Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Boys #2) Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: September 17, 2013 by Scholastic, Inc.
Series: #2 (The Raven Cycle)
Length: 416 pages
Source: Scholastic, Inc. (ARC)

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after….”

review

Confusing. My reaction on the first 350 pages was “what the actual eff is happening?!”. Seriously. What did I just read? The blurb basically sums up what this book is about. It’s literally all about Ronan’s dreams, Gansey finding more about the ley line, and Blue wondering who her true love is. There are some new characters in this book, and I still do not understand what their relevance is to the story. I’m like “uhh hi, who are you?”. I felt like the supporting characters were intruders that randomly came in my house! I didn’t know who they were!  Ronan is an interesting character though, but I couldn’t really relate to him. He’s not really a memorable character for me (well all the characters in this book isn’t memorable for me).

The only thing I liked about The Dream Thieves is the ‘feel’ of the book. The atmosphere. I like how it’s written in 3rd person point of view because it gave that mysterious vibe while reading. I just didn’t like how it was so confusing and frustrating! The random switching of point of view DID NOT HELP AT ALL! The last 100 pages (maybe less than that) finally made sense which is not good because I should be able to understand the story from the beginning. Overall it’s a ‘blah’ book for me, and I would not re-read this again.

11 Responses to “Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater”


  1. 1 Ashtyn October 14, 2013 at 10:07 PM

    Ah, that sucks 😦 I hate when characters are hard to connect with; it makes it so hard to get into the book! I haven’t read the first one of this series and don’t know if I will. It seems like it’s a very hit or miss sort of story.

  2. 3 kezia1098 October 15, 2013 at 3:39 AM

    Aww I’m sorry you didn’t like this 😦 I have been reading so many raving reviews for this book I’m afraid my expectations will fly through the roof! It’s actually good to see a negative one. I dislike irrelevant side characters that doesn’t add anything to the plot/character development. I agree with you, especially if the character appears, do nothing, and just die meaninglessly later.

    But yay, at least there’s some things you liked in this book! I’m not sure why, usually I prefer 1st person POV but lately I’ve greatly enjoyed books written in 3rd person too! And the mysterious vibe, I guess it will make me curious while reading it despite all these sucky characters.

    I would still read this series anyway, I’m so curious whether I’ll like it or not hehe! But I truly hope your next read will be better! 😀 From your twitter feed it seems like you enjoyed The F-it List?? 😉

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) October 15, 2013 at 3:04 PM

      I know I feel like I am missing out cause a loooot of people loved this book and I didn’t. That is why I didn’t say ‘I don’t recommend it’ cause I know others will LOVE The Dream Thieves to death. I say give it a go cause you might end up loving it 🙂 and OMG HAHAHA THE F-IT LIST IS AMAAAAZING! I’m so excited to write my review on that one 😀

  3. 5 Emily October 15, 2013 at 4:14 AM

    I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy The Dream Thieves, Leigh 😦
    I’ve seen raving reviews everywhere, but it looks like I should be wary because there are certain parts of this novel that don’t really score the points!
    It’s really hard to like it if you’re confused and lost through the story >< And when you can't relate to the characters that really pulls it down too 😦
    But thanks for the honest review, Leigh! 😀 Seeing a negative review can really help to put things into perspective!!

  4. 7 Jack October 15, 2013 at 8:37 AM

    The atmosphere is the most important thing for me, in a book. The whole ‘feel’ as you’re reading the story. So at least The Dream Thieves had that. Sorry you didn’t like it overall, though. I don’t think it would be my kind of book either, and Tagts why I haven’t read it. Great review! 🙂

  5. 9 Delaney October 16, 2013 at 8:47 PM

    I don’t think I’m going to read this series, it’s just not for me. Hopefully your next read is much more enjoyable..say are you going to continue the series, unless it’s only 2 books…Anyways, have a wonderful day and keep reading! ^^

  6. 11 Charlotte October 17, 2013 at 10:19 PM

    I was really looking forward to read this series but I am now having doubts whether I will buy the first book or not especially that you gave this book a 2.5 star rating.

    I get you about the feels but if it’s Fantasy, I am certainly looking for more like fleshed out characters (which apparently this book do not have), world building and a tightly woven plot. 😀


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

