The Book Blogging Community in 20 Yrs. {Discuss #7}

discuss

Have you ever wondered how the book blogging community will be like in 20 years? Not me. I just thought of it right now that’s why I’m making a discussion post about it. Wow. It’s 2013 right now and in 20 years it’s *gets out my calculator* 2033 O_O I’m 17 years old and in 2033 I’ll be *gets out calculator again* 37 years old O_O!!!!

I’m really curious; what are your predictions? Well I’ve read some discussion posts about bloggers being jealous or there’s a lot of competition in the book blogging community. I totally understand that and can relate to it. Honestly, I’ve been jealous too, but not the “I’m jealous of your blog therefore I’m going to ruin it MWAHAHAHA”. Nope. Not that kind of jealous. It’s more like a “I wish my blog has this this and that like yours how do you do it” jealous type of thing. Since there’s jealousy and competition…I still don’t think there won’t be a book blogging community in the future. Jealousy and competition is a problem and problems will NEVER go away. Like, ever. It’s our evil twin that we just have to live with. What’s life without problems? That’s not life.

My prediction is there will STILL be a book blogging community, but there will be less bloggers. Why less bloggers? I think school will have a big factor on the community. College is soo competitive & expensive nowadays; you have to have this and that and tuition is higher than big foot, and if you’re out of state, the tuition is doubled. With college having so many requirements, high school students are going to be working their butt off. They’ll try to be a well rounded person (play sports, join clubs, etc.) while maintaining a high grade etc. Now, the parents are going to be working hard too because of tuition, expenses, etc. Isn’t that the majority of the book blog community (students & parents)? Let’s not forget about jobs. Oh my goodness. Looking for a job will be competitive too. So, how are we going to have time for book blogging? šŸ˜¦

I REALLY HOPE MY PREDICTION IS 101% WRONG. I hope there will be MORE bloggers. That is all. What is YOUR prediction? I want to know!

11 Responses to “The Book Blogging Community in 20 Yrs. {Discuss #7}”


  1. 1 Jeann @ Happy Indulgence November 28, 2013 at 5:18 AM

    Oh wow, it’s so far away I wonder if we will even be using computers to blog? Maybe a superhuman feed that links into your brain? Hehe, it’s fun to have these questions about the future. I think jealousy is a good thing to make your own blog better, but as long as you aren’t nasty about it then it’s all good.

  2. 3 Francoise November 29, 2013 at 12:15 AM

    Yeah I agree, I think there will be less bloggers but I think the next generation might take over it by then.

  3. 5 Amanda @ Book Badger November 29, 2013 at 10:29 AM

    I think it’s sad to think that there won’t be a blogging community. I truly believe there will be, I think it may look and feel different, or work differently, but it’ll exist. If I believe it will, it shall be. Hopefully. Right? šŸ˜€

  4. 7 MissMorningTea November 29, 2013 at 8:35 PM

    I think that in the future there will still be a blogging community (c’mon, it’s too fun not to exist lol!) Anyway, I think since we’re becoming more and more dependent on technology that there will always be a new wave of fresh bloggers every now and then.

  5. 8 Dannielle November 30, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    Great topic.. Wow! 20 years from now, a lot can happen. I think it will be more on ebooks because of technology. But there will still be bloggers out there because books are for every generation.

    Thanks for visiting my blog šŸ˜€

    -Dannielle
    Book Whales

  6. 9 ablightedone November 30, 2013 at 6:34 PM

    Oh gosh, I just got sick thinking of how old I’ll be in 20 years, ha! But, I’m not even sure what it will be like! I think it depends a lot on the industry and economy. But if things stay similar to how they are now, there will probably still be changes and advances in technology that will affect publishing and blogging. Hopefully, there will always be an intense drive for books and opinions on them, though.

    I think that people will always make time for books, and hopefully blogging. It would be nice to see changes in the education system though, it’s kind of ridiculous that it’s so stressful but we’re still so far behind other countries.

  7. 10 Bemused Bookworm July 31, 2015 at 7:17 PM

    Hmmm…. Let me think… I think less bloggers too. In my few years blogging, ive seen so many bloggers quit and not many new ones coming in to replace them. I think young people are finding different way to entertain themselves, and in 20 years, i think there will be so much innovation that there will be something else entirely to capture the attention book lovers. šŸ˜€


  1. 1 Bookish Recap: November 24th – 30th | A Bookish Heart Trackback on January 20, 2014 at 1:12 PM

Leave a comment




Well hello there! Thank you so much for stopping by. Little Book Star is a young adult book blog ran by Leigh, an 18 year old avid reader. This blog consists of book reviews, giveaways, author interviews, and more! Feel free to explore!
TWITTER | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK

Join 1,558 other subscribers
Follow on Bloglovin