Review: Mortality (The Hitchhiker Strain #1) by Kellie Sheridan

Mortality (The Hitchhiker Strain, #1) Genre: YA Horror
Published: March 19, 2013 by Patchwork Press
Series: #1 (The Hitchhiker Strain)
Length: 271 pages
Source: Patchwork Press (ARC)

After surviving a deadly plague outbreak, sixteen-year-old Savannah thought she had lived through the very worst of human history. There was no way to know that the miracle vaccine would put everyone at risk for a fate worse than un-death.

Now, two very different kinds of infected walk the Earth, intent on nothing but feeding and destroying what little remains of civilization. When the inoculated are bitten, infection means watching on in silent horror as self-control disappears and the idea of feasting on loved ones becomes increasingly hard to ignore.

Starving and forced to live inside of the abandoned high school, all Savannah wants is the chance to fight back. When a strange boy arrives with a plan to set everything right, she gets her chance. Meeting Cole changes everything. Mere survival will never be enough.”

review

Mortality was a good read. There’s an alternating viewpoint between our two main characters, Savannah and Zarah. I was really curious whether these two characters are related to one another, and that made me keep on reading. They’re both teenagers trying to survive the zombie craze, and finding out more about the cure being made. They were an “okay” characters. Savannah made some bad decisions, but I love how she actually wants to correct them. She doesn’t just say “sorry”; she finds a way to make them right. I liked Savanna’s character more than Zarah. I couldn’t really connect with Zarah maybe because there were more chapters on Savannah than Zarah’s. I feel like she’s just another character in a book. What I didn’t like about these two characters was that they trust so easily! They meet 2 random guys (Cole & Liam) and they took off with them. The supporting characters were alright. They were relatable at some point, but I hate how Alex (Savanna’s friend/classmate/crush) is such a coward.

What makes Mortality a different zombie book is that we also get to read from a zombie’s perspective. This was also a different read for me because there was hardly any bloody & gory scenes, unfortunately. I love reading zombie books filled with action, excitement, bloody scenes, and characters who are about to flip out & panic because they couldn’t handle the craziness anymore. The characters in this book seems like seeing a zombie is like seeing clouds.. meaning seeing a zombie passing by is normal. The decisions that they made were just bad and it was as if it wasn’t a big deal.

What I didn’t like is that Savannah and Zarah sounded alike and if the chapters didn’t have their name, I wouldn’t know which one was telling the story. I was also a little bit confused about the 1st zombie wave and the 2nd zombie wave. Why are there two waves? What happened between the two waves? There are still unanswered questions since it’s a series. Hopefully some of my questions will be answered in the next book. Overall I still enjoyed reading Mortality. The writing style was smooth and wasn’t choppy. I would recommend this if you want to read a zombie book that doesn’t have a lot of blood in it.

3.5 of 5

15 Responses to “Review: Mortality (The Hitchhiker Strain #1) by Kellie Sheridan”


  1. 1 Francoise August 24, 2013 at 3:19 AM

    This sounds like a really creepy story. I’ve never read a zombie book and I think that the zombie genre is becoming popular but not really in the book world. What with The Walking Dead and World Ward Z and everything.

  2. 3 readerswonderland August 24, 2013 at 12:24 PM

    Ah, zombies. I never really got into that but it is interesting. I like the cover on this one. It’s tough when the two MC have a similar voice and you have to try and guess who the narrator is. Maybe there will be more violence in the second book? 😛

  3. 5 Sarah August 24, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    I downloaded this book awhile ago. I’ve heard great things about it! I need to read it for myself and see how I like it.

  4. 7 Kaitlin August 24, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    I like horror novels (not movies though), but I’m not big into zombies. Most of the books I read that included them in some way were pretty good, but I don’t get around to reading many of them.

    I like it when characters can be easily distinguished from one another, so it sounds like I would have the same issue with the POVs as you did.

  5. 9 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence August 24, 2013 at 3:01 PM

    Sounds like you enjoyed the read! I have this one on Netgalley and glad to hear that you enjoyed it. I always find zombie reads that aren’t bloody or gory kind of weird. I mean it is the zombie apocalypse after all. Have you read The First Days by Rhiannon Frater? I haven’t yet but she’s definitely one who doesn’t hold back on the blood and gore lol. Great review hun!

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 24, 2013 at 6:36 PM

      Yay I’ll read your review when it’s up. I’ve heard of the author (I think I signed up for one of her book tours or cover reveal) and omg yesss blood and gore are the best! Haha I’ll check out her books. Thank you!

  6. 11 Abbe Hinder August 24, 2013 at 3:05 PM

    Nice review! I love gory zombie books so I don’t think I’m going to read this one. Hopefully all your answers are i the sequel because that does sound confusing have two waves and not knowing what’s so special about them!

  7. 13 Megan (Ink Skies) August 24, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    I’m relieved this doesn’t sound like one of those typical zombie YA novels! It’s so cool that we get to see things from a zombie’s point of view, too. It kind of reminds me of The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, because apparently one chapter is from the perspective of one of the invading aliens. Still, sucks that the gore factor was lacking. If there’s one thing zombie books need, it’s lots and lots of gore. I’m a bit sick in the head. And too bad that Savannah and Zarah sounded so similar. Even their names do, too. Thanks for such a balanced and helpful review though!

    • 14 Leigh (LittleBookStar) August 25, 2013 at 12:04 AM

      Oh wow that’s really cool (about The 5th Wave)! I’ve read a couple of reviews on it, but the reviews didn’t mention that one of the p.o.v. is from an invading alien. Now I really want to read it!! Yeah lol I like my zombie books bloody and full of gore too 🙂 I think the Walking Dead has to do with it. Thanks for stopping by, Megan!

  8. 15 brandileigh2003 August 30, 2013 at 7:48 AM

    What a creepy cover! I love dual perspectives so I def need to look into this one more


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

