Who’s Your Audience? {Discuss #3}

discuss

I have ALWAYS wondered if a non-bookblogger visits the blogosphere. When I first started blogging, my audience for reviewing books was me. Me, me, me. Because that’s why I started this blog on the first place! I wanted my own place to put my thoughts and hopefully someone will talk about it with me. But, now it kind of changed (just a little bit though). I still blog for myself, it is still a hobby, but while I’m typing down my review, I also think of my audience.

The question is, who’s your audience? WHO do you blog for? While you’re composing a review, do you ONLY think of other bloggy reviewers? Do you imagine if your bloggy friends will end up liking/disliking the book you’re reviewing? (Of course I do!) BUT do you also think about people who does not blog, does not have a Goodreads account.. people who are students, teachers, your parents errr.. OTHER parents.. HEY! You never know!

Have you ever had a non-blogger comment on your blog? I haven’t! I’m interested in what you think. Comment your thoughts.

This is part of the Let’s Discuss meme hosted by Oh, Chrys! and Fiction Conniption.

21 Responses to “Who’s Your Audience? {Discuss #3}”


  1. 1 Francoise September 12, 2013 at 1:09 AM

    Ya know I think that’s one of my biggest questions about blogging. Do non-bloggers read blogs? I personally think that if you’re not already a part of the blogosphere I don’t think there is much knowledge about it. I mainly blog out of my enjoyment but of course I love having an audience and receiving comments.
    Great discussions!

  2. 2 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence September 12, 2013 at 1:14 AM

    This is a great discussion point Leigh, I actually have had non bloggers comment every now and then which is a bit of a treat! I think I have a lot of readers that are non-bloggers, which is why sometimes I get lots of views but not many comments. I blog for myself, and to share an honest opinion with my readers.

  3. 4 Lizzy's Dark Fiction September 12, 2013 at 2:08 AM

    I think that there are non-bloggers that read my blog, but they don’t leave comments often.

    I know two people in RL that follow my blog but never comment. And then I have other people that follow on Goodreads and not my blog.

    But when I write my reviews, I try to specify who I think will like the book. Since I review various age levels, I make sure to mention if I think adults will like this MG book I just read and also warn younger readers away from books with graphic sex scenes.

  4. 5 Shannelle (The Tracery of Ink) September 12, 2013 at 5:45 AM

    I don’t think I’ve ever encountered a non-blogger, except my friend who stops by one the blog. Which sucks . . . because there’s one person who knows some of my most private thoughts. But when I write, I don’t ever think of audiences. I just write.

  5. 6 Jennifer | Book Den September 12, 2013 at 6:16 AM

    There are non-bloggers who do read blogs. I mostly see them pop up during giveaways. I have had a lot of non-bloggers comment when authors have shared my review on their facebook page. Those weren’t regular visitors, but they did leave comments. I also have regular readers who don’t blog follow me on twitter so they are definitely out there.

    When I first started blogging, I reviewed as though my audience was unfamiliar with the book I was reviewing. I wish I still did that. It’s so easy to get in the habit of assuming my audience already knows everything about all the books (since they are mostly book bloggers themselves).

  6. 7 Jessica September 12, 2013 at 9:00 AM

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a non-blogger comment on my blog, but I was one of those non-bloggers reading blogs for about three years before I started mine. So, yeah! I think non-bloggers read blogs, I just don’t think they comment often. I don’t really think of my audience when writing posts, I just think what I would want to read and go from there. I just hope that others want to read what I would! 🙂 Great topic!

  7. 8 Sarah @ Kitties Like Books Too September 12, 2013 at 3:47 PM

    Oh boy, I’m hoping NOT my parents… They’ll realize just how twisted a reader I am! I do think of who my blog readers are… I think the majority of them are reviewers just like me. 🙂

    Sarah @ Kitties Like Books Too

  8. 9 Kaitlin September 12, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    Before I was a blogger, I did read blogs. Not very often, and I didn’t comment on a whole lot of them. But there’s blogs I’ve been following through GFC and/or email as early as December 2011 when I first created a blogger account. So I do believe there’s a few non-bookbloggers out there that read my blog. Blogging has pushed me to interact more with those I was previously following and further to ones I probably would never have heard of if I never became an active blogger.

