Review: Unwind (Unwind #1) by Neal Shusterman

Unwind (Unwind, #1) Genre: YA Sci-Fi
Published: November 6, 2007 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Series: #1 (Unwind Dystology)
Length: 335 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)

Connor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

review

I loved everything about this book! The writing style was really good; you’re able to feel the creepiness and spookiness. It’s told in 3rd person, but you’re still able to connect with the characters. This book switches point of views several times, BUT the transformation of different perspective transitioned SO WELL! It was very smooth and flawless. I also love how original the story is. Between the age of 13-18, you’ll have a chance (unfortunately) to be unwinded, meaning, the doctors will take your organs and other body parts and save them until someone needs a transplant.

There are 3 protagonists in this book: Connor, Risa and Lev. I freaking loved them! I love how there was a lot of character development and you could really see how the characters matured. The characters share their stories of how they ended up being signed up to be unwind and it was really sad! There are a lot of characters in this book but you won’t get them mixed up because they have different personalities, talents, and their own voice.

The world building is spectacular as well! There are SO MANY TWISTS in this book. It’s crazy (in a good way). I was kind of confused a bit with the “clappers” but then at the end I understood who they were. I also LOVE how there was barely any romance. YES! Honestly, I’m tired with romances in almost every young adult book. Like, not all teens have relationships. I highly recommend this book to everyone! I can’t wait to read the sequel, Unwholly, and more of Neal Shusterman’s books! If you love scary, fast-paced stories, then this is definitely for you.

4.5 of 5

18 Responses to “Review: Unwind (Unwind #1) by Neal Shusterman”


  1. 1 inhalingbooks July 24, 2013 at 1:19 AM

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! I read it a while back, but I never thought I would enjoy it as much as I did, especially because I usually don’t like when a book is written in third person. I really want to read the rest of the books too! πŸ™‚

  2. 3 Rachel :) July 24, 2013 at 3:59 AM

    This book has a really intriguing concept! I’ve never heard of anything like it!

    I’m glad you loved it though and that the world-building is great! One of the must-haves for me in books is good, solid world-building… and, of course, great characters you can empathise with!

    Great review! πŸ˜€

    (New follower via. Bloglovin’ :D)

  3. 5 Lottie Eve July 25, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    This book sounds so creepy O_o I have it in my TBR pile but have yet to read it… Though your review is very, very convincing πŸ˜‰ I just might pick it up this summer! Also, the lack of romance thing=pretty awesome.

    Great review!

  4. 7 readerswonderland July 25, 2013 at 3:16 PM

    I’ve been wondering about this one! I will definitely heed your advice and read it around Halloween, I think πŸ™‚ (Since I’m too old for trick or treating :C I tried two years ago and one guy was like “Seriously?” Or maybe I should just hire some poor kid to collect candy for me.)

  5. 9 Megan (Ink Skies) July 26, 2013 at 7:02 AM

    Unwind has one of the best premises ever, which is partly the reason why I’m asking myself why I haven’t read it yet. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed it, though. The writing style and how Neil actually makes you FEEL emotions really intrigues me. AND TWISTS. Who can say no to them? I do need to pick this one up – and soon. Lovely review, Leigh!

  6. 11 Reem @ I Read And Tell July 26, 2013 at 9:14 AM

    This book was really emotional! You know that “scene” everyone talks about in Unwind gave me the shiver. I also didn’t mind it was told from a 3rd person perspective. There were a lot of POV but it was done well. And looking back, I realize this little book had SO many things happening, from escaping to going to the airport thingie (I forgot it’s name) and then bacK to Unwinding Camp! The romance between Connor and Lisa was cute as well. It wasn’t overdone or cliche.

  7. 13 Fly to the Sky July 26, 2013 at 8:12 PM

    I loved this book too! I agree that the POVs switched so nicely! I have to say I was impressed! I still need to read the second book though….. Great review!

  8. 15 Eveline @ Eveline's Books July 27, 2013 at 8:21 AM

    Great review! I loved this book, the whole transplant thing really creeped me out. The characters and the plot were indeed amazing πŸ™‚ Unfortunately I did not really like the third-person POV, it made me feel distant from the characters…

    • 16 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 27, 2013 at 10:10 AM

      Aw, I feel distant from the characters too when it’s written in 3rd person, but in this one, I didn’t. Hopefully you connect with the characters more in the 2nd book if you haven’t read it yet. πŸ™‚ Thanks for dropping by!

  9. 17 Abbe Hinder August 1, 2013 at 1:33 PM

    Nice review! I haven’t read this series yet, but I’ve great things about it. I think I like it because it sounds different and from your comments, the characters are AWESOME. I’ll have to read this soon.

  10. 18 Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes October 14, 2013 at 5:07 AM

    I LOVED this book too! I actually just finished it last night and can’t get it out of my head. Powerful is the best word I can use to describe it – the content, the way it was written, the ending… Even the way the POV kept shifting to various characters, which I thought I wouldn’t like at first, served a powerful purpose. The point of the book, as in many novels, was not for us to get to know one character deeply. It was for us to get to know a screwed-up culture and the many different perspectives that form such a disturbing society. Loved it!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

