Review: Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare

10025305 Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: December 6, 2011 by Simon & Schuster, Margaret K. McElderry Books
Series: #2 (The Infernal Devices)
Length: 502 pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)

In magical Victorian London, orphan Tessa found safety with the Shadowhunters, until traitors betray her to the Magister. He wants to marry her, but so do self-destructive Will and fiercely devoted Jem. Mage Magnus Bane returns to help them. Secrets to her parentage lie with the mist-shrouded Yorkshire Institute’s aged manager Alyosius Starkweather.”

review

I am so glad I decided to continue on with this trilogy because the story just got 10x better! I didn’t really enjoy reading the first book, Clockwork Angel, because I thought it was dull and boring. I’m so glad I decided to pick up Clockwork Prince though because the story is so fast paced on this one! I found myself constantly flipping the page, and it was so hard to put the book down. After reading this book, I now know why there is hype around this trilogy. The characters felt so real and I love how I got to know them a lot more in this book. Will is so funny and Jem has such a kind heart! I love how it is so easy to differentiate the characters because of their realistic personalities.

What I loved the most about Clockwork Prince is the romance. I think this is the only book where I love the love triangle. I usually don’t like love triangles, but this book pulls it off. Overall, if you did not really like Clockwork Angel, I suggest you still pick this book up because it is way better. There are so many plot twists and the romance is just *swoons*. If there were stuff you were confused about in Clockwork Angel, this book definitely explains them.

4 of 5

16 Responses to “Review: Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare”


  1. 1 Charlotte @ Thoughts and Pens September 6, 2014 at 11:27 PM

    To be honest, I really like this series which is surprising because the Mortal Instruments was really disappointing. I agree, the love triangle of was really handled well and I love all the love interests even though I am Team Will through and through.

    I am already finished with this series and I must say that the Clockwork Princess left me slightly disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, it was still good but the ending was just toooooooooo perfect. Hahaha.

    Lovely review, Leigh!

  2. 6 Hazel @ Stay Bookish September 8, 2014 at 9:45 AM

    YEEEES! I love the love triangle here. And trust me, Clockwork Princess gave the best love triangle ending ever known to YA books haha! I was reading the manga of this one just recently and was swooning a helluva lot! Will and Jem! ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. 7 Sydney September 12, 2014 at 2:13 PM

    This is one of my absolute favorite trilogies! I prefer it over The Mortal Instruments because the characters were a lot more interesting to me. I *loved* the love triangle and I think that has a lot to do with how C. Clare handled it — she didn’t make it a push and pull between Will and Jem and Tessa, it was a lot of sacrificing on Will’s end for his friend’s happiness and for Tessa and it was just a really beautiful love story. I hope you love Clockwork Princess, which is my favorite of the trilogy. ^^

  4. 8 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) September 13, 2014 at 3:46 PM

    You’re so right about the love triangle, this has got to be one of the best love triangle’s ever because they all care so much about each other. I loved both boys but always liked Jem a bit more xD The ending of Clockwork Princess KILLED me, I was sobbing!

  5. 9 Nara September 15, 2014 at 5:29 AM

    I definitely agree! When people say they hate love triangles, I bring up this one, because dayum. It’s done so well. And both love interests are so amazing :’)
    Clockwork Princess is quite amazing as well! Perhaps things worked out a bit too well, but honestly, I didn’t mind because I just wanted the characters to be happy haha

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) September 20, 2014 at 2:58 PM

      Right!? The love triangle is definitely done right in this one. Yes, the two love interests are just asdfghjkl;!!! Usually when there is a love triangle, I know I choose the one over the other, but it’s so hard to choose between Jem and Will.

  6. 11 Sam September 19, 2014 at 3:34 PM

    I am honestly so excited to read this series. I have Clockwork Angel sitting on my bookshelf, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet! I actually don’t hate love triangle, as long as they aren’t ridiculously cheesy, so I think I will really enjoy this.

  7. 13 Nikki King September 21, 2014 at 4:24 AM

    Love your blog! Just wanted to let you know that I tagged you for the ten book challenge 🙂 You can find out more here: http://love-at-first-write.blogspot.com/2014/09/ten-book-challenge.html

  8. 15 ωσя∂ѕωєнєαят January 20, 2015 at 2:11 PM

    This is my favorite series. I actually really like Clockwork Angel! Clockwork Prince was my least favorite (not because I didnt love it, but because I loved the other two so much) Clockwork Princess is even better honestly, it’s my favorite of the three, but I really love them all (:

    • 16 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:42 PM

      Yay! I didn’t really like Clockwork Angel (I kind of didn’t understand what was going on until I read CPrince). I still need to read CPrincess but I don’t have time. I’ll probably read it during summer vacation.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