  9. 10 mvthebookbabe September 12, 2013 at 6:52 PM

    Yes, I have had a non-blogger comment on my blog before, but like you said it’s a really weird-type occurrence. (Well, you didn’t really say that but I read between the lines) I assume that there must be people that aren’t bloggers that follow blogs– speaking of which, I actually have a non-blogger friend that I met through my blog. So, yes. But I wonder how many people that follow my blog are bloggers versus how many are. Maybe 1/3 aren’t? I’m probably overestimating….jeez. Now you’re really making me think, girlfriend! Love your topic! 😀

  10. 12 Charlotte September 13, 2013 at 3:00 AM

    Yikes! When I started blogging, I was in a way like you, Leigh. I started my blog because I just want to track my progress when it comes to reading and be refreshed of my impression of the books that I’ve read over the course of years. But as I got more and more immersed into the beautiful world of book blogging, I realized that it is more worthwhile if you’re not just blogging for yourself but you’re also imparting something important to your potential readers. That they in turn could teach you a lesson or two. And thus, started my journey to improve my blog not just for my self-satisfaction but for my potential readers as well.

    Right now, most of my audience are fellow bloggers and a fraction of authors. But I am aiming to reach out to those who aren’t bloggers. It’s also one of the reasons why I strive hard to not curse on my blog (apart from putting it on my resume) because I am hoping that one day, non-blogger students, teachers, friends, and even my family would read and enjoy it. And I am looking forward to the day that a non-blogger would comment on my blog. That would be the day!

  11. 13 DreWolf @ Sporadic Reads September 14, 2013 at 2:42 AM

    This is an interesting question, who do I blog for? I actually started my book review blog because I wanted to share my thoughts about the books I read. Sharing is caring. I would hope that by reading my mini reviews, someone would be compelled to read a book. But mostly, I do it because it makes me happy.

  12. 14 Jenna @ Rather Be Reading YA September 15, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    I don’t think of non-bloggers about reading my blog because I didn’t read blogs before starting my own. But I’m sure there are a lot who do! I follow some cooking blogs and I don’t have a cooking blog, so there must be non-bloggers who follow book blogs too. I think they’re more likely to find the bigger, more well-known blogs. Those are just more visible.

    My primary audience is myself. I’m always happy (and surprised!) when I get comments and even pageviews, but I never expect to get them and I don’t think about other people reading a certain post when I’m writing it (unless it’s something like a discussion post and I’m asking questions).

  13. 15 becca September 15, 2013 at 12:23 PM

    I used to have non-bloggers comment on my blog, but I think they’re bloggers now, or they post on a collaborative blog. Or, they’ve turned into self-pub authors, which is fun 🙂 I do think their opinion (a non-blogger) matters more to me when they critique my blog. If they like a particular meme, I’m more apt to do it again because they’re stopping by my blog because they truly love it, not just because I’m their blogger friend or they’re commenting back. Which is true internet dedication! And I love them for it. Wherever they are 🙂

  14. 16 Melissa @ Book Nerd Reviews September 17, 2013 at 1:23 AM

    Hi Leigh!

    Love this topic. 😀 Initally when I first started blogging, it was really just for myself. I didn’t think anyone would even be interested in visiting my blog, but after a while it started getting returning visitors, and I naturally think once you know others are reading you want to try and reach out to those people more and more. So over time, my posts were directed to my readers.

    And currently it’s still directed towards my readers, but I am trying to engage them to comment and actually participate in discussion – because I love discussing things like this with others!! 😀

    Mel

  15. 17 Reem @ I Read And Tell September 18, 2013 at 5:56 AM

    I think the question is, what do I blog about? I’m not going to pretend that my blog is mainly reviews. That’s hardly true. My discussion posts far outnumber the reviews. This means that I like feedback from anyone that stumbles on my blog. I do have a few names in mind (like you, ’cause you’re an awesome commenter) when I write a post because I know the things that would make them laugh or really get to them, you know?

    I don’t think non book bloggers read my blog. Like, ever. Or if they do, probably they don’t comment. Maybe that’s why I never notice them. But to answer your question, I write posts for my regular readers as well as the new ones.

  16. 18 Sophia Lin (@SophiWaterheart) October 4, 2013 at 4:27 AM

    I definitely have a few of my friends who drop a comment and aren’t bloggers, but I don’t usually blog for myself most of the time.
    Okay, I do. Just my thoughts.


  1. 1 Bookish Recap: September 8th – 14th | A Bookish Heart Trackback on January 20, 2014 at 1:00 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,507 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

