Review: Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead

345627 Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: August 16, 2007 by RazorBill
Series: #1 (Vampire Academy)
Length: 332 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes and Noble)

St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them. Rose Hathaway is a Dhampir, a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi Vampire Princess. They’ve been on the run, but now they’re being dragged back to St. Vladimir’s—the very place where they’re most in danger…

Rose and Lissa become enmeshed in forbidden romance, the Academy’s ruthless social scene, and unspeakable nighttime rituals. But they must be careful lest the Strigoi—the world’s fiercest and most dangerous vampires—make Lissa one of them forever.

review

Vampire Academy was such a fun read! I love how the characters were well developed and were given their own personality. Since there are a lot of characters in this book, I was happy I did not get confused. I really like Lissa and Rose’s relationship. They are the protagonists in this book, and they were best friends since kindergarten. Although Lissa’s guardian is Rose, their relationship goes farther than that. They are basically what you call “sisters from another mother”. I also like the supporting characters. Mason is so adorable, and I love how he has a huge crush to Rose and would do whatever she says. I also like Dimitri’s character. I love how there wasn’t any insta-love and the romance focused more on Lissa and Christian. Now I’m really excited to read Frostbite because I can feel that Rose and Dimitri’s relationship will develop more.

The only thing I did not like was that I wish there were more descriptions of the academy. I think this book focused on the characters so much that the world building was forgotten. I wish we just got a tour of the academy a bit more. Overall it’s a great book to start off a series. To be honest, I did not love Vampire Academy, but I thought it was a fantastic and hilarious read. Also, expect a lot of gossip, sarcastic remarks, and flirting. It’s not your action packed vampire book, so if high school cliques bother you or rumors and all that, then this book might not be right up your alley. Other than that, I recommend it to anyone.

3.5 of 5

25 Responses to “Review: Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead”


  1. 1 IrisjeXx January 27, 2014 at 6:04 AM

    I haven’t actually read this book yet… And I know there’s a movie coming out soon (right?). Lots of people have told me to start reading this series, but somehow I just haven’t gotten around to it.

    Judging from your review, I really should… huh? 🙂
    Great Review Leigh!

  2. 5 SarahClare January 27, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    Oh gee, this book rocks my socks. A great review here! I agree that at first there isn’t much description of St Vlad’s in great detail, but the further along you read, the better picture you get in your mind methinks.

    😀

  3. 8 Pamela D January 27, 2014 at 2:19 PM

    I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this one. I want to start this series soon!

  4. 10 Allison Grace January 27, 2014 at 3:08 PM

    ALDJSPSNKSSH, I absolutely love this series! It’s totally my fave! Ironically enough, I haven’t posted any reviews on the series yet, though I totally should!

  5. 12 Stephanie (Hopeless Romantics) January 27, 2014 at 8:34 PM

    AHH! I still need to read this book soon before I go to see the movie with my sister! So many people loved this series and I’m super curious =) I’m glad to hear that you thought it was funny and not confusing. Thanks for the review!

  6. 14 Francoise January 28, 2014 at 5:15 AM

    I’ve started reading this book and I find Rose really cocky and arrogant but it is funny. I want to get into this series (along with all the others) and even more so now that the movie coming out. It sucks the world building wasn’t that great. I found it all very confusing..

    • 15 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 28, 2014 at 5:30 PM

      Yeah haha although Rose was cocky and arrogant, it didn’t bother me at all because she’s a great friend to Lissa. Yeah I think the world building needs more descriptions. We only got a glimpse of it. Hopefully in Frostbite we’ll see more of St. Vladimir’s Academy.

  7. 16 Abbe Hinder January 28, 2014 at 8:16 AM

    I also liked the characters! Rose has a few problems but for the most part, she’s a really kickass character! I can’t wait to read the rest of the series, and yeah, I’m hoping that Mead describes the academy a lot more in the next few novels as well. Great review!

  8. 18 Alise January 28, 2014 at 6:15 PM

    I agree-this book is so fun! This is one of my favorite series and I’m sure you’ve heard this before but the books get even better as they go on 🙂 You especially get a lot more world building!

  9. 20 Aimee January 29, 2014 at 8:41 PM

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one! The series gets better as it progresses. Mason is adorable ❤ And Rose and Dimitri.. I just ship them so hard :3

  10. 22 Charlotte February 2, 2014 at 2:46 AM

    Glad you liked Vampire Academy too! It was a really fun read and I’m looking forward to seeing Rose and Dimitri’s relationship develop. I do hope they explore more of the academy in the sequels because there’s a lot of potential hidden there.

  11. 24 Nicole February 2, 2014 at 6:51 PM

    The books keep getting better and better! Just wait! Although, it’s kind of always character driven…I bet you’ll still enjoy it because you liked the first!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

