Review: Made for You by Melissa Marr

20419003 Genre: YA Mystery
Published: September 16, 2014 by HarperCollins
Length: 368 pages
Source: HarperCollins (ARC)

When Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital, she’s confused—who in her sleepy little North Carolina town could have hit her with their car? And why? But before she can consider the question, she finds that she’s awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people’s deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from the hit-and-run, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva’s power to keep her friends—and themselves—alive. But while Eva and Nate grow closer, the killer grows increasingly frantic in his attempt to get to Eva.”

review

This book is such a perfect read for Halloween! Made For You is told in three different perspectives which are: Eva’s, the killer’s, and Eva’s best friend, Grace. If you are not a big fan of multiple perspective, I don’t think you’ll have trouble with this one though because the characters sound very distinct from each other. This book was intriguing from the very start, and it was a page-turner. It was so fast paced since you’ll be eager to know who this mysterious, obsessed killer is.

What I loved about this book is reading the killer’s perspective. It was so creepy yet fascinating because the killer’s mind is so twisted and obscure. It may sound weird, but I sympathized for him/her the most because it is not his/her fault that he/she acts that way. I’m saying he/she because I do not want to spoil you whether the killer is a male or a female. The killer is actually not revealed until a couple chapters from the end. I also like how whenever someone has physical contact with Eva, she will able to see the person’s death. I thought that was really creative, and adds more suspense to the story.

There is a sort of insta-love but the story is so focused on the mystery that it just made me overlook at the romance. The supporting characters were okay. I didn’t think they were memorable, but I thought they were realistic. Overall I recommend this book to everyone, especially if you love mystery books!

4 of 5

12 Responses to “Review: Made for You by Melissa Marr”


  1. 1 SarahClare October 18, 2014 at 6:38 AM

    And if nothing else, that book has a GREAT cover. xD

    Cool review, I’m quite interested in reading this one

  2. 3 Megan (Adrift on Vulcan) October 20, 2014 at 6:40 AM

    Usually books told in several perspectives are a huge turn-off, because I’ve never had good experiences with them and they’re SO hard to do right, but I’m really relieved to hear that the multiple POVs were a success here! Yeah, it’s important for the characters to have their own voices, otherwise they just end up sounding like clones or something. T_T

    And YES for fast-paced mysteries. The last YA mystery book I read, The Body in the Woods by April Henry, was so unbelievably slow-paced I came close to giving up several times. That one was also told in multiple POVs, with several from the killer’s perspective, but it wasn’t nearly as awesome as Made For You sounds like it was. Geh. But I’m getting curious about how Marr writes from the murderer’s view already! Twisted and creepy is my forte. ;D

    I think I’d be able to overlook the romance just as long as the other aspects of the book are better. Thanks for the review, Leigh! Totally interested in checking this one out now!

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) November 2, 2014 at 6:01 PM

      I know! I think it’s really hard to pull off a book with multiple POVs. Oh man, I love mystery books, but if the pace is slow, then I’ll pass. Yeah the romance wasn’t like right in your face so I think you’ll still enjoy the book b/c the mystery is THAT good.

  3. 5 Mishma @ As the page turns October 24, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    I am dying to read this book.I am a huge fan of Melissa Marr, her writing is amazing and the worlds and characters she creates are intense and fascinating. Though I don’t normally go for mysteries or thrillers, I am curious about this book.

    Mishma @ As the page turns

  4. 7 Sam October 30, 2014 at 5:27 AM

    Eep! This one looks pretty cool, although the cover is kind of strange, in my opinion. I would love to read from a killer’s POV, but I am also not a fan of instalove. We’ll see if I ending up reading it.

  5. 9 Hazel @ Stay Bookish November 2, 2014 at 9:18 PM

    I’m pretty okay with multiple perspectives and that plot sounds too interesting to ignore. It’s reminding me of Dangerous Girls, which blew my mind. I’m glad you liked this one, Leigh. I’ll check it out sometime! 🙂

  6. 10 Sydney November 3, 2014 at 11:54 PM

    I find it really interesting that the book is written in a trio perspective, and it includes the killer’s perspective! Not many books do that. Plus, it’s hard to tap into the true psyche of a killer so props to the author for attempting that.

    I’m not into mystery (not reeeeally my genre), but this does sound interesting. 😛 I’ll keep it in mind in case someone asks me in the future for a good YA mystery along these lines.

  7. 11 Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure November 15, 2014 at 5:56 PM

    I’m glad you liked this book! I love multiple perspectives (as long as it’s only two or three), so hearing that this book has them makes me want to read it even more. I’m always up for a page-turner too. 🙂 Great review!

  8. 12 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity November 26, 2014 at 5:11 PM

    I do love mystery books, and I love the sound of chapters from the killer’s perspective. I can only imagine how deliciously creepy they will be. Even though Halloween is well and truly over, I cannot wait to read Made For You! 😀


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

