Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

13206760 Genre: YA Sci-Fi
Published: February 5, 2013 by Feiwel and Friends
Series: #2 (Lunar Chronicles)
Length: 452 Pages
Source: bought (at Barnes & Noble)

“Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.”

review

Scarlet was such a fantastic read! If you didn’t know, this is a re-telling of the Little Red Riding Hood and is a continuation of the first book, Cinder. What made me kept my nose glued to this book is that I wanted to know what Scarlet’s relation is to Cinder. I kept wondering “what is the connection between Scarlet and Cinder? How and when are they going to meet?”. I also liked how the story takes place in two different countries: France (where Scarlet is) and China (where Cinder is). I thought Marissa Meyer pulled it off.

I really liked how Scarlet and Cinder were such badasses. Scarlet is determined to protect her grandmother and is willing to sacrifice herself in order for her grandmother to live. I also like how she broke the archetype of females being the damsel in distress. Cinder didn’t appear in the story as frequently as Scarlet (which makes sense since the title is Scarlet lol) but I thought that was okay! I think Cinder really matured in this book. She’s such an admirable character because even though I know she’s hurt in the inside from all the horrible situations she’s been in, she is still as tough as nails.

The romance was great too! Since the summary doesn’t introduce the two new guy characters in this book, I won’t be telling you about them. Just know that they’re hilarious! Overall if you enjoyed the first book, I think you should definitely read Scarlet because the story just keeps getting better and better. I don’t see myself rereading Scarlet or say it’s my favorite book (since I am a sci-fi fan) but I thought it was an awesome read nonetheless.

4 of 5

23 Responses to “Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer”


  1. 1 One Curvy Blogger March 10, 2015 at 12:50 PM

    I cannot wait to read Scarlet! It’s sitting in my public library pile of books I need to read and I’m itching to bury my nose in it, even though I have other books I need to read first. Can’t wait to see what I think about the book, too. πŸ˜€ Awesome review!

  2. 3 Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity March 14, 2015 at 12:09 AM

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked this, Leigh πŸ˜€

    I absolutely loved Scarlet as a character, and I loved to see Cinder grow, as well. I also think that Meyer did an excellent job of weaving the two characters and their stories together! I agree with you when you say that this book got even better than CINDER. I definitely liked it more (if not only for the introduction of Wolf and Thorne – I LOVED THEM).

    I still haven’t read CRESS, but I have heard nothing but praise. So hopefully you like it when you get around to it πŸ˜€

  3. 5 Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination March 14, 2015 at 8:37 AM

    Scarlet is my favorite book in the series. I love how brave Scarlet was to go out and find her grandmother. It was also really interesting to see how Scarlet and Cinder connected. Marissa Meyer is so good at weaving the paths of her characters together. I also really liked how there were parts of the Beauty and the Beast in there, too.

  4. 7 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert March 18, 2015 at 6:21 AM

    I think each book in this series just keeps getting better and better and as a whole, I love it to pieces! Have you read Cress yet? The stories weave together much more quickly in Cress. And I think that book is even more awesome!

  5. 9 Sam March 20, 2015 at 7:10 PM

    YAY! I’m so glad you liked this book. The lunar chronicles is one of my favorite series’ and it is always nice to find other fans! I agree–the romance was awesome and the MC is just as great! I hope you read Cress, because it only gets better. πŸ™‚

  6. 11 Sydney March 22, 2015 at 7:56 PM

    I’m so glad you liked this! The Lunar Chronicles is definitely one of my favorites because it just gets better and better, which thank goodness for. Cress is a great 3rd installment! I have high hopes for Winter, which I hope aren’t dashed.

    Also YES to the romance. I adored it. They’re even cuter in Cress, and Wolf is precious. ❀

  7. 13 Victoria March 27, 2015 at 9:56 AM

    Hello there! πŸ™‚
    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award.
    Join in and Enjoy!

    Btw, you do have a lovely blog.

    Ciao,
    Victoria
    http://www.victoriamagtoto.blogspot.com

  8. 15 kezia1098 March 31, 2015 at 6:24 AM

    I’m glad that you enjoyed it, Leigh! I thought this book was a bit disappointing though. Scarlet was a pretty great character but honestly, I loved Cinder better for some reason. But I’m still excited to read Cress <33

  9. 17 jilliansbooks April 1, 2015 at 4:38 AM

    YES. Isn’t this book just awesome? πŸ™‚ Glad you loved it too! I have to agree that Meyer did an awesome job keeping up with both Cinder and Scarlet, even if both were in two different settings. It’s amazing! I really loved The Lunar Chronicles πŸ™‚

  10. 19 Sharmaine@Bookworm's Avenue April 3, 2015 at 10:11 PM

    This is one of my favorite reads last year! Such masterpiece Marissa Meyer has done, right? I love how she incorporated Cinderella and Red Riding Hood’s stories. I haven’t gotten around Cress yet but will read it soon when my exams are done.

  11. 21 weezled April 15, 2015 at 5:59 PM

    I adored this book! I can’t wait for Winter!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

