Review: Forbidden by Kimberly Griffiths Little

18889290 Genre: YA Fantasy/Historical Fiction
Published: November 4, 2014 by HarperCollins
Length: 397 pages
Source: HarperCollins (ARC)

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden’s tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden’s turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe’s leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family’s position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden’s heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden’s heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb’s increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden’s every move, she knows she must find a way to escape—or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family’s survival on the line, Jayden must embark on a deadly journey to save the ones she loves—and find a true love for herself.”

review

What I loved most about Forbidden was the author’s descriptions of the Mesopotamian desert. While I was reading the book, I felt like I was with the main character, Jayden, and her family, traveling across the desert. Sometimes the author could be very descriptive though. Her writing style was really good because her words flowed smoothly, but at times, there were awkward sentences, or there were scenes that are self explanatory yet she explains them which makes it redundant. I thought I was going to be bored with this book, but there were quite a lot of suspense here and there which kept me reading.

The characters were very realistic. Jayden starts out as weak, but as the story progressed, she slowly gains confidence and determination. She values what her mother has taught her which is to not worship any idols. On the other hand, her sister Leila, is tired of being a desert girl, and instead wants to live the life of a priestess which means worshipping different idols and dancing in front of many men which is frowned upon by her family’s tribe. The character that I hated the most was Horeb, Jayden’s betrothed and future leader of their tribe. He is hungry for power and would do anything to achieve it. Although I despised his character, I am amazed because if I was able to feel so much hatred for him, then that means the author did a very well job writing his character. Kadesh, Jayden’s other love interest, was too perfect. I liked how he was very caring, strong, and true to his word, but the author made him flawless which was kind of disappointing.

There is a love triangle here, but it worked! The author pulled it off and I actually enjoyed the romance. I really like the scenes where Kadesh and Jayden were together because they were just so cute! What I also like about this book was how it was rich with culture. I loved learning about the tribes’ beliefs, their differences, and where the different tribes were located. Overall it was a great story and I recommend it if you are looking for a unique read with forbidden love.

3.5 of 5

9 Responses to “Review: Forbidden by Kimberly Griffiths Little”


  1. 1 moosha23 November 17, 2014 at 9:36 AM

    Wow, it’s rare to read stories about love triangles that work….most of them don’t add to the story, so I’m glad that this one works. The Mesopotamien (what a mouthful) desert sounds pretty intriguing! Cool review 😀

    • 2 Leigh (LittleBookStar) December 13, 2014 at 4:33 PM

      haha I know right? I had to double check my spelling of Mesopotamia in the book. I really like the love triangle because it’s one of those romance where the readers know who the MC will choose for sure and not one of those romance where the readers would have to guess who she’ll choose.

  2. 3 Young Adult Reading November 17, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    I was thinking about reading this book. I think I will give it a go now after reading your great review. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Much love from

    http://mary-jane-melrose.weebly.com/marys-blog/why-are-teenagers-fascinated-with-the-occult

  3. 4 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) November 19, 2014 at 9:20 PM

    Since I live in the desert ( not Mesopotamian though xD )I’m wondering what I’ll think about the setting 😛 “…if I was able to feel so much hatred for him, then that means the author did a very well job writing his character.” THIS. Totally agree, this is especially important with antagonists. I love realistic characters so now I definitely want to read this. Plus a working love triangle? I think I’d like this!

  4. 6 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert December 1, 2014 at 4:58 PM

    I am definitely intrigued by the Mesopotamian setting and tribal element but I’m not 100% sold on this book yet. I am afraid those two things won’t be enough to win me over. But I’m definitely keeping this book on my radar.

  5. 8 mary melrose February 16, 2015 at 11:48 PM

    Just came back to say, that I read this novel and thought it was a good read.

    I love a book that has a working love triangle. These type of stories have to have good characterization and great plots. I like to be messed about in the head a bit while i’m reading. When the Author can make me hate a character one minute, then make me love them the next, I stay hooked.

    I found the storyline good, however it started quite slow. I normally like to be pulled into a story from the beginning. Apart from the slow start I began to enjoy the more I read.

    What I liked was that Jayden starts out weak, but as we get into the story she begins to grow. For me, I like a character like this. I couldn’t help feel sorry for her, The things that happened to Jayden brought a couple of tears to my eyes.

    I’m going to read book two as I want to find out what happened to Jayden. I hope she keeps growing and becomes stronger.

    https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24850589-the-star-maiden

    • 9 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 17, 2015 at 5:28 PM

      Me too! Even though the antagonist is annoying, I love how authors are able to write such powerful characters. That’s true, Jayden does develop throughout the novel which I liked. I always love seeing character development.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

