January 2015 Wrap Up

wrap up

Here is my wrap up post for January which consists of all the books I read during this month as well as some blog updates, my resolutions, and stuff that happened outside of my reading + blogging time.

booksread

1363918278243222060168716071187223285461713458916068905

FAVORITE & LEAST FAVORITE BOOK

16071187

You guys have to pre-order this one! It is SOO good. 4.5 stars

20601687

Meh I don’t recommend this. It was torture! 2 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

update

I’ve been doing really good with my new year’s resolutions. If you missed my post where I talked about my 2015 bookish resolutions, click here. So far I’ve only bought 2 books from Book Outlet (that $5 coupon tempted me, okay?). I’m hoping to buy less than 15 books throughout the year so now I can only buy 13 books. As for my tbr pile, I’m doing pretty good with reading the books that are on my Kindle and shelves.

So I was thinking of doing a some sort of bookmark feature on the blog where I create bookmarks and post them up on here. I miss playing around on Photoshop and creating graphics so I thought it would be great to get back on my Photoshop grind and create cool bookmarks to show you guys. I’m also thinking creating book related graphics like avatars, banners, etc. Does it sound like something you would want to see? I also thought of another feature called Recover the Cover where YOU, yes you, will participate in a challenge where we will vote on a cover, then whichever cover gets the most votes, participants will re-make the cover (via Photoshop, drawing, whatever you want) and then I’ll post the entries on the blog and there will be a poll so people can vote on which cover they like. Whoever wins will get a book from The Book Depository. I need your thoughts on this one! Should I launch these features? Would you guys participate in the Recover the Cover feature?

mylife

I started school on Jan. 17 and I really like my schedule! I only go to school Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays and I’m taking 5 classes which are Computer Science (we’re learning C++), Calculus I, Women & Gender Studies (online class), History, and Human Communications. So far my most laid back class is History and the class I really don’t like is Human Communications (it’s a 7am class and I hate speeches!). Everything else is in-between. I have a love-hate relationship with my calc class because we only have 2 midterms, 1 final, homework, and a group project (not bad!) but the concept is hard especially sinceΒ my professor is bleh. Right now we’re learning about the delta-epsilon proofs…do any of y’all understand that? Honestly guys, I miss last semester. This semester I don’t see my friends anymore because some of them only have classes on Tuesdays & Thursdays and when I have class, they have their breaks. So how was January for you? For me it was pretty busy.

24 Responses to “January 2015 Wrap Up”


  1. 1 Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) January 31, 2015 at 12:25 AM

    Ooh I am glad that you liked The Cage! I found the cover to be a major turn off (guilty cover judger right here) so I clearly need to reconsider this and give it a go! Haha, good job on sticking to your resolutions. I…I’m doing okay on mine, I guess πŸ˜‰

  2. 3 Nara January 31, 2015 at 4:15 AM

    Ewww 7am classes? That’s terrible! I thought 8am was bad enough back when I had classes…not that I usually went to those lectures tbh though lol. Skipped them because I value my sleep πŸ˜›
    Interesting that you liked The Cage! I was debating whether or not to grab it off Edelweiss, but decided against it because the premise didn’t sound like the best. Sounds like I need to reconsider getting myself a copy! πŸ™‚

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 7:53 AM

      Hahaha right!? I just realized that I’m more functioning if I take morning classes compared to afternoon classes. I’m taking an afternoon class and I’m like dying in that class since I just want to go home and it’s boring (calculus). Pleaseee grab The Cage! I suggest going into it blind.

  3. 5 kezia1098 January 31, 2015 at 5:42 AM

    The Conspiracy of Us! I’m sooo dying to read that book! I’m wondering what you think of it, but since it wasn’t your best nor worst read, I’m assuming it’s in-between?

    I will definitely participate in your new feature (if I’m currently not busy at that time though!) I love playing around with photoshop and it’s one of my resolutions this year πŸ™‚ but sadly I haven’t been doing so thanks to my school work…

    I have no idea what delta-epsilon means O_O I’m still a junior okay? xD We learn trigonometry, matrix and limit functions in math class this year. But I wish you bets of luck with your study! <33

    • 6 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 7:56 AM

      Yeah The Conspiracy was a great read (3.5 stars). It did have some mystery in it which is always a plus for me, but man, the mystery in The Cage was just amazing! I’m really glad that you’ll participate in my new feature πŸ˜€

      And ooh that’s really good that you guys are already learning limit functions. That comes up a LOT in college math.

  4. 7 megan // adrift on vulcan January 31, 2015 at 8:51 AM

    Ooh wow, you read so many books this month! I’m kind of jealous — I only managed to finish one book so far; I started Red Queen at the beginning of the year, but only managed to get halfway through until now. Meh. But eep, I am so happy that The Cage was your favorite book of January! I’ve been looking forward to reading that one since forever, it just sounds so amazing. *o* Only problem is… I have Even In Paradise on my Kindle, and I’m not really looking forward to reading it now.

    Your new features sound really cool! Especially the cover one. There are so many cover features around the blogosphere, and while all of them are fun to read and all, they’re kind of lacking in uniqueness? That’s why I love the twist in your one. I’ll definitely participate in it. πŸ˜€ (Loving the name, too!)

    Haha, I’m currently wavering between college schedules that are crazy as hell, and ones that are so relaxed that even high school seems busier. xD But yay for nice schedules! Your classes all sound so interesting, so I hope you have lots of fun this February. ❀

    • 8 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 8:04 AM

      That’s okay! There are months where I don’t read any books at all! That happened alot during 2014 lol. Oh, how are you finding Red Queen? I thought it was good but resembled too much of other dystopian / fantasy books. Yay I’m glad you like the idea of my new feature!

  5. 9 Nova @ Out of Time January 31, 2015 at 10:40 AM

    I LOVED the idea for The Cage. I’m actually so excited to start it!

    WOW, your month has been busy. Mine was actually a mix. It started off really busy but then it got really chill towards the end. I did my first set of exams and after, we got half a week off so things were almost quiet.

    I haven’t read too many good books, to be honest, but I read Fairest which was awesome!

    My Stacking the Shelves + Montly Recap here!

    • 10 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 8:02 AM

      Yes! I hope you love it and I’ll def. look forward to reading your review. Oh that’s really good. Mine started the opposite. Since I was on break, the first 2 weeks of January was pretty chill and then I got busier. I should probably read Scarlet and Cress so that I can read Fairest next even though it’s a novella.

  6. 11 literateture January 31, 2015 at 6:10 PM

    Same!!!! I loved The Cage too ❀ It's my favourite for the month of January as well. I can't get over that cliffhanger…how did you ever copy? huhu I freaking need the second book NOW!

    http://www.lite-rate-ture.com

  7. 13 Lauren @ Lose Time Reading February 1, 2015 at 5:42 PM

    YES! I’m so excited to see that you loved The Cage! I picked this one from Edelweiss so I can’t wait to start it πŸ™‚ I didn’t really enjoy Even in Paradise too much either, I gave it three stars because I enjoyed her writing but otherwise it would have been lower. It really reminded me of the adult novel, Bittersweet. I love the idea of Recover the Cover! I suck at Photoshop and drawing so I probably wouldn’t be doing one but I would definitely be voting πŸ™‚

    I hope you have an awesome February Leigh!

  8. 16 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity February 2, 2015 at 5:03 PM

    So far I have heard pretty good things about THE CAGE, and it’s awesome that it was your favourite book of the month, Leigh! I think I may have to seriously consider reading it ASAP.

    Hurrah for doing well with your resolution! Besides my book fair, I didn’t actually buy my one book of the month. Which is pretty surprising because there were a few books I wanted to buy! >.< At least it means I'm going well, I guess.

    A bookmark feature sounds awesome, and I'd love to see what you come up with πŸ˜€

    • 17 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 7:59 AM

      Please do read it if you have an ARC. It’s sooo good! I also suggest going into it blind. If you haven’t read the summary, keep it that way.

      Oh wow that’s really good! Now you get to buy 2 books this Feb. πŸ™‚

  9. 18 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination February 3, 2015 at 3:06 PM

    I really want to read Red Queen and Between Shades of Gray. I actually just got Between Shades of Gray from the library, but I have a ton of books to finish before I can start reading it. I read Fangirl this month, too, but it was kind of a meh book for me. I wanted to like it so badly, though. Calculus sounds difficult. Are you in college? I’m a freshman in highschool, but I’ll be taking Calculus one junior year, and it seems scary. Ooh, computer science. I plan to take that in college.

    • 19 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 4, 2015 at 1:05 AM

      Ooh you should read it (I think reading it during winter will make you feel all the feels much more). Aww well I hope Rowell’s other books will be your cup of tea. I thought Fangirl was really awesome but the ending made me sad 😦 The ending was so open! And I wonder if she ever forgives her mom. Yup I’m a first year in college. Ooh you’re really lucky to be taking calculus I during junior year (not joking at all). I wish I had the chance to take calc during HS and actually tried harder so I wouldn’t have to be taking it now in college. If you guys have AP classes at your school, I really recommend taking a bunch of AP science and math classes (and pass it) especially if you want to go on a STEM major because there is a sh*tload of classes you have to take xD it’s better to get those out of the way so in college, your classes are more laid back. I hope you do take Computer Science! It’s sooo interesting to learn about the language and it’s crazy what humans and computers could do! Right now we’re learning how to open/close files through code. Not gonna lie, at first it’s confusing as hell especially if you have a professor that doesn’t explain the syntax well… good thing there are Youtube vids out there lol. Oh and ps. if your school has an AP Computer Science course take it so you can be ahead! LOL. I regret not taking AP classes related to my major so much xD

      • 20 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination February 5, 2015 at 6:44 PM

        Between Shades of Gray does look like a very wintery book. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it; it sure looks like the type of book I would enjoy. Thanks for the advice. My school does offer a ton of AP classes including AP Computer Science, so hopefully I can take enough that it lightens my load a bit in college. It’s so hard to fit everything into my schedule, though. 😦

  10. 21 Sydney February 3, 2015 at 8:44 PM

    Ooo, Red Queen! That’s awesome. I loved Fangirl. πŸ˜›

    I love your bookish goals for 2015, and good luck buying only 15 books! I would save those for the extra special books you want. The library and your shelves are definitely good alternates! I have the luxury of borrowing books from work, so it’s almost like a library system…without the library lol.

    Ooo, computer science sounds cool! But noooo thanks on the calculus part. I would gladly skip that, ha.

    • 22 Leigh (LittleBookStar) February 6, 2015 at 7:57 AM

      Fangirl was awesome! Such a funny and cute read . I think I will write my review on it tomorrow. Yeah I’m saving those 13 slots left for books I REALLY want. Haha I hate Calculus right now and some of my friends are art majors so they’re like “Good thing I don’t have to suffer through that” and I’m like “good for you -_-“

  11. 23 Laura @ canido52 February 20, 2015 at 2:29 PM

    I loved even in paradise… It’s such a shame you didn’t – but we all have different tastes. I liked the writing and the comparisons to the Great Gatsby. But hey… if it’s not your thing then there are plenty of other great books out there πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

