Brief or Long Posts? {Discuss #13}

discuss

I’ve always wondered if you guys prefer posts that are brief or long?

Why I ♡ Brief Posts

+ For me, I’m a “team brief posts” all the way because I love it when a post is just straightforward and concise. I always try to do that with my discussion posts and review posts. I just want to get onto my point because I know most of us bloggers are very busy. I don’t want to take too much of your time, and I also want you to have time to visit other blogs.
+ I also love brief posts because once a post is really long, I lose interest and get bored.
+ If it’s a long post, it has to be very interesting and intriguing.
+ I don’t hate long posts; I’m just saying that I do read long posts, but I don’t finish reading them or I just skim it whereas in brief posts, I read every single word.

What’s a brief post?

For me, a brief post is something that is three paragraphs or less (each paragraph having about 4-8 sentences).

–WHAT ABOUT YOU?–

Do you have a preference? If so, why do you prefer that over the other?

19 Responses to “Brief or Long Posts? {Discuss #13}”


  1. 1 Anahera March 13, 2014 at 12:23 AM

    I like brief posts too. If a post is long, I like it when it has headers or things like photos to illustrate or break the text up into chunks. The exception to this if it’s a topic that I really REALLY love. 🙂

  2. 2 thereadingpanda March 13, 2014 at 1:03 AM

    I usually skim big posts too. Ironically though I write pretty long reviews but I know people will get bored like me so I try to use gifs and paragraphs to just make things look better and easier to read.

  3. 3 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity March 13, 2014 at 2:43 AM

    To be honest, I love the succinctness of your posts! I know that when I open then I won’t get bored, and yet I’ll always have something to say (usually a comment longer than the post – apologies, haha!).
    I am hesitant to read posts over 1000 words, so as a rule I try not to write posts over that. My posts in general are about 800 or so words, which I don’t think is that long. I just like to explain what I mean behind all my statements.
    But if I come across a post, and I have to scroll like 10 times to reach the end and post a comment – I’ll either give it a miss or skim read and forgo leaving a comment. I won’t leave a comment because I really feel like I should dedicate myself to reading a whole post before leaving a comment. It just feels more genuine that way.
    I wouldn’t say, though, that I have a preference per se, but just a hesitancy towards ridiculously long posts.

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) April 4, 2014 at 10:33 PM

      awww so glad to hear that, Chiara! I always strive to have terse and concise posts. Me too, if I didn’t really read or made an effort to understand the post, then I just don’t leave a comment because what’s the point. I also don’t like ‘fake’ comments so I think it’s way better to not leave a comment than to leave a fake one.

  4. 5 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence March 13, 2014 at 4:49 AM

    This is a really interesting topic, I like both brief and long posts as long as the topic interests me. Sometimes if the post is too long and feels like a chore, I would skim it mostly, but sometimes I like long posts for the depth that they offer.

  5. 6 Aimee March 13, 2014 at 5:22 AM

    It really depends on the topic for me. In book reviews, I like them long (to get more insight, of course), but I want the main points to be highlighted somehow. As for discussion topics, again, it depends. If it’s an issue or something that needs to be discussed in depth, a long post would be nice. If it’s something like this, that requires a straightforward answer, a short post would be lovely. Fantastic discussion!

  6. 7 Angel (Spare Reads) March 13, 2014 at 8:19 AM

    My posts are generally on the longer side of the scale. I don’t know why but I enjoy writing reviews in the traditional style – no gifs or anything, just plain analysis and stuff. I totally understand how some people would find that boring or unexciting, but I enjoy both format equally.

  7. 9 Charleen March 13, 2014 at 4:12 PM

    I think I’m a middle-of-the-road reader (and writer, for that matter). Posts that are too short sometimes lack personality. On the other hand, my mind does start to wander if a post is too long. I think in general I like my discussion posts on the longer side and reviews on the shorter side, but there are always exceptions.

  8. 10 Cee March 14, 2014 at 12:15 AM

    TEAM LONG POSTS ALL THE WAY.

    I tend to write long posts and I prefer it that way. I just have a problem editing down my work because I’m extremely detailed! I like to present everything I want to say. I try to balance it out with images or gifs to ensure that people have a break from the block of text they’re reading. As long as other bloggers do that too, long posts aren’t a problem for me.

    I understand the benefits of a brief posts, but I just can’t create one myself. Sometimes, I find it hard to respond to posts that are brief because they don’t touch on a point I will be able to comment on. With long posts, I like reading about the details and the images the blogger is painting. I find that I’ll have more things to respond to and I like that.

  9. 11 annie07 March 14, 2014 at 9:54 AM

    I don’t know if I can say I prefer brief posts without sounding hypocritical because most of my posts are extremely long… and I don’t think it’s just the layout of my blog. Reading wise, I don’t sway brief or long. I think I’m with Charleen about being in the middle. But when a post is interesting, then it really doesn’t matter. It can be one sentence or five hundred sentences and I’d still have good things to want to say!

  10. 12 Alyssa Zech March 16, 2014 at 7:07 AM

    Has to be brief. I dont have time to read long posts, and will usually skip right over them unless the subject matter truly intrigues me. The same goes for reviews. If they are too long I will usually read the first and last paragraphs and thats it

  11. 14 Kelly March 16, 2014 at 11:53 AM

    It really comes down to content. If I find your writing is engaging and the topic your talking about is one I find interesting, I could read about it all day! But if I don’t find the topic overly interesting, or I find your writing comes across bland or flat, then I’m quick to skim and move on.

  12. 15 Joséphine @ Dudette Reads March 23, 2014 at 10:09 AM

    For me, I don’t have a particular preference for either. What matters, I think is that the length of the post is appropriate to the content. This means it offers elaboration to make things clearer and to reflect the thought processes of the blogger, yet doesn’t include so much information that a post contain three completely unrelated topics.

    Short posts are nice for in between when I just want a quick fix to fill up a minute or two while waiting in a queue or something, while long posts are good for when I want to engage in deeper discussions.


  1. 1 Weekly Digest 08 | Read Me Away Trackback on March 15, 2014 at 4:39 PM
  2. 2 Weekly Recap | Mar 9 – 15, 2014 | Oh, the Books! Trackback on March 16, 2014 at 11:46 AM
  3. 3 Retrospect #11-12 (Double Edition): March 23rd : Dudette Reads Trackback on March 23, 2014 at 9:47 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

