{Tour Stop} Again by Brandy Jeffus – Review + Interview + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter

Buy Links: Amazon

Again Genre: NA Contemporary Romance
Published: May 15, 2013
Length: 166 pages
Source: (author) review copy

From recess buddies to high school sweethearts, Eli Stone and Bonnie Jinks were constants in each other’s lives. Although young, their relationship had withstood the test of many teenage tribulations. Marriage and a happy ever after were in their future plans.

One alcohol fueled mistake rips them apart. Bonnie ends up on the road with her new boyfriend while Eli joins the military. It seems as if their lives would never intersect again.

A near fatal accident brings them together and their chemistry is undeniable. But will the pain of the past keep them apart? Can they make their love work again?

review

Again is about second chances. This book is told from Bonnie’s point of view. The two main characters, Eli and Bonnie are high school sweethearts who have been together for 5 years. They’ve had their ups and downs and there was a point where one of them cheats. Just like the characters in the book, I had my ups and downs with Again. I’ll start with the downs.

I didn’t really like the writing style. There were random flashbacks inserted in the chapters which made me confused at times. This book also did not have a smooth pacing. I feel like the story was rushed since it’s a short book. Since the story was rushed, there wasn’t also that much character development. There’s a little bit of character development, but I wasn’t attached to them. I just didn’t like the decisions that they made; they were just so abrupt and unrealistic. I know that the focus of the story is about Eli and Bonnie’s relationship, but I didn’t like how it was about them 24/7. The author didn’t even mention the characters’ age. I’m guessing they were in between 21-26 years old. There also wasn’t a lot of supporting characters; it was only Bonnie’s mother, Bonnie’s mother’s boyfriend, and the “bad guy”.

What I did like is the unexpected scenes that happened in the book. I also like how Bonnie’s mother was very supportive of Bonnie & Eli’s relationship and that she sees Eli as her son. I really liked Eli’s character. Although he has flaws, he’s very caring, thoughtful, and funny at times.

Overall I did enjoy reading it. I read it in one sitting and despite the rocky pacing, it was a fast read. I recommend it if you’re up for a fast contemporary read.

3 of 5

theauthor

Brandy Jeffus has been writing stories since an early age. She would dictate them to her mom who would type them out on a typewriter.

She is a mother to two precious children and lives in North Texas, but she’ll always consider herself an East Texan, hailing from the Rose Capitol of the World, Tyler.

interview
Q: Welcome to Little Book Star! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?
I’m a born and bred Texan girl that uses the terms “y’all” and “Fixin to” daily. I’m a Mama and Wife and those have been some of my toughest jobs ever! I’ve always loved to read and write.
Q: What are your top 5 all time favorite contemporary books?
Before I fall by Lauren Oliver, A Time To Kill by John Grisham, Sierra by Taylor Dean, 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher and Bleachers by John Grisham
Q: Who are your top 5 favorite authors
John Grisham, Taylor Dean, Lauren Oliver, James Patterson and Pitticus Lore

Q: What or who inspired you to write your book?

I would say, probably my own relationship while I was in high school. Love like that is pure and magical, scary and crazy and I tried to capture that with Bonnie and Eli.

Q: Why did you choose to write a contemporary book? Why not a fantasy or dystopian book?

I guess because I was comfortable with it. I have some dystopian ideas, but my fear is holding me back. Maybe one day! I like to read fantasy, but just never could write it.

Q: What advice can you give to aspiring authors?

Don’t give up! Don’t worry about numbers. And you will cry when you get that proof copy in your hands, so have some Kleenex ready!!

Thank you so much for your time Brandy!

giveaway

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

3 Responses to “{Tour Stop} Again by Brandy Jeffus – Review + Interview + Giveaway”


  1. 1 Shane @ Itching for Books July 31, 2013 at 9:08 AM

    Good review. Cool interview! Thanks for participating 🙂

  2. 2 Brandy J July 31, 2013 at 2:16 PM

    Thanks so much for being apart of the tour! I appreciate the review!

    xoxo
    Brandy

  3. 3 Sarah J August 5, 2013 at 6:59 PM

    Great review! I like the cove, but I think I like the banner for the tour better.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

