Posts Tagged 'tour stop'



{Tour Stop} Fractured (Mirrorland #1) by Majanka Verstraete – Book Feature + Giveaway

FBT

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter
Buy Link: Amazon

Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: August 1, 2013 by Inkspell Publishing
Series: #1 (Mirrorland)
Length: 210 pages
When Piper discovers an old antique mirror on the attic of her new home, she has no idea what terror she unlocked.

Eerie shadows lurking in the night and estranged voices crying out for help are only the beginning. As Piper’s world comes crumbling down, she realizes everything that she believed was imaginary, might have been real all along.

Something is very wrong with that mirror. And if she doesn’t find out what, the mirror might end up killing her.

With some help of old and new friends, Piper tries to get to the bottom of the mystery. One thing is for certain: the mirror preys on the guilty.  But what exactly is she guilty of?”

theauthor

Majanka Verstraete is a twenty-two-year old Belgian law school student. Writing is her passion, and has been ever since she learned how to read.

She writes about all things supernatural for children of all ages. She’s tried to write contemporary novels before, but something paranormal always manages to crawl in.

Her debut picture book, Valentina and the Haunted Mansion, released on May 20th, 2013. She has four books coming up in September 2013. The first is another picture book in the Valentina’s Spooky Adventures series, titled Valentina and the Whackadoodle Witch. Then there’s the first two books of her debut chapter book series titled Weirdville, The Doll Maker and House of Horrors. Her debut young adult novel, Fractured, the first book in the Mirrorland series, will release in September as well.

giveaway

15 ecopies of Fractured (INTL)

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)

{Tour Stop} The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski – Review

Website | Goodreads

Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | The Book Depository

The Paradox of Vertical Flight Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 24, 2013 by Greenwillow
Length: 272 pages
Source: Greenwillow (ARC)

What happens when you put a suicidal eighteen-year-old philosophy student, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend, and his newborn baby in a truck and send them to Grandma’s house? This debut novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Jay Asher.

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, philosophy student and high school senior Jack Polovsky is somewhat seriously thinking of suicide when his cell phone rings. Jack’s ex-girlfriend, Jess, has given birth, and Jack is the father. Jack hasn’t spoken with Jess in about nine months—and she wants him to see the baby before he is adopted. The new teenage father kidnaps the baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Wal-Mart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and the ex-girlfriend. As they head to Grandma’s house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates about Homer, Troy, Aristotle, the real Socrates, and the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. Funny, heart-wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fate, fatherhood, and myth.

review

Wow. This book is very unique in a good way! I knew from the start that this book is special. The Paradox of Vertical Flight is about Jack, an 18 year old, who could not believe that his ex-girlfriend, Jess, is giving birth and that he is the father. He decides to kidnap the baby, and they go through all of this adventures. It is told from Jack’s point of view and it is written in 1st person. What I love about this book is the author’s writing style. It flowed smoothly, and I felt like I was with the main characters throughout the novel. I also like how the story was realisitc yet it wasn’t. I hope that made sense lol. There were a lot of scenes where you could see it in real life, but the book as a whole was a metaphor for me which I thought was really cool. The author delivered his message very clear. What is the message? You would have to read the book to know. The same thing goes for the title.

The characters are just awesome. They are very witty especially Tommy, Jack’s best friend. The story revolves around Jack, Jess (his ex-girlfriend), Socrates (Jack and Jess’s newborn baby) and Tommy. While they go on this journey, they share to each other their beliefs and stories which I found very interesting. The person I can relate the most with was Jack. We have some similarities especially the way we think. In the book, he thinks a lot about the world, time, and a lot of philosophical ideas. Like Jack, I also think about how the world is etc. I won’t go into any details because that would be a spoiler. I think Jack is a very open minded person, but at times, he could really be immature which is okay! While Jack and Tommy are kind of like the goofballs in this book, Jess is the responsible and mature one. I picture her as Jack and Tommy’s alarm clock; she wakes them up to reality.

Overall I highly recommend you read this wonderful, and exciting novel. If you have those friends who literally  thinks nothing but parties and boys, I suggest you shove this book up to this face because it has a lot of life lessons especially about family, friends, and responsibilities with a touch of humor. Just kidding, don’t shove it to their face, but recommend it to them 😉

4.5 of 5

{Tour Stop} The Wild Wood by Julie Anne Nelson – Review + Giveaway

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Buy Link: Amazon

Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: June 23, 2012 by Young Mountain Publishing
Series: Volume #1
Length: 298 pages
Source: (author) review copy

In the town of Dunlowe, being different can be deadly. No one knows this better than the seven girls born on the exact same day, at the exact same time. From birth, they’ve been feared, judged, and controlled. And yet, still loved by their families. Still hoping for a future. Still believing that acceptance would one day come. As their seventeenth birthday approaches, events occur that leave Cecily Daye and the other girls grasping with the possibility that their oppressors might have been right about them all along. Maybe they are as evil as the town has believed. But without an answer, they must make a choice when the town turns on them: to die or to run to the one place no person would follow – they must enter The Wild Wood.”

review

The Wild Wood by Julie Anne Nelson was a very interesting read. The story starts off with Cecily who lives in a town where it is believed that the sevens (7 girls who were born on the same day & time) were evil. Cecily is one of them, and as her and the other six’s 17th birthday draws near, the people begins to feel more frightened. I really like how the book started off. It has a cult vibe and while I was reading it, I could picture the scenes like a movie in my head. There’s a place in the book called Wild Wood which intrigued me, and that made me keep on reading.

I really like the characters in this book especially our main character Cecily. I love how she changed from the beginning to the end. She was shy at first and was even nicknamed as “chicken” by her significant other (how nice of him *sarcasm*), but towards the middle to the end of the book, she gained confidence. She acted as a leader to the other six which I did not see coming at all. I like how she got out of her comfort zone. The other character that I liked was Dusty, Cecily’s brother. He also changed from the beginning to the end of the book. For me, he represents the people’s opinions. While a part of him senses that her sister and the others are evil, a part of him also believes that they are not. Throughout the book, we’ll see him constantly changing his mind whether or not he should side with the people or his sister who is known as evil.

Although I enjoyed parts of the book (especially the first half), there were some parts that I did not really enjoyed. I did not like how the first half of the book that had a cult vibe transitioned into a fantasy aspect. I just thought the transition was kind of weird, and it felt like it was a whole new different story.  I wish the supporting characters were given a louder voice; the sisters and other characters were really interesting, but I thought weren’t given a loud and distinct voice. They sounded a bit the same at times. I also wish that the Wild Wood was ‘magical’ or ‘intriguing’ as I thought it would be. When I found out what it was and why it was special, I was like “ohh that’s it?”.

Overall it was an okay/good read! I’m looking forward to read the sequel and would recommend it if you’re up for a book with cults and fantasy elements. If you like a protagonist that changes throughout the book, then I suggest you pick this one up!

3 of 5

giveaway

1 Signed Copy of The Wild Wood & Gift Card (INTL)

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE (RAFFLECOPTER)


Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,559 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin