{Tour Stop} The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski – Review

Website | Goodreads

Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

The Paradox of Vertical Flight Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 24, 2013 by Greenwillow
Length: 272 pages
Source: Greenwillow (ARC)

What happens when you put a suicidal eighteen-year-old philosophy student, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend, and his newborn baby in a truck and send them to Grandma’s house? This debut novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Jay Asher.

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, philosophy student and high school senior Jack Polovsky is somewhat seriously thinking of suicide when his cell phone rings. Jack’s ex-girlfriend, Jess, has given birth, and Jack is the father. Jack hasn’t spoken with Jess in about nine months—and she wants him to see the baby before he is adopted. The new teenage father kidnaps the baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Wal-Mart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and the ex-girlfriend. As they head to Grandma’s house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates about Homer, Troy, Aristotle, the real Socrates, and the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. Funny, heart-wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fate, fatherhood, and myth.

review

Wow. This book is very unique in a good way! I knew from the start that this book is special. The Paradox of Vertical Flight is about Jack, an 18 year old, who could not believe that his ex-girlfriend, Jess, is giving birth and that he is the father. He decides to kidnap the baby, and they go through all of this adventures. It is told from Jack’s point of view and it is written in 1st person. What I love about this book is the author’s writing style. It flowed smoothly, and I felt like I was with the main characters throughout the novel. I also like how the story was realisitc yet it wasn’t. I hope that made sense lol. There were a lot of scenes where you could see it in real life, but the book as a whole was a metaphor for me which I thought was really cool. The author delivered his message very clear. What is the message? You would have to read the book to know. The same thing goes for the title.

The characters are just awesome. They are very witty especially Tommy, Jack’s best friend. The story revolves around Jack, Jess (his ex-girlfriend), Socrates (Jack and Jess’s newborn baby) and Tommy. While they go on this journey, they share to each other their beliefs and stories which I found very interesting. The person I can relate the most with was Jack. We have some similarities especially the way we think. In the book, he thinks a lot about the world, time, and a lot of philosophical ideas. Like Jack, I also think about how the world is etc. I won’t go into any details because that would be a spoiler. I think Jack is a very open minded person, but at times, he could really be immature which is okay! While Jack and Tommy are kind of like the goofballs in this book, Jess is the responsible and mature one. I picture her as Jack and Tommy’s alarm clock; she wakes them up to reality.

Overall I highly recommend you read this wonderful, and exciting novel. If you have those friends who literally  thinks nothing but parties and boys, I suggest you shove this book up to this face because it has a lot of life lessons especially about family, friends, and responsibilities with a touch of humor. Just kidding, don’t shove it to their face, but recommend it to them 😉

4.5 of 5

Advertisements

16 Responses to “{Tour Stop} The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski – Review”


  1. 1 becca September 16, 2013 at 4:07 PM

    This sounds really different! The main character steals his baby from his mother? But I love different. I’m really tired of reading the same-old, same-old plots, and so I would definitely look more into this one. Especially if the character is so strong like you said. Jack sounds like a perfect main character ;D

  2. 3 Janina (@Synchro_Reading) September 16, 2013 at 8:24 PM

    OMG, You had me hooked from he kidnapped his baby! I definitely want to give this a try. Considering this is my first time hearing about, I will definitely have to add this to my tbr 🙂 Great review Leigh!

    Janina @ Synchronized Reading

  3. 5 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence September 17, 2013 at 3:12 AM

    Sounds like a great book Leigh! I like how it’s dealing with a very real issue and from the point of view of a teenage boy too. Sounds like some fun characters to read about.

  4. 7 Francoise September 17, 2013 at 3:31 AM

    Sounds like an interesting book…very unique as you said. I don’t think I would ever pick up this book if it wasn’t for your review.

  5. 9 Kaitlin September 17, 2013 at 7:42 AM

    I want to read this book! This is the first I’ve heard of it, but now I’m incredibly curious about it. I just love these types of books. 🙂

  6. 11 boricuanworms September 17, 2013 at 4:57 PM

    The plost of this book sounds completely hilarious! I could totally imagine it as a movie! Great review! I would definitely read this because it sounds so different!

    -Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

  7. 13 Megan@The Book Babe September 17, 2013 at 5:21 PM

    Hehehe. *face shoving commences* I actually really wanna read this one, it sounds totally awesome. And if what you say about Jack is true, we have A LOT in common. I like to think about the world and how it works and what if it worked differently and would we really be more happy. LOL. Awesome review, girly! I hope that I get to read this. (:

  8. 15 Charlotte @ Gypsy Reviews September 18, 2013 at 7:07 AM

    I admit I was put off by the synopsis haha, it sounds all kinds of crazy I don’t want to step near but hearing about how there are messages hidden in the book and how enjoyable it is, has made me curious! Thanks for the great review 😀

  9. 16 Rachel @The Readers Den September 18, 2013 at 6:45 PM

    This sounds like an intriguing premise. I’m totally curious to see how this turns out and I hope everyone gets a happy ending. Great review! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

%d bloggers like this: