Review: The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan

4502507 Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: January 25, 2011 by Disney Hyperion Books
Series: #5 (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)
Length: 381 pages
Source: Bought

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds are against them. Kronos is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, his power only grows.           

In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling series, the prophecy surrounding Percy‘s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.”

review

Umm, where do I even begin? This series was just FANTASTIC. The best Greek mythology series I could ever ask for. I’m pretty sure most of you have read this book so I’ll keep this review short and straight to the point. I fell in love with this series because of the characters. They were so realistic and you could relate to them on a personal level even though they’re demigods, satyrs, etc. You’re probably thinking “oh this book is just a bunch of sword fighting, magic stuff, etc.”. You’re correct, but it’s also about friendships and families. I love seeing the half bloods’ (half mortal half god) relationship with their family and friends at Camp Half Blood. It made me WANT to go there even though I know it doesn’t exist :(.

It was also so action packed that I flew through the series in a short amount of time. I have NEVER binged read a series before because my attention span to a series is very short as there are other books I’m keeping an eye on so if I say I binged read the entire series then it must be that good! Also, this book started off with a BANG. Usually the book starts off with Percy at school in New York or him in Camp Half Blood, but The Last Olympian began with a fighting scene already! I also love the action scenes that happened towards the end. I was so nervous for the characters and how Rick Riordan was going to wrap up this series.

Overall if you have not read it, I suggest you do because it is the perfect summer read! It’s so easy to fly through this book because it’s fast paced and it will make you laugh out loud…literally *stares at Dionysus*. I am very satisfied with the conclusion and I can’t wait to read Heroes of Olympus, the spin off series.

5 of 5

10 Responses to “Review: The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan”


  1. 1 Claudia Victoria August 7, 2015 at 8:09 PM

    I felt so sad when this series ended. It was like 40% of my childhood. But it was so, SO good and any Greek mythology-based book I read after this will never live up to Percy Jackson.

    Please go read The Heroes of Olympus! They have much more Percabeth scenes, much more Percy, and much more action!

    Claudia Victoria @ PenMarkings

  2. 3 literateture August 8, 2015 at 12:18 AM

    It’s so sad that the series already ended…I don’t like the later books of Rick Riordan this was my favorite of his huhu Glad you loved it!

    http://www.lite-rate-ture.com

  3. 5 Cait @ Paper Fury August 8, 2015 at 2:40 AM

    I love this series so much too! 😀 It took me a bit longer to warm up though…I wasn’t such a wild fan of the first two books, but after that?! TALK ABOUT HOOKED. Have you read the second PJ series?? I’ve only got one book to go and I adore them soso much. :’) I’ll bad sad when it’s all over tho…
    http://paperfury.com/my-rather-odd-editing-process/

  4. 7 Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales August 8, 2015 at 5:10 AM

    I really really need to read this series. This is one hyped up series that I never got around to reading, and I actually don’t think that I’ll ever take up these books, but still, I want to see what’s the fuss is all about. Plus I really love Greek mythology, so I don’t want to miss out an author who’s famous for his take on the concept.

    • 8 Leigh @ Little Book Star August 9, 2015 at 8:34 PM

      Oh no please pick it up Mishma! It’s SO good. I promise you they are fast reads and not those MG books where the writing is dumbed down. I think this book is perfect for fans of YA who wants to get into MG books.

  5. 9 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence August 8, 2015 at 11:08 PM

    YESSS I just LOVED this series, it was really fantastic with the Greek gods and everything! This one was definitely a really epic installment! So great to hear that you enjoyed it, Leigh.


Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,522 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

