BlaBlaBlack Sheep {Discuss #19}

discuss

I have not composed a discussion post for quite some time, and I was thinking, what’s a good topic to talk about that I have not read a lot on? Then, I realized how I’m such a black sheep in the blogosphere. I really wished that wasn’t the case because honestly, I feel left out sometimes. I think some of the stuff I am going to list out here will shock you because a lot of you are the opposite of what I am going to mention.

1.  I don’t fangirl. (Unless we’re talking about Across the Universe / Harry Potter)

I don’t know why guys. I just don’t.

2. I have not read popular book series

This includes Harry Potter (except the first book), The Mortal Instruments (I’m most likely not going to read it), Vampire Academy (except the first book), The Maze Runner, Throne of Glass (will do in the future though!)

3. I don’t get overly excited over book releases.

Which means I don’t pre-order books (I’ve never in my whole 18 years of existence pre-ordered a book), track down which books are going to be released, etc. I don’t really have a book I am anticipating for. If I feel like reading it, I’ll buy it, if I don’t, then I don’t. I don’t know why guys! This is so sad. I wish I was excited as you guys for the books that are going to be released. Of course I’m happy for the author that his/her book is finally coming out, but that’s it. I don’t go on Twitter saying “OMG *THIS BOOK* IS FINALLY HITTING THE SHELVES” or say “I’VE BEEN WANTING TO GET MY HANDS ON THIS EVER SINCE THE BOOK COVER WAS UP ON GOODREADS”. Sometimes, heck, I could even just wait for it to come out in paper back. That’s how long I could wait for a book.

4. I love contemporary books!

Again, unpopular opinion over here. I think most bloggers love fantasy or paranormal books, but my heart goes out to contemporary books. Most of my favorite books are contemporary because I could relate to the characters easily and the stories are just amazing.

5. I don’t ship any fictional characters

LOL y’all are probably looking at me weird. It’s true! If you asked me who I ship, my brain goes *crickets*. I like Tris and Four from Divergent, but I don’t ship them. For t.v. shows, I only ship two couples which are #CaptainSwan and #RumBelle (if you watch OUAT, you know who I’m talking about).

So yeah! Were you guys surprised? Are you a black sheep too?

35 Responses to “BlaBlaBlack Sheep {Discuss #19}”


  1. 1 SarahClare January 23, 2015 at 12:10 AM

    *raises hand* guilty as charged of all of the above… :s

  2. 3 Romantic Reading Escapes January 23, 2015 at 4:26 AM

    You’re not alone on a lot of those. I don’t “fangirl” so much, and I find that my tastes evolve…often. Contemporary to paranormal to literary fiction. I don’t quiet fit the mold, either. I do pre-order but only from a select few authors (3 max). I will go nuts over a book that really got to me (usually contemporary), but that is rare, and I don’t scream it to the heavens a hundred times when it does. I wish I did, but it isn’t in my nature I guess. *sigh* I do talk about upcoming releases for others’ benefits. Good post!

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:59 PM

      I think that’s great how you branch out to different types of genres. I think I will venture off to non fiction and adult fiction when older, but as for now, I’m still YA at heart haha. Same, I’ll be like HEY READ THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW if I really love a book, but then that’s it. I don’t go crazy over it for like a week. I guess it’s just our nature to be a calm reader lol.

  3. 5 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert January 23, 2015 at 6:00 AM

    I think I am somewhere in the middle of the spectrum. I do pre-order books (I can’t believe you have NEVER pre-ordered a book!!) but not many. Usually just a handful of highly anticipated releases a year. Most books I can wait for. I do fangirl on occasion but am usually to busy with my nose stuck in a book or neglecting Twitter to be much good at it, hah. I do LOVE fantasy, but contemporary is my second favorite genre and I read almost the same number of books in each genre. However, I definitely ship characters 🙂 But own your differences! There is no right or wrong way to be a book nerd 😉

  4. 7 Nova @ Out of Time January 23, 2015 at 3:34 PM

    WHAT? *splutters* HOW DOES ONE NOT SHIP? SHIPPING IS THE ESSENCE OF LIFEEE. Actually, I totally see why someone wouldn’t ship. I only started shipping recently. Before that, I was really different about the idea.

    I guess I’m the opposite for this. I feel everything a lot which is why fangirling and shipping are key for me. I’m eh about contemp. It has to be good. The genre itself is typically more fluffy than memorable for me, which sucks because I know there’s some really good ones out there.

    For me, I don’t like high fantasy *waits for the hate* I know everyone loves it, but I always had a thing against it. Being a blogger, I’ll read it, but I probably wouldn’t pick it up on my own without a recommendation.

    • 8 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:54 PM

      Hahaha I know it’s sad 😦 I do ship but not characters from books. I only ship Rumplestiltskin + Belle and Captain Hook + Emma Swan from Once Upon a Time.

      Well, I don’t hate high fantasy, but it’s not high in my priority. I could see why someone wouldn’t have an appeal to contemporary books though especially for readers who use books as an escape. Why would they read contemporary books? It’s similar to real life.

  5. 9 literateture January 24, 2015 at 4:13 AM

    I think most people love contemporary more. All of my friends think I’m weird since I prefer fantasy and dystopian. I also don’t pre-order, I like to be safe. HAHAHA some of my fave authors turned out to be so horrible in the end.

    http://www.lite-rate-ture.com

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:37 PM

      Oh really? I usually see blog posts that says they like fantasy/paranormal. Haha I think that’s a good reason to not pre-order a book. You might like your favorite author’s book, but you might not like her/his next books. That’s a good point!

  6. 11 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence January 24, 2015 at 4:56 AM

    Wow, you are a pretty calm reader especially without getting overly excited or fangirling, or even shipping!

  7. 13 Lola January 24, 2015 at 4:55 PM

    I don’t fangirl either and only pre-order books when they are of my favourite authors, but I hardly every am really really excited for a book. I have read Harry Potter, but I mostly read indie books nowadays and on my blog you won’t find all the popular books. Although I do read some popular series. If you find the right blogs you’ll find more lovers of contemporary books, just like you I like the genre, although I love many other genres as well.

    • 14 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:35 PM

      I think that’s great that you read a lot of indie books. I used to read a lot of books from indie authors, but right now I need to finish up my tbr books b/c it’s getting quite crazy. Yeah I think I still haven’t discovered other bloggers who love contemporary books as much as I do.

  8. 15 Jess@MyReadingDress January 25, 2015 at 12:01 AM

    BUAHAHAHAHA I don’t really ship much either! If anything I just like the character and I ship then with myself LOL TMI This is so weird because all my close blogger friends are contemporary loves and there’s a serious push for me to give the genre a go. BUT NEVER. I’m fantasy at heart. That and murder. Mysteries. Hahaha But go you! Being a black sheep can sometimes rock. You’re you and that’s perfect! ❤

  9. 17 Ashley January 25, 2015 at 2:29 AM

    I’m the same with most of those.

    I do think there are a lot of bloggers who love contemporary though. 🙂

    But yeah, I can appreciate a nice romance but I don’t ship characters or have book boyfriends or things like that. Maybe I’m just too old for that stuff lol.

  10. 19 Sam January 25, 2015 at 6:56 AM

    I do most of these things. I Fangirl. I ship couples. I get so excited about new releases. But if you don’t, that’s fine! The point is that you love BOOKS. I think that’s all that matters to me. Love this post!

  11. 21 booksandbabyetc January 25, 2015 at 11:26 AM

    I do and I don’t fangirl. I don’t do it to the extent of a lot of book bloggers. Like I don’t have whole tumblr accounts with gifs and quotes and stuff of my favourite series but I might go a bit OTT and excited when I review a book I love. I don’t use common fangirly expressions like ‘the feels’ and stuff though.

    I also don’t particularly ship characters, unless its Chaol and Celaena… in which case I absolutely do.

    I think it’s fine that you are the way you are. I LIKE the diversity of the community. It would be boring if everyone acted the same and liked all the same stuff. I, for one, will neve read The Mortal Instruments and I don’t care how unpopular that makes me. It has no appeal to me AT ALL.

    • 22 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 2:26 PM

      Oh me too. I used to have a tumblr and I was confused on how to use it so I stopped. Haha I still have to read Throne of Glass! That’s true how not everyone being a fangirl etc. brings diversity into the blogosphere. I think it balances it out. Lol yes, I will never read TMI. It’s just way too long.

