Review: Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

17383918 Genre: YA Dystopian
Published: October 22, 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books
Series: #3 (Divergent)
Length: 526 pages
Source: Bought

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningliess. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

review

I have mixed feelings for this book, but for the most part I did enjoy reading Allegiant. I’ll start off with what I did not like. I understand why Veronica did the dual point of view with Tris and Tobias and I DO like it, but what I did not like is how they sounded so similar. Even though at the beginning of the chapter it says who’s narrating it, it still gets confusing especially if you decide to stop reading in the middle of the chapter then continue to read it later on. Also I think Allegiant has a much slower pace compared to Divergent and Insurgent maybe because of our questions finally being answered since it’s the finale, but nonetheless I still managed to fly through this book (not as quickly as I did for Divergent & Insurgent though). Also I thought the “big revelation” was a bit anticlimactic..like the explanation made sense, but I thought “oh okay…that’s it?” I was looking for something more, but I’m glad that it did made sense.

Now on to the things I loved. I really loved the character developments especially with Four. I also like the themes presented in this book which are love, sacrifice, friendship, and of course bravery. Believe it or not, I really like what happens in the end. I already know the big bang that happens before going into it because someone spoiled me on Instagram, but I do like it because it makes sense since the trilogy is about being brave and selfless. I actually cried in some parts of the book which I rarely do because I’m not a crier when it comes to reading books, but this one just made me so sad for all the characters. Overall I highly recommend you to read this because it is one of those books that will make you feel all the feels and a book that will leave an impact on you in so many ways.

4 of 5

14 Responses to “Review: Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth”


  1. 1 SERIESous Book Reviews May 19, 2015 at 2:38 PM

    I completely agree that the revelation was anticlimactic. Given the ending of Insurgent, I was stoked to read Allegiant but felt like it was a lot of talking and not so much doing. So on this front I was very disappointed.

    I also liked the ending even if I wished it didn’t have to go down like that haha. It sucks someone spoiled it for you because it shocked me 😦 But I agree, I think it was a great way to end the series given its major themes.

    I’m worried about how they are going to break this into two movies…I honestly don’t see how.

    • 2 Leigh (LittleBookStar) May 20, 2015 at 9:53 PM

      Yeah I thought Allegiant was more on talking than the action which I understand since it’s the last book = questions should be finally answered. I just wished it was the most action packed book out of the trilogy though :/ Omg yes I was so mad when I read a spoiler on instagram!!! Like, it was right there on my face! I wish I could undo it but what’s done is done lol. Oh man, they’re breaking it into two movies!? I mean, there’s not that much action scenes so I think it can fit into 1 movie… hmm hopefully it does justice.

  2. 4 Nara May 20, 2015 at 5:59 AM

    Completely agree about the dual POV- they sounded identical!! I actually remember being confused in some chapters because I thought that it was Tris narrating but then it turned out to be Four and vice versa. Not ideal…

    Tbh I feel like the revelation didn’t really make sense. As someone with a strong science background, I think I just questioned the scientific basis a bit too much to accept it haha

    I did like the book overall though! I think what happened with Tris was actually quite fitting, especially if you consider her character.

    • 5 Leigh (LittleBookStar) May 20, 2015 at 9:58 PM

      Yup I was confused from time to time while reading other chapters too. Hmm I can see why the explanations did not made sense for others… I mean, how can genetics control on person’s personality, you know? But I guess I just went along with her explanations b/c anything can be possible lol. Yup I’m glad Veronica did that with her character!

  3. 6 Megan (ง︡'-'︠)ง May 22, 2015 at 1:31 AM

    Ahhh, I get so nervous whenever I think about Allegiant! I’m currently re-reading Insurgent now in preparation for when I get to the finale and I’m both anxious and excited at the same time. Most reviews seemed to find the book either really bad or just okay. 😦 But I’m relieved that you enjoyed it!

    That’s my main issue with alternating POVs, honestly. I don’t have that great experiences with them because like you said, two characters can come across as sounding similar (though I guess that Tris and Tobias DO have a lot of similarities…), thus making the book confusing, and because they tend to distance me from the characters. But I’m still excited to read from Four’s perspective, hehehe. And ugh, that sucks about the anti-climatic revelation. It’s so disappointing when a series builds up to something, only to let you down with a pretty uninspiring explanation.

    Yep, I know what happens at the end too (at least, what happens to a very important someone) because someone’s comment on my blog gave it away without warning. I’m wavering between frustration and sadness. I’m interested to see how it happens, though, and hopefully it will be just as emotional as you described! 🙂

    • 7 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 16, 2015 at 1:02 PM

      That’s true how Tris and Tobias have a lot of similarities which is why the alternating chapters sounded alike, but I wish Tobias’s pov sounded a tad different. It’s a shame that people are putting spoilers everywhere 😦 Like, let me read the book first, yo!

  4. 8 Aimee May 22, 2015 at 8:31 AM

    One reason why dual POVs don’t work for me at times is definitely the similar voice. I hate having to go back to check the chapter heading to see who’s narrating.

    I love it when you non-criers end up crying during some reads! That just means that the book is really passionate and will make you feel all the things.

    Fabulous review, Leigh!

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    • 9 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 16, 2015 at 1:03 PM

      That’s true, I hate checking back on the first page of the chapter just to know who’s talking, especially when I’m using my Kindle to read. And yes! I always love it when I read in people’s reviews that they cried over a book even though they’re not criers. That just makes me want to get the book asap and read it. Thanks Aimee ^.^

  5. 10 Mary May 23, 2015 at 7:18 AM

    I love this series. I need to go back and re-read them all because I can’t remember so much that happened. The only downside of reading so many books, haha.

  6. 12 Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) June 7, 2015 at 10:35 PM

    Yeah I really didn’t like the dual POV for the main reason that it just confused the heck outta me because their voices were just so similar! Glad that you liked this one in general though, Leigh!

    Nice review <33

    • 13 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 16, 2015 at 1:05 PM

      Same! I wish it was just a tad different. But I understand why the author did it though. At least the dual POV was relevant and wasn’t done just so Allegiant was different from the other books in the trilogy.

  7. 14 listfulbookingblog June 27, 2015 at 5:02 PM

    I wasn’t as let down with this final installment as a lot of people were. I completely agree with the dual POV’s though. There wasn’t much difference between the two! I had the ending spoiled for me so I knew what I was getting into, but it was still pretty shocking.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,512 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

