{Tour Stop} Uninvited (South Hills Sidekicks #1) by Leah Spiegel and Meg Summers – Review + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter

Buy Link: Amazon

Uninvited (South Hills Sidekicks, #1) Genre: YA Contemporary, Mystery
Published: February 11, 2012
Series: #1 (South Hills Sidekicks)
Length: 302 pages
Source: (author) review copy

When Alley started her senior year at Upper East High in the South Hills area, it was supposed to be the usual drag of hanging out with people who spent more on one outfit than Alley did on her entire wardrobe. That was until Kirsten, a girl in their clique, suddenly goes missing and the only people who seem to care are her friends. All evidence leads to the new comer Shane, a cocky and self-pretentious person in Alleyโ€™s opinion, but the police seem uninterested so she and the rest of the girls start a little investigation of their own. But they are nowhere closer to finding Kirsten than when they started and now they had the policeโ€™s attention; just not in the way they expected. The girls have to start over and discover that maybe it wasnโ€™t an outsider who took Kirsten, but someone within their own clique who has something to hide; a secret that just might have gotten Kirsten killed.

review

There are lots of cliques in the school, but there are 2 particular cliques that are always mentioned in the book. There is Val’s clique (Kirsten, Alley, Kayla and Libby) and Taylor’s clique. This book is written in Alley’s perspective and at first, I thought that it was going to be about how Alley struggles being liked by the popular girls. It was mentioned that the only reason why the rest of the girls in Val’s clique hangs out with Alley is that because Val & Alley are best friends. Alley was given “Val’s shadow” as her nickname so I thought this book was definitely going to be about our MC getting bullied. I was wrong and I’m so glad I was!

This book was epic and just hilarious! I love, love, loved it! From start to finish, my nose was glued on the text. The writing style was very good; the pacing was smooth and wasn’t choppy at all. First off, a big round of applause for the authors. I could NOT stop laughing (I literally LOL-ed). The characters were just hilarious especially Val! Oh Val (Valerie) I freaking LOVE her personality and all the silly mistakes she made (she pepper sprayed herself xD ). There’s a lot of characters in this book, but you could all tell them apart. The author did an amazing job on giving their characters their own voice. So if you’re worried you’ll get them mixed up, I’m pretty sure you won’t. All of the characters were just witty which I think is one of the reasons why you’ll keep on reading. They are characters you’ll just instantly click with and love.

There’s a lot of suspense and mystery in this book which I also loved! It made me keep turning the pages till the very last. There’s a bunch of twists which makes the story unpredictable. Overall I definitely enjoyed it & I can’t wait to read the sequel. If you’re up for a read with 4 hilarious high school girls on a journey to solve a mystery, then I suggest you pick this up now! If you’re looking for a light, funny, fast-paced read then this one is definitely for you.

4.5 of 5

giveaway

Win 1 ecopy of Uninvited (INTL)

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

8 Responses to “{Tour Stop} Uninvited (South Hills Sidekicks #1) by Leah Spiegel and Meg Summers – Review + Giveaway”


  1. 1 Kaitlin Snider August 2, 2013 at 2:12 AM

    Sounds like a fun book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 3 Xpresso Reads (@Giselleco) August 2, 2013 at 10:04 AM

    Glad you enjoyed it! It sounds like such a fun and refreshing read! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 4 Eileen @ ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** August 2, 2013 at 3:01 PM

    Ahh this one does sound really hilarious, I can see why you would think that it would be about fitting in or something like bullying, but I’m glad it was a lot lighter than you originally anticipated. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 5 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 2, 2013 at 3:21 PM

      It was! Yeah at first I thought it was about bullying and fitting in b/c of the first couple chapters and the title of the book, but it wasn’t and I’m glad how the story turned out. (I don’t read summaries lol)

  4. 6 Alise August 3, 2013 at 5:00 PM

    I love books that can make me laugh, so that’s a positive in my book. This one really drew me in with that cover, it’s really unique. Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. 7 Megan (Ink Skies) August 6, 2013 at 8:25 PM

    Yay for comedy! Really, we need more of those kinds of books, because all the dystopians and post-apocalyptic novels nowadays are so depressing. I think the reason why I wasn’t too interested in this book was because of the cover, which I’m not a fan of. Your review changed that, though! I might give this a go in the future, because a funny contemporary? How could I say no? ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

