How I Write My Reviews {Discuss #14}

discuss

I’ve always wondered how other bloggers write their review post, so I’m here to share mine, and feel free to share yours on the comments below.

1. I ‘x’ all tabs that has nothing to do with my review post.

2. I open Goodreads.com, my blog, and ‘add new post’

3. I go to Goodreads to get the cover of the book & put it on my post

4. I go to my blog and copy & paste the part where it says ‘genre, published, length, source’ and fill that up from the info given by Goodreads

5. I go back to Goodreads and copy & paste the summary of the book

6. I go to my blog and copy & paste the ‘review’ image

7. I write my review (it takes 20 min. max for me to compose my reviews)

8. Put all necessary categories & tags

9. Double check my post

10. Click ‘publish’ or ‘schedule’

TA DA!

35 Responses to “How I Write My Reviews {Discuss #14}”


  1. 1 thereadingpanda April 24, 2014 at 12:27 AM

    I’ve been thinking about this too! My review writing follows yours pretty closely but I take at least 2 days to write it because I like to think about the book over a long time.

  2. 5 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity April 24, 2014 at 2:44 AM

    This is almost EXACTLY the same as how I write them. I always manage to punch the review out in about twenty minutes, as well, and I am so thankful for that 😀 I’d hate to be really judgy of my book reviews. I don’t think I’ve ever really changed one after I’ve written in.
    Although I schedule all my reviews because I went through a crazy reading stage and now I have reviews scheduled until June :O

    • 6 Leigh (LittleBookStar) April 25, 2014 at 7:54 PM

      Me too! Once I write my review, I just check for spelling and grammar, and add some stuff that I forgot to mention. I’ve never ever composed a review and edit it in a major way (like deleting a paragraph & rewriting it) because I just spill my thoughts on the computer since I like to be straightforward and I don’t need to edit it to make my review “sound better”. I used to schedule my reviews but I went through a reading and blogging slump and now I don’t even care if I have advance scheduled posts or not haha. Dang girlie, all the way until June!? That’s good!

  3. 7 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence April 24, 2014 at 3:39 AM

    Thanks for sharing this lovely post! I usually write my review a few days after finishing and then save it as a draft and then put all the Goodreads info into it after. I also schedule it for later on 🙂

  4. 9 ChrissiReads April 24, 2014 at 9:52 PM

    We have pretty similar ways. I only take about 20 mins to write a review too. I like to try and schedule reviews so I feel less pressure.

  5. 11 Francoise April 24, 2014 at 10:23 PM

    I write my reviews the same way! Except it usually takes me 30-40 mins to write the actual review because I never know what to write!

  6. 13 Lisa @ readingandfangirling April 25, 2014 at 9:05 PM

    Same! Although I always want to take time before writing my reviews. 1 or 2 days is good for me.

  7. 15 Tanya Patrice April 27, 2014 at 7:07 AM

    I like your style! Every blog post takes about an hour for me to write, but I also create graphics for every post, so that takes some time.

  8. 17 Rinn April 27, 2014 at 7:56 AM

    I write mine the same way as you, but I also copy my handwritten bullet points to the bottom of the review for easy reference, then delete each one as I put it into the main text =)

  9. 20 Annie April 27, 2014 at 8:10 AM

    This was really cool! You have your process down pat!

    Oh, how I wish I could write a review in 20 minutes! It usually takes me about 1 and a half hours which is kinda insane. I just need to stop word vomiting so much and learn to be straight to point.

  10. 22 Alyssa Zech April 27, 2014 at 6:19 PM

    I love how siMple you keep it!

  11. 24 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert April 28, 2014 at 11:43 AM

    TWENTY MINUTES!? I wish I could write reviews that fast but it’s a rarity for me. I get distracted easily and procrastinate BADLY. But when I finish a book I will set up the post in Blogger (title-summary-tags-etc) and then usually write my review sometime after that, either in one sitting or in pieces. So far I have failed in my resolution to write book reviews after I finish reading.

    • 25 Leigh (LittleBookStar) May 4, 2014 at 5:19 PM

      I rarely procrastinate on my book review because I tend to forget after a day or two of what I just read haha. Lol I failed my resolution already too. It’s okay. Maybe just try doing it for a week and maybe you’ll get the hang of it?

  12. 26 thesepaperhearts April 29, 2014 at 7:37 PM

    I’ve actually been thinking recently about completely redoing the way I review books. I actually sketched out the new format on paper first and I may go with it sometime in the future. I was aiming for easier to write and format =)

  13. 28 Erika @ The Red Bookmark April 30, 2014 at 3:19 AM

    This is literally the exact same I way I write my reviews! 😛 I always change the way I write book reviews, have the title in bold, italics or whatever like that. I take about an hour to write reviews.

  14. 30 kaina May 4, 2014 at 3:24 PM

    Ummm…. How? Since I’m so easily distracted it takes me at least 45 minutes because I usually have many tabs open and take “breaks” in between to check twitter, tumblr, etc. I’m always surprised to find out that people can focus so easily xD

  15. 32 Lillie May 6, 2014 at 10:00 AM

    I was reading your post, making a mental tick at each of those steps and then I saw no. 7. Whaat?! It only takes you TWENTY MINUTES to write a review?! It sometimes takes me a whole week to finish one! 😀 But I really enjoyed reading your post 🙂

    • 33 Leigh (LittleBookStar) May 13, 2014 at 11:01 PM

      Aw thank you 🙂 and yeah haha I just jot down all the feels and thoughts and then fix my grammar and make it organize and ta da! I also jot down my feels on the goodreads status update thingy so it’s easier for me to recall how I felt about a certain scene and I can put that in my review.


  1. 1 Weekly Recap| Apr 20-26, 2014 | Oh, the Books! Trackback on April 26, 2014 at 10:00 PM
  2. 2 Sunday Salon: How do you write your reviews? | Writing about books Trackback on August 23, 2014 at 10:38 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

