Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

23287168 Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: June 16, 2015 by HarperCollins
Length: 304 pages
Source: HarperCollins (ARC)

“Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.”

review

I got two words for this book: SO GOOD. I was hooked on from start to finish because I really wanted to know what would happen in the end. Would Ella forgive Matt? Why did Matt leave Ella out of the blue? I believe it only took me a day and a half to finish The Night We Said Yes. This book switches from past to present so we could see how everything changed from when Matt and Ella were together to them not even being friends. At the first few chapters, I was a bit confused whether I was reading the past or present because the events were very similar. The present was kind of like re-enacting the past. Don’t worry though, before the chapter begins, it will say “Present” or “Past”.

What made me love this book so much is because it was very relatable and the timing was perfect when I read this book. Let’s just say something like this happened to me a couple of hours before I started reading this. I thought it was crazy that I was reading a story that was similar to the stuff happening to me in real life.

I love Ella and Matt together and as a person! I finally have an answer to the question “which fictional characters do you ship?”. It would have to be THEM because they rock! Ella isn’t quite outgoing but she isn’t shy either which is definitely like me. Matt has a really cute personality and he’s just so realistic. He is part of a band and plays the bass. I also love the side characters which are Ella and Matt’s best friends. All these characters are flawed which made me love them more.

Overall I totally recommend you reading this especially if you’re a contemporary lover like me. I don’t even know how many times I mentioned the word love in this review haha. It is definitely a quick read and one of those books that is memorable. I can see myself reading this in the future (and this is coming from a reader who doesn’t like rereading).

17 Responses to “Review: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi”


  1. 1 Hazel @ Stay Bookish June 9, 2015 at 12:49 AM

    So nice to hear you enjoyed this one, Leigh! I actually started reading it sometime ago but wasn’t really getting into it. I do want to give it a go again and hopefully I’ll be more into the story then. Lovely review! 🙂

  2. 3 SERIESous Book Reviews June 9, 2015 at 2:06 PM

    This…sounds…amazing! It sounds like the perfect summer read! Definitely adding this to my TBR list 😉

  3. 5 jilliansbooks June 10, 2015 at 4:14 AM

    So glad you loved this! I loved the book too! ❤ I also finished this in a day and a half because it was that intriguing! And Matt and Ella were definitely shippable. They're so adorable it makes me want to squeeze them to bits! I wish there would be a sequel or something. Like, what would happen if Ella finally moves away? I'd love to find out haha. Beautiful review!

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

  4. 7 Haraiah June 12, 2015 at 2:49 AM

    I’ve been hearing a lot of hype about this book lately. It sounds like How to Love by Katie Cotugno with the male lead leaving town only to get back a year later and the alternating past and present POVs. I really loved that book eventhough I had a lot of issues with it as first so I am hoping to love this one, too! I’m getting really excited to get into it. I’m glad you love it! 🙂

    Haraiah @ Random Things In Action

    • 8 Leigh (LittleBookStar) June 16, 2015 at 12:56 PM

      Oooh I can see how it’s like How to Love but I think this book is way better. It has the same concept like boy leaves, comes back, but the characters just irritated me in HtL. I really hope you love this one!

  5. 9 Jessica @ Bookish Serendipity June 14, 2015 at 1:58 PM

    I am so excited to read The Night We Said Yes. I don’t read enough contemporary YA, so I’ll definitely be trying this one soon. I’ve read a few stories recently that alternate between the past and present, which is always cool! Plus, being unable to put a book down is always an amazing feeling. Thanks for the wonderful review!

  6. 11 Megan (ง︡'-'︠)ง June 15, 2015 at 8:59 PM

    Omg, I read the blurb for the first time and was like, “I NEED ANSWERS.” Then I read your review and now I’m all, “I NEED THIS BOOK.” You’re right, I want to read it not because of the characters or anything, but because I want to find out what happens! xD And wow, the coincidence and timing of this book is incredible. It’s one of the best feelings ever when you come across a story that actually fits in with what you’re going through irl.

    You make Matt and Ella sound so good together, my inner hopeless romantic is already swooning, hehe. I’ve been really in the mood for some good, shippable romances ever since I finished Allegiant, which broke my heart into a million pieces. I shipped Tris and Four too hard, it seems.

    Anyway, sweet review! The Night We Said Yes sounds like the perfect summer read, so I’m hoping I get to read it soon. 😀

  7. 13 Nicole @ The Quiet Concert June 20, 2015 at 8:08 AM

    How weird that something like this happened to you right before you started reading! I can’t wait to read this one because of all the glowing reviews I’ve been reading! Great review!

  8. 15 Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life June 28, 2015 at 8:42 PM

    Woah, that’s so cool that something similar happened to you just before you started reading this novel!! YA books can be weirdly relatable like that. 😉 I’m LOVING the sound of these flawed characters!! The two main characters definitely sound like they’re very fleshed out and realistic, and they sound great together too. 😉 It’s awesome that the secondary characters are also pretty developed- I love seeing that in novels! It adds so much depth.

    I’m honestly not the biggest contemp fan but I can already tell this is one I absolutely need to pick up. It sounds like a great summer read that’s actually memorable. Lovely, lovely review Leigh! <33

  9. 17 lorrainebronte July 25, 2015 at 2:42 PM

    I definitely want to check this out – it sounds a lot like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist or a Sarah Dessen book. I’ll definitely be adding this to my TBR list!


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

