Review: Find Me by Romily Bernard

Find Me Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 24, 2013 by Harper Collins
Length: 320 pages
Source: Harper Collins (ARC)

When teen hacker and foster child Wick Tate finds a dead classmate’s diary on her front step, with a note reading “Find me,” she sets off on a perverse game of hide-and-seek to catch the killer. But things get even more personal as Wick’s deadbeat dad returns and the killer points to Wick’s sister Lily as the next target.

With the help of oh-so-cute hacker-boy-next-door Griff, can Wick find her tormenter and save her sister?”

review

Find Me by Romily Bernard is such a wonderful and thrilling read! I was hooked on since the first page till the very last. I read this book without knowing anything about the book except that the female protagonist, Wick, is computer hacker. At the beginning, I thought the story was only going to be about Wick and her sister (Lily) trying to escape from their abusive father, but there is a plot twist! The writing style is really good. I could picture the scenes very easily and all of the characters are different from each other so it was easy to remember who was who.

Wick Tate is such a strong and cool protagonist. She is very responsible and she fulfills the her parents’ duties for her sister Lily. She is such a relatable character, and I could see myself sometimes in her since I am also a sister. She loves Lily very much, and she does her best to protect her from their father and the killer. I also like Lauren’s character, Wick’s best friend. Though she did not support Wick’s occupation at first, she eventually supports her and keeps it a secret WHICH IS WHAT BEST FRIENDS SHOULD DO! not backstab…

There is also a little bit of romance in the book which I had a love-hate relationship with. There is this one scene in the book where Griff, Wick’s love interest, does something to Wick and I was like “wth? I wouldn’t have a relationship with that guy. That was rude”. I found their relationship cute at times though. I’m just glad it did not take over the plot.

Overall this book is a must read! It has suspense, mystery, and action! I highly recommend this to those who love YA mystery books. I think this book is a perfect read during the winter season or a gloomy day just because it adds more spook when you’re reading it.

4 of 5

15 Responses to “Review: Find Me by Romily Bernard”


  1. 1 Nara September 28, 2013 at 8:13 PM

    This book sounds so awesome. I think I was sucked in at “computer hacker” haha. It’s great that the mystery/suspense was done well! And thank god the romance doesn’t take over, I’ve seen many a mystery ruined by an inappropriately dominant romance. I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews of this title, but I think I’ll probably still give it a go 🙂

  2. 3 Charlotte September 29, 2013 at 8:09 AM

    Hmm I have heard that the romance is a little weird and some found it strange that it was even there. But I’m glad you liked it and yay for twists! Though I just hope I won’t see it coming… haha xD

    Will check this one out at the library if I see it, great review Leigh!

  3. 5 Alise September 29, 2013 at 3:47 PM

    I’m glad this one caught your attention and kept it, I have books with slow beginnings because I usually end up DNFing them. The romance sounds a bit wishy washy but it’s great that it didn’t take over the entire story.

  4. 6 thereadingpanda September 29, 2013 at 7:11 PM

    Seems really interesting and the cover is really cool. Will definitely have to find a copy somewhere 😀

  5. 7 Francoise September 29, 2013 at 11:14 PM

    The concept for this book seems interesting. I’ll definitely have to read it one day. Great review.

  6. 8 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence September 29, 2013 at 11:47 PM

    I love spooky books especially when they are YA! I love the whole hacker theme of this book too. Great review Leigh, the best friend sounds awesome 🙂

  7. 9 Becca @ Nawanda Files September 30, 2013 at 9:43 AM

    I love that you loved this one! I can’t wait to read the sequel. And I agree that the romance was probably the only weak spot. I really liked Griff, but I wanted to know more.

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) October 1, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Yeah, maybe in the next book we’ll know more about Griff. Since you read it, I’ll tell you what the ‘scene’ I was talking about. I didn’t like how he pushed her in the pool. I was like “dude, you don’t do that to a girl you like!”

  8. 11 Paulina September 30, 2013 at 12:46 PM

    Wow the cover! Love it. I love that you loved the book hehe. I really want to read the book now 😛

  9. 13 Wattle October 1, 2013 at 4:40 AM

    Your review has me curious about this book, it sounds intriguing. Definitely going on my TBR list 🙂

  10. 15 Delaney October 6, 2013 at 1:35 PM

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I haven’t seen this one around but the fact that the main character is a hacker is definitely a win for me…considering I suck at technology. XD But I’m glad the romance didn’t take over the book. Ugh! I hate it when it does! It was just so random in the synopsis when it said the cute guy next door helping I was just thinking that was random to put in. I’m also glad that the main character is very relatable. That is always the best. ❤

    Glad you enjoyed this read, Leigh! ^^


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

