Why You DON’T Need a Blogging Schedule {Discuss #22}

discuss

So this discussion post is kind of contradicting to last week’s discussion post since that one talked about my blogging schedule :P. But really, you DON’T need a blogging schedule if you don’t want to! I thought of laying the PROS of NOT having a blogging schedule because that is totally okay, too!

PROS of not having a schedule (for the blogger)

  • You don’t feel obligated to make a post during XYZ days!

Let’s say you post on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. During Tuesdays, you post your Top Ten Tuesday meme, Thursdays for reviews or discussion posts, and book hauls on Saturdays. Well, if you don’t have a schedule, guess what? You won’t feel bad if you miss a TTT post or if you forget to link up your book haul post on Stacking the Shelves meme! Also, I think there’s this invisible “rule” that discussion posts go up on Thursdays & book hauls go up on Saturdays. I just wanted to tell you that you can put up those posts which ever days you want to!

  • More reading time

Since you don’t have to post for a certain day, you can just choose to read instead of writing a new blog post. You can choose to have more reading time instead of working on your blog because you don’t have to post anything! Heck, you can just not post during the whole week and just binge read those series!

PROS of not having a schedule (for the reader)

  • It’s exciting for us when you have a new post!

I actually love it when bloggers do not have a blog schedule because that means their next post is a SURPRISE! I love it when a new, random post comes up on my Bloglovin’ feed from my favorite blog. I’m just like YAY! HE/SHE HAS A NEW POST UP! *checks it out*.

  • More hits/pageviews

Since we don’t know when your next post will be, it’s hard to not constantly check your blog! At least, that’s what I do to the blogs I love. I constantly check their blog to see if they have a new post up because they’re just super awesome!

 

So, did I miss any PROS of not having a blog schedule? Comment down below and let me know your thoughts on this topic.

13 Responses to “Why You DON’T Need a Blogging Schedule {Discuss #22}”


  1. 1 SarahClare November 18, 2015 at 7:35 PM

    I don’t have a schedule.. I just post ’em or have ’em ready to go as I write them! I think there are definitely pros and cons to having a schedule.. and yeah, I think it just comes down to whatever works for you true?

    Cool post! 😀

  2. 2 Shannelle C. November 20, 2015 at 5:31 AM

    I’m not really sure how many people would randomly check the blog if they know someone isn’t posting, because that’s not my preference, but it is such an interesting point. Anyway, I’m currently posting irregularly because of university, and while I was feeling a little bad for abandoning my schedule, this cheered me up.

    • 3 Leigh @ Little Book Star January 10, 2016 at 10:03 PM

      Ooh I see your point, but sometimes I just randomly check blogs xD Maybe it’s just me but sometimes I don’t even bother going on Bloglovin.
      I’ve been posting very irregularly too due to college :/ and I’m glad it cheered you up!

  3. 4 Josephine November 21, 2015 at 5:44 AM

    Wow! Interesting discussion! While I don’t have a particular ‘schedule’ for my blog, I do have preferred days in which I like to blog. And I also have certain features dedicated to different days. However I don’t put pressure on myself to do it EVERY week constantly.
    But you’re so right about not needing a schedule. There are so many pros, but of course there are the cons that come with it! I think in certain circumstances, a schedule is great and maybe even necessary, to keep up a regular flow and motivation to keep blogging!
    But each to their own I say! Wonderful discussion 💓

    • 5 Leigh @ Little Book Star January 10, 2016 at 10:00 PM

      I definitely agree with you! Sometimes I’m trying to schedule a post and I’m a blogger who doesn’t like posting more than 1 blog post per day so a calendar with all the schedules noted is really helpful. But lately all it has done for me is put unnecessary pressure instead of the pro (like you said) which is motivation for blogging. I’m going to try this year to keep a simple schedule though. I really hope it works out.

  4. 6 Cait @ Paper Fury November 21, 2015 at 1:44 PM

    These are definitely good pros. 😉 I…I have like a kinda blogging schedule?! I’d be lost without it though. XD It’s flexible though! So some weeks I’ll do recaps and other weeks not, and I at least slip in one review on a weekday. But I like to keep the WHAT I post WHEN mixed up so people don’t know what’s coming. 😛 It’s a great idea to get people to keep checking to see what you’ll do!!

    • 7 Leigh @ Little Book Star January 10, 2016 at 9:57 PM

      I think blogging schedule can be really handy but for me it doesn’t work anymore because I’m so lazy errr busy? Eh, more like lazy lol. I just have trouble keeping up with it :/ I’m trying to have a schedule again..just a simple Wednesday and Saturday posts.

  5. 8 L Zahrah December 27, 2015 at 5:50 AM

    i think i have a blogging schedule but since school started i kind of screwed it up????? maybe its better if i dont push myself to write a new post and just flow without schedule, but idk

    nice post!

    • 9 Leigh @ Little Book Star January 10, 2016 at 9:56 PM

      Don’t worry, I screwed mine up too D: Now that it’s a new year, my ‘schedule’ will probably be along the lines of posting a review/discussion/hauls on Wednesdays and Saturdays…and that’s about it! I really don’t want to put pressure on myself anymore.

  6. 10 Cate T. January 6, 2016 at 10:21 AM

    You raised good points. And I never though about the pros for the readers. Thank you for that idea.

    I don’t have a blogging schedule either. For both blogs. My events blog only gets updated when I’m recapping an event I went to and even that is not done in a timely manner. My book blog… eh, I’m trying to be better at it but it’s a work in progress.

    Bottom line, I’m passive in my “blogging career”. There are times when I can go on every single day and then nothing for weeks.


  1. 1 Spotlight Saturday #11 | Weekly Feature | Josies Book Corner Trackback on November 21, 2015 at 7:45 AM
  2. 2 Retrospect #99: November 22 | Word Revel Trackback on November 22, 2015 at 11:36 AM

Leave a Reply

Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,520 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin

