A Perspective on Binge-Reading {Discuss #18}

discuss

Honestly, I feel a bit jealous when other readers say “oh, the final book is coming out! Now I can just binge read the series!” Some people make it sounds so easy, but binge reading is very difficult for me because no matter how good the book is (i.e. Harry Potter) it is almost impossible for me to binge read a series because after reading a book from that series, I want to just take a break from that world and read a different book. No matter how awesome the world is, I just want to step back and experience another setting.

I wish I was one of those readers who can easily binge read a series. I think binge-reading is good because after reading the first book, you can read the sequel without forgetting important information from the first book.

—WHAT ABOUT YOU?—

I’d like to know your thoughts on binge-reading! Do you like it? Do you have trouble binge-reading? If so, why?

36 Responses to “A Perspective on Binge-Reading {Discuss #18}”


  1. 1 SarahClare October 16, 2014 at 6:23 AM

    I love to binge read! But I’m wary of doing it because of the effect it has in me when I’ve finished the whole series so soon… I’m practically suicidal! 😮

  2. 3 Kezia October 16, 2014 at 8:47 AM

    Yep!! I’m definitely jealous with people who can marathon series as easy as that! I was actually planning to re-read the whole series prior Blood of Olympus release data but alas… I couldn’t because I was occupied with other interests and I was in the middle of mid term exams… Hence, there were some minor parts that I’ve forgotten but thank goodness it didn’t affect my reading experience overall… It’s been ages since I last re-read a book as well… nowadays I don’t have enough time and sometimes I don’t feel like re-reading because I’ve already known the story…

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 2, 2014 at 6:06 PM

      Haha I am planning to marathon the Blood of Olympus next month but I don’t think that’s going to happen since I’ve only read Lightning Thief. I was going to binge read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series last month, but yeah, that didn’t work out because SCHOOL :|. I think it’s okay to not binge read Riordan’s books though because he re-caps a lot of stuff at the beginning of his books. Like, when I started reading Sea of Monsters, the first few chapters had a lot of re-caps of Lightning Thief.

  3. 5 moosha23 October 16, 2014 at 9:57 AM

    I know what you mean! Recently I’ve been reading The Time Traveler’s Wife and I read it non-stop for a whole day – but then I suddenly wanted to take a break from it and read something else. Hmm…I don’t actually know why, I love her writing and all but I just need a break in case I forget the difference between reality and fiction.

    • 6 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 2, 2014 at 6:07 PM

      I’ve only seen the movie of The Time Traveler’s Wife (so good!). Will have to read the book someday. I know! That’s how I am. No matter how I loved the book and the author’s writing style, I need to take a break from that series/genre and read something else.

      • 7 moosha23 November 3, 2014 at 8:47 AM

        Uhuh. Especially since this one requires a box of tissues too! So what “phase” are you on now? I’m up for some more children’s…I wonder how long that’ll last!

  4. 8 Finley Jayne October 16, 2014 at 11:35 AM

    I rarely stick with series, but when I do continue with one I do usually take a break in between books. There’s been a few exceptions, when the series has been amazing and I HAD to keep going, like Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series. Or, the series was a bit of a train wreck and I had to know what happened next, like the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy, lol.

  5. 10 Mel@thedailyprophecy October 16, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    My biggest problem is that I’m reading a lot of unpublished series, so I can’t binge-read even if I want too. And a lot of new series sound TOO good to ignore, so they keep piling up :p

  6. 12 Annie October 16, 2014 at 2:31 PM

    I don’t binge read often. I love the idea of it but I’m like you, I need to take a break after a while! Sometimes on really rare occasions, the books are gobbling me up and I just CAN’T stop but that’s like one time out of five. Most of the time, I have to switch it up a bit in between.

  7. 14 Caitlin October 16, 2014 at 5:40 PM

    I knowwww!!! How can people read an entire series just like that for the sake of re-reading it? I have so many other books I have to read, and am struggling to catch up on, and then you have people who can binge read binge read binge read. I am most certainly very jealous of those people.

    • 15 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 2, 2014 at 6:11 PM

      Oh gosh, I can’t even binge read a series what more if re-reading? Lol. I can’t re-read too because there’s just too many books out there and not enough time! I think I’ll start re-reading books in 50 years, but now…I just want to keep buying and reading more books.

  8. 16 Mitchii @ The Aeropaper October 17, 2014 at 6:37 AM

    I think I’m the opposite, the more I’m into the story the more I want dwell on the story longer. It’s why I find it easy to binge read/watch. I love binge reading, it’s an efficient method for me.

