Review: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Published: August 28, 2007 by Ember
Length: 183 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes and Noble)

“It all starts when Nick asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. He only needs five minutes to avoid his ex-girlfriend, who’s just walked in to his band’s show. With a new guy. And then, with one kiss, Nick and Norah are off on an adventure set against the backdrop of New York City—and smack in the middle of all the joy, anxiety, confusion, and excitement of a first date.

This he said/she said romance told by YA stars Rachel Cohn and David Levithan is a sexy, funny roller coaster of a story about one date over one very long night, with two teenagers, both recovering from broken hearts, who are just trying to figure out who they want to be—and where the next great band is playing.

Told in alternating chapters, teeming with music references, humor, angst, and endearing side characters, this is a love story you’ll wish were your very own. Working together for the first time, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have combined forces to create a book that is sure to grab readers of all ages and never let them go.

review

I was expecting a cute read about a couple that has something to do with music NOT two people cussing on every page, if not, EVERY OTHER PAGE. That got me irritated a bit. Cussing isn’t necessary and that made me dislike the characters a bit. The story’s “okay”. It isn’t a story that I’ll remember till I turn.. let’s say.. 80. The story is told from Nick & Norah’s point of view. It alternates throughout the book, and honestly, I couldn’t tell them apart. They sound so alike which made me confused at times on who was telling the story. I like how the supporting characters had their own distinct voice though.

This book only focuses on Nick & Norah’s first date. The spotlight’s on THEM. Only them them them which made me kind of bored a bit and this book isn’t even that long. I like how they both like music and bands though. Nick is actually part of a band which is called The Fuck Offs. He loves to write songs, and the songs that he wrote are really good. Even though I was just reading it off a page, I could imagine how the song sounded etc.

Overall it was an “okay” book. I think it could have been better. The characters weren’t just appealing to me and the story was kind of flat. I’d recommend it if you don’t mind having cuss words thrown at you every other page or if you’d like to read a story about a break up and meeting a new person and their 1st date adventure.

3 of 5

14 Responses to “Review: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan”


  1. 1 Lesley Marie October 7, 2013 at 6:02 PM

    Meh. This book sounds pretty meh. And wow, cussing on every page? I’m okay with cussing, but if it gets too redundant then I am out. Besides, the romance/date story sounds very bland and uninteresting.

    LOL! The Fuck Offs. Such of a… interesting… band name.

    Great review!

  2. 3 Shannelle (The Tracery of Ink) October 8, 2013 at 6:42 AM

    I read Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, and it was written by the same authors. And no matter how many collabs they’ve worked on, it’s like the only thing they’ve ever done well is create great ideas for books, but not great books.

  3. 5 Sapir October 8, 2013 at 11:52 AM

    I’m sorry you didn’t like it!! I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book and about the movie but I guess not every book works for everyone and that’s okay!!

    I usually appreciate alternating POVs but here it sounds like they weren’t done well.

    Thanks for sharing this review. I will take it into consideration before I pick this book up!!

    Sapir @ Diary of a Wimpy Teen Girl

    BTW – I love your blog!!! I’m a new follower via Bloglovin 🙂

    • 6 Leigh (LittleBookStar) October 8, 2013 at 1:23 PM

      I hope the movie does justice! I’d have to watch that soon. Yeah I like POVs too, but this one was ‘ehhh’. If you read it though, I hope you end up liking it. And aww thank you! I’ll visit your blog right now.

  4. 7 Emily October 8, 2013 at 9:08 PM

    Eeep >< I hate it when characters cuss at EVERY SINGLE page!! It's annoying and kind of freaky, like I'm bombarded with bombs of horrid words…
    Hmmm… I'm sorry you didn't enjoy this one 😦 I do hope you'll find something better that you'll enjoy along the way!! 🙂
    Sometimes the synopsis can be so misleading, isn't it?
    But all in all, great review, Leigh! 😀

  5. 9 Dre @ Sporadic Reads October 9, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    I liked this book, I guess, if you overlook the cussing, it was actually a good story.

  6. 10 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence October 11, 2013 at 5:13 AM

    LOL the cussing sounds over the top and kind of funny! Sounds…interesting.

  7. 11 Kaitlin October 12, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    Have you seen the movie for this? I really liked it. I haven’t read this book, and I’ve never been terribly interesting in doing so because it’s so short. I’m actually a little relieved to hear it’s not a fantastic book. At least I’m not missing out on a lot. 🙂

  8. 13 Delaney October 16, 2013 at 8:36 PM

    I don’t know…I shall have to contradict you on your opinions though I FULLY respect your opinions. But still there were those beautiful little moments and the fact that meeting someone and falling for someone takes time and lots of heartaches and heartbreaks until you find the right one. I think that was watch Cohn and Levithan were trying to pull off. But you’re right, maybe less cussing, though I didn’t mind.

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy much! TT ^ TT


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

