Review: We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist

21822422 Genre: YA Contemporary (Memoir)
Published: December 23, 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Length: 336 Pages
Source: gifted (thanks to my bro’s)

A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist: Paralympic ski racer, YouTube star, and motivational speaker.

Josh Sundquist only ever had one girlfriend.
For twenty-three hours.
In eighth grade.

Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong?

The results of Josh’s semiscientific, wholly hilarious investigation are captured here. From a disastrous Putt-Putt date involving a backward prosthetic foot, to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing), to a misguided “grand gesture” at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love–or at least a girlfriend–in all the wrong places.

review

This book was such a fantastic read! It only took me 2 days to devour the awesomeness and awkwardness of Josh and his experiences with girls. I don’t usually read memoirs but when I heard + read the plot of We Should Hang Out Sometime, I was immediately sold. I have never read a book that is about a real person investigating why him and the person he dated back then never really became girlfriend/boyfriend. I thought that was cool for him to do because it takes a lot of guts to do that! The book is divided into 6 sections which are the six girls he dated/almost dated back then. Then each section is divided into 3 sections again which is background, hypothesis, and investigation…and finally, each sections are divided into chapters.

I think the best way to read this book is to just read it without knowing anything except that it’s a true story about a guy who figures out what went wrong with him and his past dates by ASKING THEM. The stories were hilarious, embarrassing, and awkward which made me relate in a way. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t crack up while reading this book because the stuff that happens in here were just really funny. The only minor problem I had was I wish the investigation parts were much longer. I was expecting for that section to be the longest since I thought the majority of the book would be about him confronting the girl and asking “what happened to us?”.

Overall I really recommend everyone to check this book out and read it right away because I think it’s not just an almost love story, but it’s also about coming-of-age. If you want a good laugh or want to get out of a reading slump, then this one is a must read.

14 Responses to “Review: We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist”


  1. 1 SERIESous Book Reviews April 14, 2015 at 8:36 AM

    This book sounds like a lot of fun! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

  2. 3 jilliansbooks April 14, 2015 at 10:22 PM

    Hehe I’ve heard of this book and actually thought it was a fictional story because the cover looked cartoonish and all. But wow I found out only a few months ago that it was a memoir. I’m surprised a lot of people enjoyed reading it 🙂 I’m glad you did too! And I’ll definitely give this a try if I see it in the store next time. Thanks for lovely review! I love the idea and how it’s divided into 6 sections and all 😀

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    • 4 Leigh (LittleBookStar) April 14, 2015 at 11:41 PM

      That’s what I thought too! But after watching booktubers talk about this book on how it’s a memoir, I was intrigued even more to read it. Also, the author is a Youtuber so I immediately checked out his vids after reading the book. I hope you like it too!

  3. 5 Sydney April 15, 2015 at 11:40 AM

    I’ve heard of this book but because it had some mixed reviews I put it on the “maybe” shelf! I might check it out if I see it again, though. 😛 I love coming-of-age novels and I find it adorable that he goes back to his previous dates and asks them what’s wrong with him, why they didn’t want to go out with him anymore. Great review!

  4. 7 Ashley @The Quiet Concert April 15, 2015 at 6:10 PM

    I really enjoyed this one as well. I was laughing out loud through it and just loved the message. I agree with you, I definitely think its good to go into it without knowing too much!

  5. 9 Alise (Readers in Wonderland) April 16, 2015 at 7:28 PM

    I’m with you, this isn’t something I would normally read but I can see myself enjoying it too as I’m sure I could relate to some of the stories as well. Glad you liked it!

  6. 11 Nara April 17, 2015 at 4:47 AM

    This sounds like it would be a really uplifting read! I’m not normally one for memoirs, but this one definitely sounds something I’d enjoy.

  7. 13 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert April 19, 2015 at 7:12 AM

    Ashley really liked this one too so I definitely want to pick it up at some point!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,507 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

