Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

3 Genre: MG Fantasy
Published: November 1, 2003 by Scholastic Press (first published 1997)
Series: #1 (Harry Potter)
Length: 310 pages
Source: bought (at Target)

Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He’s never worn a Cloak of Invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed existed. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.”

review

I got two words for this book: THE FEELS. Harry Potter is one of those books that will take you on a journey without you having to leave your seat. Not once did I get bored while reading this book. I loved all the characters (even the antagonists) especially Harry Potter. In the movie I kind of disliked him, but in the book he is much smarter and keen which made me glad. I love how Rowling was able to put so much depth in all of her characters! They each had their own personalities and flaws which made them more relatable. What I also loved about this book is the world of Hogwarts. I now understand why everyone wishes this place was real. I just love the whole idea of having a school of witchcraft and wizardry! J.K. Rowling did a fantastic job of making the place alive and entertaining.

Besides the characters and the world building, I love all the plot twists! Although I have seen the movie, I don’t remember much (thankfully) so my jaw literally drops every time there is a plot twist. Overall this book was just perfect and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in the series. I recommend this to everyone whether you are a child, a teenager, or an adult. If you are looking for mysteries, adventures, friendships, or a vacation from Earth, read Harry Potter now, you muggles!

5 of 5

33 Responses to “Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling”


  1. 1 Claire (BWB) June 22, 2014 at 7:21 AM

    I can’t review the Harry Potter series because I love the entire series so darn much. I hope you enjoy the rest!

  2. 4 Kate @ The Book Bee June 22, 2014 at 4:24 PM

    Harry Potter is just one of those series that will never get old. I’ve never had to push myself through any of the books. Always a joy to read, and probably the only series I’ll never get rid of. 🙂

    • 5 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 24, 2014 at 12:39 PM

      Same. I feel like I don’t have to force myself into reading any of the Harry Potter books. I’m def. going to be keeping my copies and I can’t wait to re-read them once I’m done reading it the first time.

  3. 6 Sarah J. June 23, 2014 at 10:40 AM

    I’ve started reading this series. It’s my first time. I’m loving it! I’m almost done with The Goblet of Fire. I definitely think that the movies dumb Harry down a lot. They also made Ron a lot more likable. I personally don’t like Ron because he is cruel to Hermoine a lot. Great review.:)

    • 7 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 23, 2014 at 11:43 PM

      Yay me too! I’ve only read Sorcerer’s Stone and I’ll be reading the next book next month. So glad you are loving it! Even if I haven’t read the whole series, I know I’ll enjoy the rest. And yes, Harry appears dumb (imo) in all the movies lol. I love book Harry but not movie Harry. I know! Ron was different in the book too! He’s meaner in the book but in the movie he’s more friendly. Hey, at least they didn’t change Hermione’s character. 🙂

  4. 8 Irish June 24, 2014 at 3:27 PM

    I’m so glad you liked and enjoy this book. I wish you have read the series first before watching it though. Did you watch all the movie yet?

    • 9 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 24, 2014 at 4:01 PM

      Yeah I’ve seen all the movies but it was a loooong time ago! I honestly don’t remember any of the characters’ names (except for the main ones like Harry, Ron, Hermoine, Dumbledore, Snape, Malfoy, and Hagrid)…so I basically went into this book almost blind. I wish I’ve read the series before I saw the movie too because I like reading the books first before watching the movie (except when I was a kid, I didn’t really care if I read the books first or saw the movie).

      • 10 Irish June 24, 2014 at 4:30 PM

        I know how you feel about reading before seeing them. There are books turned to movies that I wish I have read first before watching. One was Flipped and now Game of Thrones. But I will still read the book series of Game of Thrones soon.

  5. 11 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) June 27, 2014 at 3:14 PM

    I totally agree that people of all ages can enjoy Harry Potter. Love them. I remember my first read through and being glued to the pages 🙂

  6. 13 Aimee June 30, 2014 at 6:27 AM

    I’ve only read the first three HP books, but they’re all equally wonderful! Twists everywhere! Even if I wasn’t all that shocked because I loved the movies and couldn’t really forget them. ;P

  7. 15 Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure July 2, 2014 at 3:56 PM

    It’s been so long since I read this! I really want to reread it now. This series truly is amazing and I’m so glad you’re reading it. 🙂

  8. 17 Zoe July 16, 2014 at 12:33 AM

    I’m doing a mandatory reread of Harry Potter at the moment, and I’m loving it even more the 2nd time around! I completely agree with you – there’s something about Rowling’s characters and plotting that makes this such an addictive and beloved series. And I absolutely love how each book has a mini-mystery in it! (All with such plot-twisting resolutions as well!)

    Thanks for sharing Leigh, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! ❤

    • 18 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 16, 2014 at 2:11 PM

      Thanks Zoe! I was actually not expecting myself to love Harry Potter THAT much but wow it’s just super awesome. The world is fascinating and I love how each characters came to life.

      • 19 Zoe July 19, 2014 at 5:53 AM

        I so agree! I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, but I remember picking it up, expecting something that was entertaining but maybe not quite mind-blowing, but it turned out to be SO awesome. 🙂 And YES! Her world-building & characters are just THE BEST!

      • 20 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 22, 2014 at 10:09 PM

        Me too! I thought I wouldn’t be mind blown but ermahgerd, all the plot twists and mysteries were just crazy!

  9. 21 Hawwa @ itwaslovelyreadingyou July 16, 2014 at 6:08 AM

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS TO HARRY POTTER. I actually just re-read one of them yesterday ALL THE FEELS CAME BACK AND ASDFGHJKL<3 Awesome review!

  10. 23 Megan (Adrift on Vulcan) July 19, 2014 at 3:04 AM

    YESSSSSSSSS.

    LEIGH. I APPROVES OF THIS REVIEW. I APPROVESSS. WELCOME TO THE POTTERHEAD FAMILY.

    *ahem*

    Sorry for that outburst of CAPs just now. I just — I’m so happy that yet another person has been brought into the world of Potter! :’) (I probably sound like an insane cult member, but this is HP so I don’t care!) I don’t think it’s necessary for me to say that I agree with your review 100%. The characters are all amazing, yes, even the antagonists! If you were impressed by them in the first book, your mind will be blown in the next couple of books because they just grow more and more complex. And I know — I don’t think I’ve ever related to an eleven-year-old as much as I related to Harry, Ron, and Hermione. The Golden Trio. ❤

    Lollll, I'm really glad that the movie didn't influence your reading experience in any way. The book is so much better, seriously, and yup, the twists were just so unexpected I couldn't even. Even though I've read the entire series probably more than eight times, I'm still constantly amazed at how developed the world of Hogwarts is, and how many new things I pick out each time!

    Okay, okay, I'll stop with my gushing now. 😉 I HOPE YOU'RE READING THE REST OF THE SERIES RIGHT NOW, LEIGH. Fantabulous review!

    • 24 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 22, 2014 at 10:12 PM

      ahaha I don’t mind the caps at all! If I read a Harry Potter review, my comment would probably be in all caps because HARRY FREAKIN’ POTTER! I’m sooo excited! I haven’t seen the movie for a very long time and I honestly don’t remember much which I’m so happy about! That way I can be surprised in the books. (: I’ll be getting on the 2nd book soon!

  11. 25 cfiel25 July 19, 2014 at 8:41 AM

    WOW! I can’t believe that you’ve only picked this one last June, Leigh! Hahaha. Oh well, I know that you are busy with your other TBR books. I am so happy to meet another Harry Potter fan. Welcome to the fandom!

    I agree with all your points. JK Rowling is a master when it comes to the feels, character development and unpredictable plot.

    I wish that you’ll read the succeeding books so we can fangirl over them. Hahahaha. Kidding aside, Harry’s story will keep getting better on the following books so you are in for a lot of surprises.

    Lovely review! 😀 Have a good friday, Leigh!

    • 26 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 22, 2014 at 10:09 PM

      Oh man I am SUPER excited to read the rest of the books in the series. I remember when I was little, I did not want to read the HP books b/c of how long they were! (I was a Goosebumps kind of gal). Well, it’s never too late to jump into the Harry Potter bandwagon :D. And yes, when I finish reading the series, we’ll definitely fangirl over them!

  12. 27 Rachel Farmer July 22, 2014 at 1:06 PM

    Aah I’m so happy you’ve just started out on your Harry Potter reading journey! You’ve got so much joy ahead of you :’) I enjoy the films too but once it gets to the 4th one they just can’t put in all the information you need and I can’t imagine how someone who hasn’t read the books can keep up!

    As some others have said, welcome to the Harry Potter fandom! You will never get tired of these books! I just bought a full set on sale (I borrowed my sister’s when I originally read them) and now I’m re-reading the whole series!

    Let us know what you think of the rest of them 🙂

    Rachel
    http://dashinggoodbooks.blogspot.co.uk/

    • 28 Leigh (LittleBookStar) July 22, 2014 at 10:06 PM

      I know! I am super excited to read the rest of the books 😀 . I remember after finishing Sorcerer’s Stone, I wanted to re-read the book already haha. I bet the books are better than the movies, but they’re not bad either.

      • 29 Rachel Farmer July 27, 2014 at 10:48 AM

        Aw yeah those books’ll do that to ya 😉 and I actually really enjoy the films too, especially the first 3 (though Lupin is sooo not how I imagined him!), and the later ones are good too, just not as faithful to the books.

  13. 30 차리나곰 September 17, 2014 at 8:12 PM

    Leigh!! It’s me, Czarina!! Your classmate from DSM! I stumbled upon your blog because of Jessa!! And oh my god, YOU READ THE FIRST HP BOOK!? Funny because I just bought the first and second book a month ago and I haven’t flipped a page since Diagon Alley but I AM ITCHING TO READ THE ENTIRE THING! I haven’t taken interest on Harry Potter as a child and it’s quite sad that I am just starting now! But yeah, thanks for this review! If you have a google account please do follow me on http://czarinabear.blogspot.com 🙂 and let’s keep in touch! ♥♥♥

  14. 32 ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят January 20, 2015 at 2:13 PM

    Ive read the first 5 books in the series so far and this one is still my favorite♡


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

