{Tour Stop} Hereafter (The Reaper Novellas #2) by Jennifer Snyder: Review + Excerpt + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter

Buy Links: Amazon

Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: February 5, 2013
Series: #2 (The Reaper Novellas)
Length: 102 pages
Source: author (review copy)

In Death I could finally see the importance of Life…

After being forced to become a Reaper Council member and being torn away from the one she loves, Rowan Harper must learn to accept her altered Fate as well as her death and move on. A task easier said than done, especially when witnessing those you love suffer in the wake of your death.

When an unlikely alli provides information that could change everything, Rowan sets out on a journey through Purgatory with her beloved by her side and a nonchalant Tracker to learn the true meaning of the word sacrifice. Another task which seems easier said than done, especially with the threat of Purgatory’s ability to corrupt your soul the longer you’re in its grip looming above their heads.

review

In my 16 years of existence, this is legit the first time that I cried while reading a book. Who would have thought that I would cry while reading a ya paranormal.. PARANORMAL! Not a contemporary, but a paranormal book. I’m glad to say that I enjoyed Hereafter more than the first book. I love it when the 2nd book is better and has more twist to it. In my  review of Touch which is the first book, I said I had a feeling that the sequel would be better. I was right. Hereafter did not disappoint at all. Like Touch, I read it in one sitting and was hooked on since the first chapter.

This book is about a teenage girl named Rowan who became a reaper in place of her mother who committed suicide. It wasn’t her mother’s time to past away yet, but since she cut herself from the world, her daughter had to take her place. Now Rowan wants her life back (this might sound selfish) but in order to do that, she must find her mother who is in Purgatory and ask her to accept to become a reaper again.

There was definitely more adventure in this book, but not a lot of information about the reaping world. Instead, the author sets off Rowan and Jet’s journey to the Purgatory. I completely love how Snyder described the Purgatory. Wow. I was amazed how she pictured the place and how the souls were punished. It was unique, scary, and exciting all at the same time. I felt the same way as Rowan. I felt how she was eager to find her mom, how she was frightened and worried during her journey to Purgatory, but most of all her sadness. The best part of all (and the part where I cried) was when Rowan, her friend/lover Jet, and Val (a Tracker – someone who finds the souls) goes through the process of searching for Rowan’s mom. Oh my goodness. It was the saddest thing ever! I don’t want to say how the process was because if you read Hereafter, I want you to be surprised like I was. My nose was running as much as the tears in my ears were. I love how in this book, we get to know more of Jet and how he died.

I really recommend this to everyone. It’s such a touching paranormal story which also reminds me of a contemporary book because there were so much emotional stuff going on. Choices, sacrifices, and forgiveness, this is more than a paranormal book. The only part that I did not understand and wanted to know more of is why Rowan’s mother’s mom didn’t know that they had the blood of the reaper? Hmm.. Anyways, you should totally check this out. I really enjoyed it and I still can’t believe I cried. xD

4.5 of 5

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Torment and sin, pain and evil floated through the air in a near suffocating haze. I could feel it surrounding me, brushing up against me, attempting to lure me in deeper and away from the door so I couldn’t escape as though it were alive. I licked my lips and tasted the bitterness of this place on my tongue. Jet’s hand tightened around mine, and I could sense his tension as he glanced at what lie before us. My eyes darted about in wonder, taking in my surroundings.
Purgatory was eerily beautiful, in a gothic sense. It was as if stepping through the door had taken us deep underground without taking any stairs. Cold, dark dirt lay beneath my bare feet, etched with deep ruts and grooves. There was no sky, only more dirt above me, bumpy and full of ridges. I felt as if I’d stepped inside a damp cave long ago forgotten by even the smallest of creatures. White fog bubbled from a crater a few hundred feet away from where Jet and I stood, and danced across the ground hypnotically.
Gripping my hand even tighter, Jet put one foot in front of the other, and we began making our way through the silent darkness that was Purgatory, toward the crater that dipped into the ground. After only a few steps, I noticed something at the cliff-like edge of the crater, something shinny and black that caught the small glint of light available and reflected it.
“What is that?” I asked, pointing, just before I realized what the objects were. “How are there crows down here?”
We’d taken a few steps before Jet shook his head and finally answered me. “Those aren’t crows; those are ravens.”

giveaway

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

5 Responses to “{Tour Stop} Hereafter (The Reaper Novellas #2) by Jennifer Snyder: Review + Excerpt + Giveaway”


  1. 1 Kirsty Vizard February 18, 2013 at 12:57 AM

    Wow! I love this cover and your review makes it sound like one to check out! I am always crying at books lol!!!!

  2. 3 Janina (@Synchro_Reading) February 18, 2013 at 6:27 AM

    I’ve never read a book by the author and I am definitely a cryer lol I’ve cried in quite a few books. This sounds awesome and I really want to check it out. I’ve been seeing it around alot of blogs lately. Awesome review!

    Janina @ Synchronized Reading

  3. 5 Ari February 18, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    That cover is gorgeous, and this story sounds wonderful. 🙂 I definitely cry over books. It’s really bad when it happens in public places, and I get that “you are completely insane” look. lol Great review. I definitely have to look into reading this.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,523 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

