Review Slumps {Discuss #8}

discuss

While there are reading slumps, there are the review slumps. What are review slumps? Well it’s when you’re not in the mood in writing a review and you keep putting it off. I’ve never had a review slump before; I had some lazy days, but I’ve never put off 3 reviews or more in a long period of time.

While I’m on Twitter, I see tweets from bloggers saying that they have 5 or 7 reviews to write and I’m like “oh no!”. So for those of you who had a review slump before, how did you get into it? For me, it’s really easy to write a review because once I finish a book, I immediately write my review and I’m almost always in the mood to write it. I also don’t have trouble writing a review for a book that I read a month or a year ago. I read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green last year and I still haven’t written a review on it, but I will someday. I still know the EXACT feels that I had for that book (I thought it was great but I didn’t love it).

20 Responses to “Review Slumps {Discuss #8}”


  1. 1 Kaitlin December 19, 2013 at 12:40 AM

    The reason behind my reviewing slumps: I actually don’t like to write. I never have. It’s just not something that I’ve enjoyed a lot, and it’s never been something that came really easy to me. So, that’s my biggest reason why I get into reading slumps. Also, I take a really long time writing a review, so oftentimes, I really don’t want to spend a whole lot of extra time right after I finish reading. Then I end up keep putting that review off.

    I do like reviewing books because I get to tell others what I thought of the book, but I don’t like the process of writing them all that much.

  2. 2 Beatrice December 19, 2013 at 1:34 AM

    I’m in a review slump at the moment and it sucks :/. I think I got into it a couple of weeks ago when I, for some reason, were unable to write the reviews directly after I had finished the books. I think it was because I had allegiant, fangirl, emerald Green and house of hades at home and just wanted to read read read, but anyway…right now I have about six reviews to write and I can’t get myself to do it. They just keep piling up and I usually need like 4-5 hours to write one review. Really discouraging 😦

  3. 3 Oana December 19, 2013 at 2:09 AM

    Oh… I always experience review slumps. I think the reason behind them is that I write every day. Yes, it sounds silly, but my job actually requires me to write 2 or 3 articles/reviews a day, and when I need to write a review for my own blog I’m like… “noooooo”. 😦 Fortunately, I have good memory and I can write a review after a couple of months without having any problems remembering the characters, action, and what I liked about the book. I always tell myself that I’m going to write more reviews at once and schedule them, but I’m never in the mood for such a complicated task. Lol.

  4. 5 Beatrice December 19, 2013 at 5:51 AM

    I’m in a review slump at the moment and it sucks :/. I think I got into it a couple of weeks ago when I, for some reason, were unable to write the reviews directly after I had finished the books. I think it was because I had allegiant, fangirl, emerald Green and house of hades at home and just wanted to read read read, but anyway…right now I have about six reviews to write and I can’t get myself to do it. They just keep piling up and I usually need like 4-5 hours to write one review. Really discouraging 😦

  5. 7 Beatrice December 19, 2013 at 9:23 AM

    Sorry, I accidentally posted my comment twice :/

  6. 8 Charlotte @ Thoughts and Pens December 19, 2013 at 9:23 AM

    I love this post because I’ve been on a reviewing slump these days. I lost my drive writing them and I just want to continue reading or doing other stuff that doesn’t involve racking my brains for the right words to describe the plot or the characters or the story’s prose. I feel like it’s getting too repetitive and my writing creativity has already been sucked dry. But I know that it’s going to be really bad if I can’t get past the slump.

    I still have a lot of ARCs that need reviewing and I just couldn’t ignore them because they’re a commitment. So what I am doing these days is to find inspirations to keep me going. These inspirations can be in the form of movie marathons, reading a lot of snarky negative reviews or creating fanarts. Surprisingly, the said strategies really work for me. They clear up my brain and I am able to write reviews again.

    And I get you about being able to write a review for books you’ve read months or years ago. I am like that too and when I started blogging this year, a lot of my first reviews were for books I’ve read 2-3 years ago.

    Great review, Leigh. And I must hurry, I still have to write a new review. *sighs*

  7. 11 Marie @ The Moody Reader December 19, 2013 at 7:50 PM

    I only have review slumps if its a book that I have mixed feelings with. I don’t know if I liked it or… hated it. I hate writing reviews when I know my rating is in between, like 3 stars. It’s just I’m like lost in words. But I tend to like longer review if it’s a 5 star book for me, I always get carried away. πŸ˜€

    And I don’t always immediately write a review after reading a book. I always wait 1 or 2 days before writing it.

    • 12 Leigh (LittleBookStar) December 20, 2013 at 3:40 PM

      I totally understand you. I also don’t like writing 3 starred reviews. It’s just easier for me to write a review when I loved a book because the words (especially adjectives) will just start flowing right out of my brain hehe.

  8. 13 Hazel @ Stay Bookish December 20, 2013 at 9:31 AM

    I envy how writing reviews is so easy for you, Leigh! I’ve never been a writer, I’m more of a reader really, so I have trouble writing reviews most of the time. I’m always putting off reviews because a) I want to read another book instead of review the previous one I finished b) There are no words c) I’m terribly lazy d) I’m not in the mood. Great discussion, Leigh! πŸ™‚

  9. 15 samjaymc December 22, 2013 at 10:26 AM

    The way I got myself out of a HUGE reading slump was to change the way I reviewed. Basically, now a days, my reviews are usually lists of the things I liked, loved and didn’t like.

    • 16 Leigh (LittleBookStar) December 23, 2013 at 10:59 PM

      I’ve thought about this too, but I always end up writing in paragraph form lol. I really like reading reviews that are straight to the point. I want the exact feels that the reader had for the book, and reviews that doesn’t have summaries + spoilers.

  10. 17 theseaofpages December 22, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    Whenever I read a book I REALLY like I always feel slightly discombobulated and wait to write it but because I have horrible memory writing the review becomes a little hard. I try to write notes right after I finish a book. Usually they have the things I liked and what I disliked. Sometimes I’m just lazy and that leads to a slump and then BAM I have all these reviews to write. I’m trying to get better at writing reviews right away.

    • 18 Leigh (LittleBookStar) December 23, 2013 at 10:58 PM

      For me, I remember all of the ‘feels’ that I had while I was reading the book, but when it’s time to write the review, I blank out on the characters’ names. It’s really weird! I would be like “who were the characters again?” even though I literally just finished. I take notes too by putting it as my Goodreads status.

  11. 19 Jasmine @ Flip That Page December 23, 2013 at 12:35 AM

    Well it’s nice to know that this is a slump you never get πŸ˜€ As for me, I’ve always enjoyed sharing thoughts, but writing reviews can get stressful sometimes, especially when I’m finding it especially hard to find the right words to convey my feelings.But other than that, all is well!


  1. 1 Bookish Recap: December 15th – 21st | A Bookish Heart Trackback on December 22, 2013 at 7:06 AM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

