{Tour Stop} The Wild Wood by Julie Anne Nelson – Review + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Buy Link: Amazon

Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: June 23, 2012 by Young Mountain Publishing
Series: Volume #1
Length: 298 pages
Source: (author) review copy

In the town of Dunlowe, being different can be deadly. No one knows this better than the seven girls born on the exact same day, at the exact same time. From birth, they’ve been feared, judged, and controlled. And yet, still loved by their families. Still hoping for a future. Still believing that acceptance would one day come. As their seventeenth birthday approaches, events occur that leave Cecily Daye and the other girls grasping with the possibility that their oppressors might have been right about them all along. Maybe they are as evil as the town has believed. But without an answer, they must make a choice when the town turns on them: to die or to run to the one place no person would follow – they must enter The Wild Wood.”

review

The Wild Wood by Julie Anne Nelson was a very interesting read. The story starts off with Cecily who lives in a town where it is believed that the sevens (7 girls who were born on the same day & time) were evil. Cecily is one of them, and as her and the other six’s 17th birthday draws near, the people begins to feel more frightened. I really like how the book started off. It has a cult vibe and while I was reading it, I could picture the scenes like a movie in my head. There’s a place in the book called Wild Wood which intrigued me, and that made me keep on reading.

I really like the characters in this book especially our main character Cecily. I love how she changed from the beginning to the end. She was shy at first and was even nicknamed as “chicken” by her significant other (how nice of him *sarcasm*), but towards the middle to the end of the book, she gained confidence. She acted as a leader to the other six which I did not see coming at all. I like how she got out of her comfort zone. The other character that I liked was Dusty, Cecily’s brother. He also changed from the beginning to the end of the book. For me, he represents the people’s opinions. While a part of him senses that her sister and the others are evil, a part of him also believes that they are not. Throughout the book, we’ll see him constantly changing his mind whether or not he should side with the people or his sister who is known as evil.

Although I enjoyed parts of the book (especially the first half), there were some parts that I did not really enjoyed. I did not like how the first half of the book that had a cult vibe transitioned into a fantasy aspect. I just thought the transition was kind of weird, and it felt like it was a whole new different story.  I wish the supporting characters were given a louder voice; the sisters and other characters were really interesting, but I thought weren’t given a loud and distinct voice. They sounded a bit the same at times. I also wish that the Wild Wood was ‘magical’ or ‘intriguing’ as I thought it would be. When I found out what it was and why it was special, I was like “ohh that’s it?”.

Overall it was an okay/good read! I’m looking forward to read the sequel and would recommend it if you’re up for a book with cults and fantasy elements. If you like a protagonist that changes throughout the book, then I suggest you pick this one up!

3 of 5

giveaway

1 Signed Copy of The Wild Wood & Gift Card (INTL)

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

2 Responses to “{Tour Stop} The Wild Wood by Julie Anne Nelson – Review + Giveaway”


  1. 1 becca September 10, 2013 at 3:54 PM

    Glad Wild Wood was vivid for you — enough so that you could picture scenes like you would a movie. I’d be frustrated if the secondary characters, like the sisters, weren’t very distinct. Not sure this one is for me, though, with the cult-vibe. Great review 😀

  2. 2 Kaitlin September 12, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    I haven’t read many books with cults, so it would be great to try something like that! Thanks for the giveaway, Leigh. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,519 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

