Review: Touch (The Reaper Novellas #1) by Jennifer Snyder

TouchGenre: YA Paranormal
Published: August 27, 2011
Series: #1 (The Reaper Novellas)
Length: 74 pages
Source: author (review copy)
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

Seventeen-year-old Rowan Harper knows her life is forever changed the moment her schizophrenic mother commits suicide. What Rowan doesn’t realize is how much her mother’s choice altered her own fate. It’s not until after meeting Jet, a sapphire-eyed dead boy, Rowan begins to learn of her new destiny as becoming her mother’s replacement for something she never knew existed.

Plus a bonus short story-Choice- told from Jet’s perspective!

People often say everything happens for a reason. Seventeen-year-old Jet Donavan Mathews is about to find out that statement is not always true. Jet will learn that sometimes there are moments which were never meant to occur, moments where you are left with a choice.

review

I really enjoyed reading Touch. I read it with one sitting because I was so impressed and amazed by Snyder’s style. I love her writing style; it flowed smoothly and stands out from other ya paranormal authors. This is the second time that I read a book with reaper as the topic, and my first time reading a book about reapers was awful. It was so confusing and information was thrown in the book everywhere. This one definitely surprised me and I like how it’s a fast read. I also like how the cover has a significance with the story. Touch is told by a seventeen year old, Rowan Harper, who is dealing with her mother’s death. As she copes up, she discovers something from her mother’s past, and now it’s her job to continue what her mother did not finish.

This book falls in the middle for me. I liked some parts and disliked a couple of parts. I wish we got to know more about our characters especially Rowan’s best friend. I’m curious on how their relationship were before Rowan’s personality changed due to her mother’s death. In this book, Rowan isn’t that social  and her best friend tries to snap her out of it. In short, more background could’ve been added in the book. I also felt iffy about the romance part. It was a bit rushed and forced. There is potential, it just needed to be slower and realistic. I also would like to know more about the reaper world. I love Snyder’s idea about the whole reaping thing. I definitely want to read more about that in the second book. I do like how this book was emotional at some parts, especially Rowan’s relationship with her father. You could feel their struggle as they try to move on. Touch has a little bit of contemporary feel to it.

I recommend this to paranormal fans, to those who want to read a not quite lengthy book, and if you’re up for some fast paced novella. I can’t wait to read the second installment because I want more information about the characters, and why the mom committed suicide. You’re left gripping for more, and I have a feeling I will enjoy the 2nd book more.

3.5 of 5

1 Response to “Review: Touch (The Reaper Novellas #1) by Jennifer Snyder”


  1. 1 Lowell March 27, 2013 at 11:09 AM

    Wonderful post! We will be linking to this great post on
    our site. Keep up the great writing.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,515 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

