, reviewing, and interviewing me! I’m super honored to be featured on your blog! You are tubulartastic! 😀

  2. 2 enchantology January 2, 2013 at 11:49 AM

    Your comment about Scarlette seeming more like 15 – so true! I kept thinking that throughout the book. Lovely review & interview as always. ^_^


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

