Review: Sick by Tom Leveen

Genre: YA Horror
Published: October 1, 2013 by ABRAMS
Length: 288 pages
Source: ABRAMS (ARC)

Brian and his friends are not part of the cool crowd. They’re the misfits and the troublemakers—the ones who jump their high school’s fence to skip class regularly. So when a deadly virus breaks out, they’re the only ones with a chance of surviving.
The virus turns Brian’s classmates and teachers into bloodthirsty attackers who don’t die easily. The whole school goes on lockdown, but Brian and his best friend, Chad, are safe (and stuck) in the theater department—far from Brian’s sister, Kenzie, and his ex-girlfriend with a panic attack problem, Laura. Brian and Chad, along with some of the theater kids Brian had never given the time of day before, decide to find the girls and bring them to the safety of the theater. But it won’t be easy, and it will test everything they thought they knew about themselves and their classmates. ”

review

This book was an okay read for me. I think it could have been way better though. Sick is about a disease that is spreading in Brian’s town including his school. It is written in 1st person point of view of Brian. I really wish the story was as kick ass as the book cover. It is said that this book is “The Breakfast Club meets Walking Dead”, but for me it was so-so. The characters wasn’t as hilarious as the characters in the Breakfast Club, and the zombies (a.k.a. monsters in the book) weren’t as scary and gory like the zombies in The Walking Dead.

I really love Brian’s personality though. I love how he always stayed positive, and told his classmates that they are going to make it. He is not a protagonist who easily gives up, and isn’t one of those annoying people during a zombie apocalypse. I also like his relationship with his sister, Mackenzie. He cares about her a lot, and he refuses to leave the school without her. The supporting characters were okay to me. They were ridiculously goofy sometimes that it got a bit annoying. They were trying to be funny, but it was a complete fail.

What I didn’t like about the book was that it is told as a “day-to-day” basis. Actually, it wasn’t day-to-day, it was hour-to-hour. Everything happened in one day which made it a slight boring read. Overall if you are really interested in this book, and want to read it, then go ahead! In my opinion though, it’s not one of the best zombie books out there.

3 of 5

13 Responses to “Review: Sick by Tom Leveen”


  1. 1 Oana October 13, 2013 at 1:34 AM

    It still sounds like a good read, and I really like zombie novels. So I might give it a try. I like that the main character is not annoying because this can spoil a story for me.
    Thanks for the honest review!

  2. 3 Strung Out On Books October 13, 2013 at 10:21 AM

    At first when I saw the cover, I was excited to check it out, but your review turned me off a bit. I hate it when the covers depict something the book isn’t. Anyway, thanks for sharing! Btw I’m sooo excited for the walking dead’ s premiere tonight!!

  3. 5 Joy @ Thoughts By J October 13, 2013 at 4:59 PM

    I was really looking forward to this book, it had such an interesting premise! Sorry that it didn’t work out for you. 😦 I’m pretty specific about zombie books too, so after reading your review, I might be giving this one a miss. The cover is gorgeous though!

  4. 7 Meggy (Adrift on Vulcan) October 14, 2013 at 3:37 AM

    Sorry that this was a little bit of a disappointment for you! I would’ve been really interested in it, too, because I’m a fan of zombie books, and pitching this as “The Breakfast Club meets The Walking Dead” is pretty high praise. But now that I’ve read your review, I don’t think I’ll be able to enjoy it much, either.

    The thing that’ll get to me the most is the day-to-day thing. I’m a pretty impatient reader — maybe that’s why my book amnesia’s so bad, it’s because I want to speed through my books >.< — so giving a detailed account of what happens every day, no, HOUR? The only good this book would do is put me to sleep even though I've had several cups of caffeine.

    I'm glad that Brian at least made up for it somewhat. It's awesome that you were able to connect and like him, since he's a guy and all. "I also like his relationship with his sister, Mackenzie. He cares about her a lot, and he refuses to leave the school without her.” — Yay for family in books! And lol, goofy characters? Like, were they like Goofy from Mickey Mouse? Too noisy and always getting themselves into trouble? xD

    Thanks for the helpful review, Leigh! SICK is an interesting book, I’m sure, but I don’t think I’ll like it much. I hope your next read is better!

  5. 9 Janina (@Synchro_Reading) October 14, 2013 at 12:02 PM

    I’ve been quite intrigued by this book, but haven’t seen to many reviews for it. You’re right though, it sounds like it could have been better. I’ve been wanting to read some kind of gory scary book! Maybe it’s cause Halloween is near lol Great review Leigh 🙂

    Janina @ Synchronized Reading

  6. 11 Jack October 15, 2013 at 8:40 AM

    This book looks awesome, I must admit. The cover is so cool! I’m not sure if I’ll read it though, as I haven’t heard the best of reviews. Everything happening in one day sounds kind of boring, I agree. More hesitant to read this now, but I still may give it a go. Thanks for the lovely review! 🙂

  7. 13 Alise October 15, 2013 at 7:19 PM

    I got this one for review as well and didn’t know what to expect. I’m glad you liked it, although now I am a bit hesitant because I really dislike day to day books, they can get a bit boring.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