  9. 18 Ana @ Read Me Away October 17, 2014 at 12:47 PM

    For me, it totally depends on the book. I really enjoyed Divergent so it was easy for me to binge read the two other books. I didn’t enjoy Matched, so binge-reading the series was slow and made me feel rather “meh.” :/

  10. 20 Kayla Sanchez (@the1000lives) October 17, 2014 at 6:42 PM

    I love binge reading, but as far as putting it into practice? Not so great at that. I think the most recent series I binged was the Five Ancestors series, and that was seven books. But they were all middle grade, and like 200-300 pages each. So I think it took me two afternoons to get through that 😛

    I’d really like to binge the Heroes of Olympus series, and I’m hoping I can stick with it this fall. That’s my plan at least!

    • 21 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 10, 2014 at 3:53 PM

      Ahh that’s my plan too..and I failed already hahaha. Well, my plan was to binge read Percy Jackson and the Olympians but I stopped b/c of school and now instead of picking up Sea of Monsters, I picked up something else. I was supposed to finish the series last month and then read Heroes of Olympus this month… I guess that ain’t happening.

  11. 22 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) October 18, 2014 at 4:27 PM

    Interesting question! I’m kind of half and half, I have definitely binge read a few series, but there are also some series I just can’t do that with because I tire of them, like you mentioned. I did binge read Harry Potter and The Vampire Academy series but I definitely can’t do it with every series out there.

  12. 24 Lola October 19, 2014 at 9:49 AM

    I used to binge read series, but nowadays I have so many review books that I usually don’t have or don’t make the time to actually binge read the series. I usually prefer to only read 3 books max in the same series in a row, because after that I usually want a break and somethign else.

    Sometimes I can feel a bit burned out when I read too many books in the same series and it makes me spot things in the books that aren’t as obvious if you don’t binge read. Like Jennifer Estep, I love her books, but if you binge read them it becomes glaringly obvious how much she recaps or descriptions reuses from earlier books.

    • 25 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 10, 2014 at 3:55 PM

      Same! I have a lot of review books to read so maybe that’s part of the reason why I do not binge read. Oh yeah that too. If a book has a lot of recaps and you’re trying to binge read the series, that could get annoying.

  13. 26 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity October 20, 2014 at 9:48 PM

    I absolutely love binge reading! I haven’t done it in a while because of time constraints, but I am definitely one of the readers that can and loves to binge read.

    I actually love not stepping out of a series’ world. But this only applies when I absolutely adore the series. If I’m not so keen, I might not be so ready to binge read a series, but if I love it? Hells to the yeah for immersing myself in the world and characters and not surfacing until everything id one and dusted.

    I have awful book amnesia, and binge reading eliminates that, which I am really grateful for. I absolutely loathe forgetting anything about a book/series, which is pretty much why I love to binge read ;D

    • 27 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 10, 2014 at 3:56 PM

      Haha I sort of have awful book amnesia too especially with character names! Ugh! I suck at remembering those. I wish I could binge reading a series that I loved too but I just can’t because I want to read a different book.

  14. 28 Sydney October 21, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    I’m sort-of in the middle. There are certain series I am more than willing to binge-read or re-read, while other series I merely want recaps on and would much rather NOT re-read because they aren’t re-reading worthy. But I envy people who can read a book and then read it a second time right after. I always need a bit of a breather. When I was younger I couldn’t even read a series to completion because I would get bored. The habit has gone away a bit, but not entirely lol.

  15. 30 Lisa @ Perky Reads October 21, 2014 at 7:06 PM

    Haha! I love the idea of binge reading a whole series but whenever I think about it, for example, reading the whole Harry Potter series, I just can’t help but to think it’s kind of exhausting. 😀 I mean, I have a lot of books to read, worlds I need to live in, characters I need to meet and reading 7 books in just one sitting. . . ugh.

  16. 32 kaylascott98 October 23, 2014 at 4:38 AM

    I love to binge read, but I can do that only if the series is really, REALLY good. But I guess that makes perfect sense.

  17. 33 Jackie G. October 26, 2014 at 12:48 PM

    I don’t normally binge read because like you, I need variety in my book life. Not just from the world I’m reading about, but the genre as well. It’s a rare occasion when I finish up a fantasy novel only to follow it up with another fantasy novel. The only series I CAN binge read is Harry Potter. Oh, I never get tired of the wizarding world.


  1. 1 Book Nerd Reviews Trackback on October 31, 2014 at 5:12 PM
  2. 2 All Booked-Out in October: | Books and Window Seats Trackback on October 31, 2014 at 5:34 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

