Classics, Why So Pretty? {Discuss #17}

discuss

Besides young adult, I also enjoy reading classics (no joke) and this is all because of all the English classes I have taken in high school. So last week (June 5th) I was browsing at Barnes & Noble’s Classics Collectible Edition and I was just mesmerized by all the beautiful, leather bound covers. I decided to buy like 6 of them haha. I kind of got carried away. After ordering them, I went on YouTube because I wanted to see how they really looked like. I knew that they all did not have the same height, but I didn’t care! THEY WERE ALL PRETTY. Then, I saw this one youtuber who had the Penguin’s edition of the classics and UGH, they had pretty covers as well! They have a lot of  collectible edition but these two are my favorite: Penguin’s Hardcover Classics & Penguin Drop Caps. My crazy side says COLLECT THEM ALL and the logic side of myself says TOO EXPENSIVE (unless I win the lottery which is close to impossible lol). Also, I want to collect them (at least one edition) because the beautiful covers just motivates me more to read classics (especially the long ones)! I can honestly stare at them all day #noregrets.

So here is my question for you… have you ever had that debate with yourself whether you should collect the awe-looking, hardbound classics (or any type of book/series)?

Penguin Drop Caps Deluxe Hardcover

20 Responses to “Classics, Why So Pretty? {Discuss #17}”


  1. 1 acps927 June 12, 2014 at 3:43 PM

    Those beautiful classics’ covers always tempt me too!

  2. 3 Ana @ Read Me Away June 12, 2014 at 3:51 PM

    I haven’t really read many classics, but their hardbound covers always look so pretty! I have the paperback edition of Emma published by Penguin Threads, and it’s so lovely! … Even if I haven’t read the book, oops! 😛

    If I were to decide, I would probably buy one if I really liked the book. I probably wouldn’t buy the complete set.

  3. 5 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) June 12, 2014 at 5:08 PM

    I wish I could read classics, but I don’t have much patience for them, aha. I do totally get your point about the covers though, they are SO pretty… pretty and collectible 😛 Which totally makes me want to buy them even if they just sit there, ha.

    • 6 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 12, 2014 at 5:27 PM

      I get you, there are just some classics that are so boring and hard to understand. There are good ones though like Animal Farm, Jane Eyre, and 1984 to name a few. I think I’m just going to collect the ones I think I’ll for sure read.

      • 7 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) June 12, 2014 at 5:29 PM

        I’ll keep those titles in mind! I think I’ve enjoyed a few I had to read in school. Gatsby was one, and I believe I also somewhat enjoyed of Mice and Men. Oh, and the Scarlet Letter. Look at that, I like more than I know 😛

      • 8 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 12, 2014 at 5:33 PM

        Aw unfortunately I did not enjoy Great Gatsby at all. I haven’t read Mice and Men but I heard it’s good (and this is coming from a friend who thinks books are boring lol). The Scarlet Letter was so-so for me. The writing was kind of hard to understand but I like the theme of the book.

      • 9 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) June 12, 2014 at 5:35 PM

        That’s too bad! I like a lot of the quotes in Gatsby but the ending makes me sad. Yeah, you should give it a try! Ah, I get that. I kind of felt the same.

      • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 12, 2014 at 11:42 PM

        Yeah I was not expecting that ending! I wish I loved the book as much as the book cover though haha

  4. 11 Kate @ The Book Bee June 12, 2014 at 7:54 PM

    I looked at the Barnes & Noble classics and was like “ooh, so pretty, maybe I should get some,” but then I looked at the Penguin drop caps and now I’m really torn! But what if you want two that start with the same letter? Having two of the same letter and color would kinda bother me.

    • 12 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 12, 2014 at 7:56 PM

      Right!? I bought the B&N classics and right after I discovered Penguin’s editions. I was just like nooooooo lol because I kind of like Penguin’s better. But that’s the cons of having the drop caps (having the same letter) which makes me happy that I got B&N’s instead.

  5. 13 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert June 14, 2014 at 4:18 AM

    At least you read Classics! I don’t and I still want to buy them all because they are so damn pretty. And I might cave too. I feel that I am like this with the Harry Potter Ediitions they keep coming out with. I already own all of the books but with ever new pretty set I see i’m like MUST HAVE! I’m a sucker for a pretty cover. And I’m trying to buy all of my favorites in hardcover so i’m all for hardcover over paperback. But I try not to have too many copies of one book since i’m not made of money.

    • 14 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 14, 2014 at 9:04 AM

      It’s just so hard to resist those pretty covers 😐 ! I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books and I really want to but idk which edition to buy because they’re all pretty lol (and expensive). I used to be a “buy only paperbacks” gal but the dang paperbacks have different heights and I’m just like noooooo which is why I started buying hardcovers even though they’re much more expensive.

  6. 15 Annie June 14, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    Oh I love that you made this post because classics really do have the prettiest covers! If I had enough money, I definitely would buy them all. Especially the Penguin ones with the patterns. So pretty!!

  7. 17 Mel@thedailyprophecy August 2, 2014 at 7:54 AM

    I’m tempted to buy books based on the covers all the time, haha. I don’t read many classics, but for some reason I always feel the need to collect the :p


  1. 1 Weekly Digest 14: Netgalley Question | Read Me AwayRead Me Away Trackback on June 14, 2014 at 7:01 PM
  2. 2 Week in Review: June 15th (with a mini TFiOS Movie review!) | Books & Cleverness Trackback on June 15, 2014 at 4:28 AM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,508 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

