Review: Mind Games (Mind Games #1) by Kiersten White

12578294 Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: December 3, 2013 by HarperTeen
Series: #1 (Mind Games)
Length: 237 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes and Noble)

Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

review

This is one of the most interesting and unique book I’ve ever read. I really love the concept of how Fia’s gut feelings are always right, and that her sister, Annie is blind, yet, she can see the future. It’s told in 1st person point of view of Fia and Annie, but there’s is also ‘then’ and ‘now’ which wasn’t confusing at all. Sometimes I would get confused on who was telling the story though because Annie and Fia sounded alike. But at the beginning of the chapter, it will say something like “Annie: Now”. I thought it was also neat that the author did that ‘then’ and ‘now’ point of views because it helped me realize what these two sisters were like before all the mess came in their lives.

I also like the concept of having these unique people called SEERS (people who can see the future like Annie), READER (people who can read other people’s thoughts) and FEELERS (people who can sense other people’s emotions). It kind of reminds me of the Under the Never Sky trilogy.

Although this book is not lengthy, the story did not feel short. It was so fast paced, action packed, and exciting! I also enjoyed the twist in the romance, and I like how it did not overtake the main plot. Overall I would definitely recommend Mind Games if you want to read an action packed book. The only thing that I thought could’ve been developed more was the world building. Other than that, it was a great read!

4 of 5

10 Responses to “Review: Mind Games (Mind Games #1) by Kiersten White”


  1. 1 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence February 20, 2014 at 1:28 AM

    Sounds like I need to pick this one up! I just love the concept of it, it reminds me of The Bone Season with the seers and stuff. Great review Leigh!

  2. 3 Pamela D February 20, 2014 at 6:27 PM

    I love it when authors can manage different time points well. 🙂

  3. 4 Angel (Spare Reads) February 20, 2014 at 8:37 PM

    Oooo I have been meaning to borrow this from the library for quite a while now and I really like the setting – supernatural abilities + siblings. I’m so glad you liked it, for that makes me even more confident about this series 😛

  4. 5 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) February 22, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    It’s refreshing to see a positive review of this one! I have a copy that I have been meaning to get to and will have to soon. The pacing sounds great!

  5. 7 Charlotte February 23, 2014 at 5:20 AM

    Glad you enjoyed it! I’m quite hesitant about this series because I haven’t heard favourable reviews of it and I think I would have the same issues too but you sort of make me want to change my mind haha.

  6. 9 Nicole February 24, 2014 at 5:55 AM

    I am curious about this one but hesitant also. I have seen mixed reviews for both this book and it’s sequel so even though I usually enjoy special abilities books I am holding off on starting another series that might be less than great. I think I might wait and see how the last book shapes up. I can usually handle middle book syndrome if the first and last book are pretty great!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

