While Reading… {Discuss #6}

discuss

I’m so amazed by those who could eat, drink, watch t.v. while reading! How do you do it, yoouuu *points finger at you*. I’m one of those readers who gets distracted easily. I can’t listen to music while reading because I would end up singing along with the song; I can’t eat while reading especially if it’s chips like Cheetos because first of all I’ll get distracted, and second, I don’t want my fingers full of cheese getting on my book! For drinking, I like to drink Double Chocolatey Chip from Starbucks while reading, but I end up scooping the whip cream with the straw and eat it lol.

Basically I can’t do anything while reading 😦

How about you? Do you multitask while reading? How do you do it? Wanna teach me your ways?

25 Responses to “While Reading… {Discuss #6}”


  1. 1 yahalomi65 November 21, 2013 at 5:18 AM

    I hate to Multitask while reading

  2. 2 Chrissy November 21, 2013 at 6:23 AM

    If I didn’t multitask while reading I would never get any reading done. I read and fold laundry, read and wait in line at the store, read and get dinner ready for the kids, read while the kids watch their tv shows or play. You just have to keep trying until you get it. Sometimes you just have to do what you have to so you can get reading time in. 😉

  3. 5 Annie November 21, 2013 at 12:13 PM

    I can eat and drink while I read and to a certain extent, listen to music and watch tv too. In general, I don’t like to multitask though because I never end up reading as thoroughly when I’m doing other things with the exception of eating and drinking. And yum, Double Chocolately Chip! Haven’t had it but it sounds delicious! 🙂

  4. 6 booksallaround November 21, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    I don’t think I multitask, but whenever I have some minutes to spare (waiting for the water to boil, waiting in line…) I read. As for listening to music while reading, sometimes I do that, but my brain prioritizes the reading, and I completely forget about the music.

    • 7 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 21, 2013 at 5:26 PM

      Yeah I can read while waiting in line or when I’m in a boring class, but I can never watch my favorite movie and read at the same time or blog and read at the same time. For music, it’s realllyyyy hard for me because music almost always ends up winning and I end up dropping the book.

  5. 8 Kayla Sanchez November 21, 2013 at 1:47 PM

    I multitask, but only to a certain degree. If I’m listening to music, it’s either very soft music (Eisley, Mumford & Sons, or the Hunger Games soundtrack with the actual singers), or soundtracks like Ender’s Game, LOTR, or Avatar. As far as doing other things… It depends on the book! If I’m not too interested, I’ll have a tv show playing in the background.

  6. 10 Oana November 22, 2013 at 10:17 AM

    I don’t multitask either. Just like you, I can get easily distracted, especially by music. Well… I sometimes eat or drink, but that’s not really multitasking, is it? Paradoxically, though, I am perfectly able to read with other people in the room… people who talk or do other things. I can also read in means of transport, even if it’s very noisy. But, for the life of me, I’m not able to concentrate if the music is playing or the TV is on.

  7. 11 synchronizedreading November 23, 2013 at 2:00 PM

    I can listen to music while reading if I’m in the car waiting, but it has to be low. And I can’t watch TV and read for myself but I can if someone is watching the TV. I tune it out 🙂

  8. 13 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) November 23, 2013 at 2:36 PM

    Aha, I am exactly the opposite! I HAVE to be doing something while reading most of the time. Especially when I am eating, I feel like that is so unproductive (the mind of a college student) so I usually read while I eat, with one hand so nothing gets on the book haha. I have a really loud family too so I’m used to all the distractions and have learned to just ignore everything xD

  9. 15 Francoise November 24, 2013 at 2:18 AM

    It’s funny because I find listening to music easier, especially if you are in a crowded place because then all background noise is drowned out. I can sometimes eat but it can’t be messy otherwise it’ll get all over my book. I can’t watch TV otherwise I’ll get really distracted.

  10. 16 Mel@thedailyprophecy November 24, 2013 at 12:30 PM

    I can read probably anywhere, haha. I honestly don’t care what happens around me. Once I start reading, I’m in a complete different world. I think I even like reading with music more. I don’t like silence.

  11. 18 DoingDewey November 24, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    Eating and drinking is about all I can manage while reading. If there’s too much noise around I’ll switch to an audiobook so I can tune it all out 🙂

  12. 20 Christine @ The Bookish Daydreamer November 24, 2013 at 3:03 PM

    I don’t see how people can eat while reading either! I always see tweets in the morning of pictures of people’s breakfast, coffee, and book. HOW DO YOU DO IT? I can’t hold a book, read, and try to put food in my mouth all at the same time. I’m not that coordinated. I too don’t want crumbs all in my pages. Yuck!

  13. 22 Emily November 24, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    AHAHAHA! Actually I’m a multi-tasker reader *guilty as charged!!* But maybe it’s because I own an ereader, so it’s pretty easy to eat and read, but I can listen to music and still process what is going on in the novel, LOL! But the only thing I can’t do is read and watch TV, or I’ll be zoning one of the activities out totally sometimes 😛
    Haha, but maybe it’s a good thing you can’t multi-task as well 😉 That means you’ll be more focused!!

  14. 24 Nikki (@thepapersea) November 25, 2013 at 9:43 AM

    I don’t multi-task very much either—it’s too distracting! If I listen to music while I’m reading, it’s only classical or soundtracks, and usually on quite a low volume. I can eat and drink at the same time, but mostly because I use an e-reader so I don’t need to use both hands, and it still slows my reading down.

    It amazes me that people can go about their daily chores like doing the laundry while reading! I don’t have the mental capacity for that, haha.

  15. 25 alice-jane November 25, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    I can’t do much when I’m reading. I don’t eat or drink when I’m reading (what if I stain the pages?) I might listen to music sometimes, though.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,515 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

