Commenting Back

Readers in WonderlandIt really makes my day when I get an e-mail saying that someone commented on my blog. I get super happy and I fangirl on you! I know that everyone is busy so I really appreciate it when people try to squeeze in the time to comment on other people’s blogs. I know that some bloggers including me feel sad at times when we comment on (let’s say) 20 comments and by the end of the week we only receive (let’s say) 6 comments. I think it’s very important that a blogger interacts with his/her viewers.

I started book blogging because I want to have my own place to talk about books AND to talk my love of books with other book lovers! I adore all blogs but for the bloggers who often comments back have a very very very special place in my heart. I’m less likely to visit a blog that has a blogger who rarely interacts with his/her audience because I feel like I’m talking to myself.

Well… if you enjoy commenting or you comment a lot and respond to your comments…there is this amazing group for you created by the wonderful Alise over at Readers in Wonderland. Alise came up with an amazing idea called Commenting Back. Commenting Back is a group just for those people who replies back to his/her comments AND visits the blogger’s website to leave a comment in return. I love this idea. Enough said.  

 

30 Responses to “Commenting Back”


  1. 1 Kaitlin Snider August 20, 2013 at 11:39 PM

    I love it when someone comments on my blog, especially when it’s meaningful and positive. It makes my day brighter. 🙂

    I’m going to look into this Commenting Back thing now.

  2. 3 Hazel @ staybookish August 21, 2013 at 12:02 AM

    Same! Comments really make me happy, especially meaningful ones. Interaction is real important in book blogging- in fact, I think it’s one of the main purposes of this hobby/job. I still visit blogs who don’t leave comments back, but I so so so appreciate those who do. (You’re one of those people, Leigh!) I love the idea of Commenting Back too! 😀

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 21, 2013 at 12:38 AM

      Me too! I visit blogs who doesn’t comment back too but not as much as those who comments back. I appreciate it too, and I wanna give all those who comment often a thousand books (if only..sigh). Aww glad to know 😀 I really try my best to comment back but lately my laptop won’t let me comment on blogs on Blogger b/c the Blogger comment thingy crashed.

  3. 5 Shannelle (The Tracery of Ink) August 21, 2013 at 1:31 AM

    I love getting comments, especially when they’re just funny or talked about this detail that the others didn’t mention at all. :3

  4. 6 Francoise August 21, 2013 at 1:43 AM

    Yeah it always makes your day when someone comments. This sounds like a really great idea!

  5. 7 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence August 21, 2013 at 2:13 AM

    Oooh thanks for sharing Leigh, I really appreciate the work that some bloggers put in to commenting back to other blogs and replying to their own comments too. This group sounds like the perfect way to talk to bloggers who feel the same!

  6. 8 Lanaia August 21, 2013 at 2:36 AM

    I like to leave my comments on other blogs, I feel like I always have something to say lol 🙂 And of course it’s a great feeling when that person comments back, especially if it’s a meaningful comment. I always visit back when someone comments me and I follow their blog too, if I like it (which is very often – I have so many blogs to check out daily!).

  7. 9 Asti (A Bookish Heart) August 21, 2013 at 5:37 AM

    I saw this group pop up earlier on someone’s else blogs (I think I spotted the button?)! I do like this idea. I made it a priority to always respond to comments on my blog and attempt to respond back to comments on others. Unfortunately, that’s not something I can guarantee so therefore I wouldn’t feel comfortable joining this group. I always always always respond to every comment on my blog, but stopping by the other person’s blog and commenting can take so much time, especially when you get 30 comments a day. Then there’s no time for me to look at any discussion posts or anything else that’s in my feed reader, and I just want to smash my head into a wall. I am back into the habit now, but once my university starts in September, it just won’t be something I can do. I hate it though because I don’t want people to think I don’t like their blog back. Sometimes it’s just hard keeping up with your own blog ><

  8. 10 lindseysurratt August 21, 2013 at 8:21 AM

    Same here, that little orange button that reveals that someone took the time to comment on my blog automatically brings a smile to my face. I always reply to every comment on my blog and make the effort to go to their blog and comment even if it’s something as small as “Great post!” that way they know I’ve been there. 🙂

  9. 11 Meggy (Adrift on Vulcan) August 21, 2013 at 6:16 PM

    Such a fab idea! I always try to do the same – or AT LEAST visit and comment on the other person’s blog if my time is limited – so I definitely support this course of action. 🙂 I think it would make the blogosphere a much friendlier place. Too bad I never found out the importance of interacting with my readers until MUCH later. So I’m glad the bloggers over at Readers in Wonderland are doing this!

  10. 12 Charlotte August 22, 2013 at 1:59 AM

    I think this group is a great idea and bloggers should always strive to comment back and visit the commenter’s blog as well. However I’m not the best at this haha, I do try to but sometimes life gets in the way and I don’t D; or I can’t find anything to say because the posts are reviews of books that are sequels, not a fan of and so on.

  11. 13 ChrissiReads August 22, 2013 at 1:05 PM

    What a great idea! I love getting comments too, and I always try to comment back, even if it takes me a few days. I try to go to the person’s blog as well and comment somewhere. I’ve found loads of new blogs this way. 🙂

  12. 14 readerswonderland August 23, 2013 at 6:20 PM

    Thank you SO much for making a post about this 😀

  13. 16 cfiel25 August 25, 2013 at 7:01 AM

    Great post, Leigh! If I have enough time, I reply to all the comments on my blog and visit all the blogs of those who commented and reciprocate. It’s just hard sometimes that when I go visit them, they don’t have a post that I can comment with. So what I do is comment on their About Me section. :C

    If I only have a limited time then I skip the commenting and head directly to the commenter’s blog and reciprocate the comment. It’s still win-win for the both of us.

  14. 17 Lisa (Lost in Literature) August 25, 2013 at 9:10 AM

    I love comments too. They make me feel good. 🙂 I always try to comment back to people who comment on my blog. Great post!

  15. 18 Liz August 26, 2013 at 8:28 AM

    I thought that it would be bother ironic and awesome to comment on a blog post about commenting. It would be even more crazy if the comment on your blog post about commenting caused you to comment. I would have to comment on that comment.

  16. 21 Sara (of The Page Sage) August 29, 2013 at 9:30 PM

    While I sometimes have to put off commenting back during the school year (homework has to come first), I always comment back eventually. It’s the easiest way to show your appreciation for others’ comments and to spread some book bloggin’ love. Also, you may just find an amazing book blog to follow! 🙂

  17. 23 Mel@thedailyprophecy August 30, 2013 at 3:06 PM

    Comments are the best. I don’t really care for stats, but comments always make me happy 😀

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  18. 25 Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews) October 22, 2014 at 6:55 PM

    I joined….love that list. 🙂

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  19. 26 Euphonos October 23, 2014 at 6:40 PM

    Very true. I feel special too. I stumbled over yours while checking out the post on readerswonderland 🙂

  20. 27 Shiva Acharya June 25, 2015 at 11:08 AM

    Yes. I always feel happy to read comments on my blog. Interaction makes blogging more exciting. 🙂


  1. 1 Bloggin’ Recap | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm Trackback on August 25, 2013 at 10:22 PM
  2. 2 Bloggin' Recap | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater Trackback on March 14, 2014 at 8:12 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,500 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