  12. 23 Alexa January 25, 2015 at 1:35 PM

    Ahhh, I feel you there! I’m almost the same. I’m happy that authors get their books published, but I don’t get overly excited about them. I also don’t fangirl. I mean… I used to, and then I grew out of it sort of. Now I commend good writing and fall in love with characters, but I usually won’t go all caps and 20 exclamation points to prove it. I feel that we aren’t alone, though. It’s probably just that… those bloggers I guess are “louder” than others so they’re noticed more often and then they kind of become the face of book bloggers?

    Perhaps we just like to read our books and just kind of be the book blogging wallflowers ;-;

  13. 25 Tara January 25, 2015 at 5:09 PM

    Totally guilty of all of those. If I’m fangirling over a book, it’s usually modest and its usually something that no one else is fangirling over. I’ve always felt a bit like a book blogging wallflower because I just don’t experience books in an overly emotional way. I’m very analytical and critical. And that’s okay! Us black sheep need to find each other so we feel less alone!

  14. 27 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity January 25, 2015 at 5:17 PM

    I’ve only read the first Harry Potter book, so I am with you on that one, Leigh! And there are a few other series that everyone loves that i haven’t read. I guess I just don’t read books because everyone else is reading them. We’re so non-comformist, haha 😛

    I also don’t get hugely excited about new releases. Sometimes I pre-order, but then when i do that, I never read them on time anyway, so I haven’t done that in a long time. I look forward to releases, sure, but I’m not OMG THIS BOOK IS ONLY 27 DAYS 13 HOURS AND 3 MINUTES AWAY. I guess I don’t have the energy for it.

    I was never a huge fan of contemporaries, but I have been reading a few more lately, and quite liking them, too! 😀

    But I do fangirl and ship all the ships ^.^

    • 28 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 6:50 PM

      Same! I think if I pre order something, I won’t read them once I get them anyway so I don’t. Yeah I don’t count down when a book is released. Sometimes I’m just like, wow it’s out already?! Lol talk about being late. I’m really glad that you’re liking contemp. books!

  15. 29 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) January 25, 2015 at 7:23 PM

    I feel like the only book I’ve fangirled over was Heir of Fire, and still that was just like “asdfghjkl” and then I was over it. I almost always have a ship, like for pretty much everything xD I guess that’s because I really like romance though. But Captain Swan and Rumbelle YES. I like them so much.

    • 30 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 25, 2015 at 7:27 PM

      Haha same! If I fangirl, I’ll go a bit cray then shut up lol. I love romance too but for some reason I don’t ship haha. I’ll just be like “awww”. OMG YESS I’m so happy to know someone who ships CS and RB! Both couples are SO CUTE!

  16. 31 Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) January 26, 2015 at 4:13 AM

    I love your honestly, Leigh! I actually don’t get overly excited about a lot of books either. I mean, I get excited, but like not to the point where I am dancing around the room or something lol. The only books I get overly excited about are the upcoming releases for my fave authors aka Rick Riordan. Even then, I don’t preorder though, I just go to the bookstore on the day of release and buy it heh.

    Oh, but i do ship and fangirl. Anyone would know that I am a little hardcore about my Percabeth and Rick Riordan infatuation 😉

    • 32 Leigh (LittleBookStar) January 27, 2015 at 10:09 AM

      Haha yeah I rarely dance around the room when I get a new book,etc. Oh man, I still need to read the PJ books. I’ve only read Lightning Thief which was awesome! I’m curious to see how Percy and Annabeth ends up together!

  17. 33 DoingDewey February 4, 2015 at 8:01 AM

    Although I do sometimes read the popular books out there, I also don’t fangirl, track release dates with excitement, or ship specific characters. Sometimes I envy the enthusiasm of the bloggers who do those things, but that’s just not me.

  18. 34 Jackie G. February 8, 2015 at 5:07 PM

    If you are a black sheep, then I am a black sheep too. Unless we are talking about Harry Potter, because grew up with that series, and I still fangirl over it. But THAT’S IT!

    I’m hard to impress, so unless you’re sharing a story the same caliber as Harry Potter, I’m probably not going to fangirl over it. And I don’t get over-the-top excited over new releases because…well…I’m stingy. I buy most of my books, so I’m looking for great sales. I’m about a year behind everyone else because I wait for books to come out in paperback, or I’m seeking out e-book sales.


  1. 1 Weekly Recap| Jan 18-24, 2015 | Oh, the Books! Trackback on January 24, 2015 at 10:03 PM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

