Review: The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark #2) by Shana Abe

The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark, #2) Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: August 13, 2013 by Bantam
Series: #2 (The Sweetest Dark)
Length: 320 pages
Source: Bantam (ARC)

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.”

review

The Deepest Night was a nice read. I’ve never read a YA book that involved dragons so it was a fresh read to me. I’ll start with the things I didn’t like while reading. I didn’t like how the romance took over the plot. Most of the time it was Lora daydreaming about Jesse, the star guy who admires her. A little background… there are dragons and there are star guys (I’m not sure what you call them). The dragons love the star guys and the star guys admire dragons. This was first mentioned in the first book and was not explained of how dragons and the stars are connected. It still WASN’T explained in this book which made me disappointed. I think concepts like that needs to be clarified. The book was mostly about Lora still getting used to being a dragon and her other love interest, Armand (he’s a duke) experimenting his dragon abilities.

Second, since the romance mainly took over the plot, it wasn’t that action packed until the 2nd half of the book. I think since it is a book about dragons, it should have lots of action scenes that will keep the readers at the edge of their seats. Unfortunately, it didn’t leave me at the edge of my seat. I think it could’ve been better (plot-wise).

Third, I wasn’t really attached to the characters.

What I enjoyed about The Deepest Night is the writing style. I’m not a fan of ya historical books, but Shana Abe’s writing style was very good. I felt like as if I was in the 1900’s. Her writing had a very mysterious feel to it. It was an easy read, but I really do believe that if she added more action scenes and focused more on the plot, I would have loved this book. Overall I enjoyed it though there’s a lot to improve. I recommend it if you’re a sucker for fantasy books set in the historical time period.

3 of 5

11 Responses to “Review: The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark #2) by Shana Abe”


  1. 1 Kezia D August 12, 2013 at 4:38 AM

    I’m not a fan of historical either, but fantasy is definitely my thing! 😀 Though I’m not sure I’ll be picking this up cause I hate it when romance takes over the main plot, especially if the book is fantasy or science fiction. It’s good that you found the writing enjoyable despite all the negatives. Great review as always, Leigh! :3

    • 2 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 12, 2013 at 5:50 PM

      Thanks Kezia! Yeah, I just didn’t like how there was a lot of romance because the point of the story is for the MC to rescue her love interest’s brother but there was only like 7 chapters on that. The writing style, in my opinion, was beautiful!

  2. 3 Ruby August 13, 2013 at 11:03 AM

    I love historical fiction and fantasy is my favourite genre, so this one looks like something I might enjoy! I do hate it when the romance overpowers the action though & with a lot of the books I’ve read recently I’ve found the romances slow and boring… it seems YA fiction is struggling to keep romance engaging!

    The writing style sounds interesting though, so I’ll look out for this one in the future. If you want to get into historical fiction then I REALLY recommend both Out of the Easy and Between Shades of Gray… they don’t feel like historical fiction and the characters are so well developed!

  3. 5 Summer August 13, 2013 at 6:51 PM

    I felt the same way about this book! My favorite part was the writing style, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance. Although, I did like that the author incorporated more historical events into the plot, compared to the first book. As a historical fiction AND fantasy lover, this was still kind of a letdown for me, but in comparison to the first book, it was a major improvement. Great review Leigh!

  4. 7 Kaitlin Snider August 13, 2013 at 8:32 PM

    I haven’t read this series, but I do love a really good fantasy book. It’s a shame when a book with dragons doesn’t have a lot of action in it, though. They deserve action.

    By the way, if you want to read a really great book with dragons, I suggest Eon by Alison Goodman. It’s one of my favorites.

  5. 9 Jalyn August 13, 2013 at 8:43 PM

    I still need to read this. I’m sorry that we weren’t able to read it together. I’ve had way too much going on lately to squeeze in much reading in at all!

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 13, 2013 at 8:52 PM

      It’s totally okay 🙂 the MMC was craaay hahaha but was a blast! You should still read it & I really hope you’ll like it. It was a bit better than the 1st book. I think I’m just hard to please with YA historical books lol.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

